We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on the 24th of June, 2014 and were very pleased. We initially had booked two nights at another hotel in Key West but things didn't work out too well with the other hotel so we were fortunate enough to find this hotel in the middle of the night on the 23rd. The room was large, clean and nice. The bed that we slept in was comfortable. It was a tad further down Duval Street than we wanted but that was okay as we had purchased tickets for the City Trolley the day before and one of its stops was just a block and a half away. We would certainly stay there again if we return to Key West.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagpiper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 2,461 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located just off Duvall Street and close to Southernmost Point, this BW is centrally located. We didn't use the car the whole time (free parking at hotel) and used the Hop On Hop Off trolley which stops just across the street. Breakfast is basic (help tourself to microwave waffles and biscuits, cereal, toast, muffins, bagels, yoghurt, fruit, juice and coffee) but eating area was kept clean and items restocked promptly. Rooms were large and had everything most would need Pool is a good size, with hot tub and plenty of sunbeds. Pool towels are provided. All staff were pleasant, and front desk give good advice and have a stock of money off coupons to save a few $$ here and there. Would I stay again? If ever in Key West, yes.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool to avoid outlook over wall or car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DadHorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights. On check-in the desk clerk remembered my wife from her reservation call three months prior to our arrival. The motel was clean and friendly staff. The pool was excellent. We will stay there again on our next trip to Key West.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

great location, nice pool, very close to everything good restaurants right up the street. had champagne and birthday card, helpful friendly staff. only complaint toilet running and after 3 attempts could not fix it. but we would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank pegmar05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very handy for Duval Street, a little way to walk for Mallory Square.
Well run. Nice to come back to veg by the pool in the afternoon.
Big rooms and no noise. Plenty of free parking. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Browchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for my first time in key west, we had 4 people in our room. it was clean and plenty of space so were not squished together. the front desk was helpful and answered all of our questions. great location as well just a block away from Duval street. the pool was nice as well especially being open until midnight.

the few things that threw me off was the breakfast. I understand its continental, I work at a hotel myself, but it wasn't to pleasing. for hot items microwaved waffles were not to appealing neither was a frozen breakfast sandwich, the only other things left were a muffin and a plain bagel...

we also switched rooms with a friend of ours staying next to our room. someone on the phone told me I had a king bed(fine) with a pull out sleeper sofa bed...it was a tiny futon...(probably would fit 2 toddlers on it) so just be careful if you have other adults traveling with you. right away checking in I was already aggravated ... WIFI was a pain too it wasn't working when we put in the password and the front desk didn't seem to care.

one more thing is that when I called and wanted 2 doubles instead of a king (same side of hotel not pool side) was like 70$ more, working as a front desk agent myself I've never heard that before.

overall it was a good hotel I just feel like they were trying to be sneaky like I didn't no any better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FroggyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dBranham, General Manager at Best Western Hibiscus Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Every motel is different based on location and demand. If a room type is in higher demand, the price is usually higher - kind of the same thing as booking coach as opposed to first class. There is a premium involved. Key West is a high demand location. There is always a choice - the properties that are not downtown Key West are cheaper because there is less demand. Its all in what type of vacation you want to have. Please read the confirmation letter - be sure you book the room you want before you arrive. Make sure you book the property you want too.....if a full breakfast is necessary for a happy visit then a property with a restaurant is what you need. We don't have a restaurant license so we offer a simple menu that does not violate state laws. While we would like to offer cooked food this is not our reality - we don't have the space to get a license. We are sorry that any guest is unhappy. Thanks for posting so that we can address your concerns now. And to all future travelers, check and double check that you are where you want to be when you travel. We all want our guests to be happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

1 block off Duval St and 2 blocks from ocean (at the quiet end of town!) Highly recommend and I would stay there again! Book very early for best prices. I booked in Nov for June wedding and saved 50%. Bikes, scooters and electric cars are the way to go. Parking costs downtown on Duval St and Front St are very high, if you can find a spot that is.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.8 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,784 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hibiscus Motel

Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £145 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western
Best Western Hibiscus Motel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing