We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Okay, but there are Better Places!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Island Dogs Bar

Island Dogs Bar
Ranked #109 of 443 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Island Dogs Bar, you'll find open wide doors to the breezy world, happy patrons dotting the portico, irresistible ice cold beers, refreshing tropical cocktails, one-of-a-kind martinis, local live music drifting from a cozy stage. Flip flops and tank tops encouraged. The Island Dog Bar features an impressive menu of exotic hot dogs, authentic Boston pub pizza, and top notch bar favorites. Don't forget to join our new rewards program. Sign up at the restaurant or online to receive a $5 gift certificate + a free meal in your birthday month!
Baldwin, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It's Okay, but there are Better Places!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I've been coming to Key West so long I remember when this place was the Pier House's Deli. Now it's Island Dogs. It's a nice enough place and the wait staff are attentive - but we stopped in for a late lunch and a cook beverage after spending an afternoon shopping and the food was only average if not a wee bit sub-par. We are a family of foodies, and while we're more gourmand than gourmet we still like it fresh and properly cooked. My son and mother split the nachos with chicken - and the chicken tasted off and was somewhat rubbery. I had an island dog and it was wwwaaayyyyyy overdone. Our waitress was super nice and very attentive so at least we never went thirsty! If you're coming here stick with drinks and listen to the live music - Eat somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, General Manager at Island Dogs Bar, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I'm glad you got to experience our great service and enjoyed the music. Come give us another try soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    242
    86
    51
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love this Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to hang out and feed the juke box.

We spent a few hours of the hot summer days on the porch, had great service from friendly staff, and enjoyed some cold drinks and people watching, feeding their awesome juke box with a few bucks and listening to all our favorites.

We picked up a few great souvenir t-shirts for the dog lovers in our family back home.

Helpful?
3 Thank zeromiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, General Manager at Island Dogs Bar, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for your review! Im glad you enjoyed our great people-watching front porch & jukebox! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
287 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Char Grilled Oysters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Every year we hit Island Dogs for cocktails and fabulous char grilled oysters. It's fun to spend happy hour on the front patio, but make we also stop by during the day for oysters and a bowl of their white conch chowder. Service can be spotty, depending on how crowded the place is, but they always come through.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, General Manager at Island Dogs Bar, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review! See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Service in Trying Conditions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stopped for lunch at Island Dogs for the variety and street side seating. The food was incredibly good. [Conch Fritters, Blackened Mahi Mahi and an Island Dog plus sweet tea and a Key Lime Martini] But the amazing thing was how good the service Nikki gave us in spite of their being a cruise ship in town, Nikki being the only server on duty...and... The Power Went Out for 10 minutes right in the middle of our visit. Go to Island Dogs for a respite from seafood or for great seafood and especially for the awesome service from Nikki and her fellow cooks, bar tenders.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Profford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, General Manager at Island Dogs Bar, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for your review! Im glad Nikki made your experience with Island Dogs that much better! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, Below Average Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here for dinner on a Tuesday evening around 6:30. It took a while to get seated, then we had to move because our table was apparently reserved. The table we moved to had a sofa on one side and chairs on the other. The chairs sat up really high and the sofa was super low, so that was a little strange. It took about five minutes to get menus and another 10 to order our food. Our waiter was just sort of blah...it didn't feel like he was happy we were there. When our food was finished, we watched it sit in the window for a couple of minutes before another waiter brought it over. We had two pizzas, a kids hotdog, and the fish and chips. All the food was really tasty, which is too bad because the waitstaff did not match the food at all...we probably won't go again if we visit Key West.

Helpful?
Thank bookaholic1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeyWestMgr, General Manager at Island Dogs Bar, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for your review. Glad you liked our food. Hopefully you'll give us another try on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Dogs Bar also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Dogs Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing