We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Home”

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$76.50*
and up
Day Trip to Key West from Miami
Ranked #4 of 169 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Home”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This historic home is full of information. The guide was entertaining and had great stories to tell. You learn a great deal about the man but also about his wife that lived in the home the rest of her life. Loved all the pieces of history in the home.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Burmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your outstanding 5-star review!!!

We are glad to hear you had an entertaining tour guide and loved the history of the home.

Please be sure to check out our web site too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,585
    4,229
    1,100
    165
    59
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Like he was still there”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was really cool. I am a fan of Hemingway and a writer so I'm a bit partial, but even my kids (14 and 19) and my husband thought it was an interesting way to spend a half hour. We didn't do the tour because I felt it was already a little expensive to get in for a family of four. But even just to wander around and read about Hemingway and his home was great. The cats are everywhere! And my kids enjoyed searching them out. I loved seeing actual books that are part of Hemingway's collection. And his office where he wrote - it transports you back. My imagination ran wild thinking of all that could have happened in that house!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kyoung123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your outstanding 5-star review!!!

Sorry you did not take the guided tour because you thought it was an additional charge, tours are included in the admission price.

Glad you did have a great time without the guided tour, there is a lot of information posted throughout the home and exterior storyboards too!

Please be sure to check out our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaufman, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful history here in this house”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is easy to get to in Key West. Take the tour so the guide can explain everything. Visit the gift shop where many of Hemingway's works are. See the six toed cats and visit the swimming pool where he gave his last red cent to build. A relaxing morning. Don't miss it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikesD7469GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much Mike for your outstanding 5-star review!!!

Thank you for recommending the guided tour and the gift shop.

Please be sure to check out our web site too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Intersting...and I LOVE the six-toed cats”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Whether not take the guided tour or tour on your own, it's a must see. A fascinating family and beautiful 6 toed cats with cute names. The docents answer all questions and the grounds are spectacular.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much Linda for your outstanding 5-star review!!!

We really appreciate the "must see" accolade, that means a lot to us.

Please be sure to check out our web site too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great piece of Key West History”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If your a Hemingway or a cat fan this place is great. (even if your not its a great piece of history). There is a lot here about Hemingway's life in Key West. All the cats are related to his poly dactyl and most are very friendly. The house and gardens are kept immaculate. The only down side is its $10.25 a head per adult. (just a little pricey if you ask me) but still very nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank billymac1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent 4-star review.

We are glad you enjoyed the guided tour and the cats.

Please be sure to check out our web site too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing