We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel, while not cheap was also not expensive, was well appointed and cell with good rooms and a nice pool. But most importantly was just steps from Duval St (and the "Southernmost point in the U.S."). Not much in terms of amenities but still it was walking distance to most all of the main attractions of this funky town.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor unless you want to lug you bags up a flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    942
    165
    47
    34
See reviews for
727
945
55
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Hotel is handily placed in a quiet area (South Side) near to decent restaurants and away from the noise of Down Town. You can walk with ease to all interesting activities. Its good value and the staff and rooms are pretty good. The Breakfast is one up from most Best Westerns but only just !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank roderickd139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed for one night with my boyfriend and his parents. The room was really spacious and comfortable. Everything was really clean and the staff was really nice. And we have free breakfast in the morning! Nothing too big, but it included all the essencials. (Their fruit punch was delicious). I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Drew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Great to hear from happy guests! Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My boyfriend and I recently went on a roadtrip through Florida and were staying 1 night in Key West. We didn't want to spend too much since we were only there for the night, but we wanted to still have good service with a comfortable nights rest. We choose this Best Western since the price and location couldn't be beat and we are so glad we did. We received complimentary upgrade to a pool view and our room was better than a resort we previously stayed in a couple of days before then. The service was great and the room was big, updated and clean! The only negative is, don't expect to find much food for the complimentary breakfast. It was a typical continental breakfast that was not replenished if anything ran out. But despite that, I would absolutely stay in this hotel again if we visit Key West again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at this motel whist on a 2 day sight seeing visit around Key West, and a three week road trip around Florida.

We had a great stay at this hotel and really enjoyed it. We were allocated a room next to the pool area. The room was massive with two Queen sized beds although we only needed one. There was a dressing area and adequate sized bathroom.

The location of the hotel is great, being in walking distance of the most southerly point, and very close to Duval street, and the town centre. Parking for our car was great, and we didn't have to pay which is a bonus!

The breakfast was really nice with a good choice on offer. The breakfast area was a bit 'cosy' but we always managed to find a seat. You could take breakfast back to your room or eat outside on the patio in the lovely Key West sunshine.

The reception staff were very friendly and always helpful.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. We always had a good supply of soap and shampoo. We had two arm chairs where we could sit and watch the television.

The pool was really nice and clean.

We had a great stay at this motel and would return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were there for only one night. The location was excellent. We were able to walk everywhere. Parking was free. Room was nice and big - two large chairs which is a plus for two people. Older hotel with small courtyard pool area. We were able to buy tickets for City Tour there and walk a block to catch it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Dave and Barbara G. "Very nice!"
We just came back from Key West and stayed at the Hibiscus. It was the perfect place for us. We wanted to be far enough from Duval street ,yet be close to everything. Breakfast was a serve yourself style but was more than adequate. we had coffee at the pool each morning. nice heated pool and the heated Jacuzzi was nice after walking all day. they have safes and refrigerators and microwaves in each room. we loved the location and the pool. Prices were reasonable and the service was great. Will stay there again

Room Tip: first floor is a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hibiscus Motel

Property: Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western
Best Western Hibiscus Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing