We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Conch Tour Train

Conch Tour Train
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Key West Day Trip
Ranked #42 of 283 Tours in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: See the best of Key West on the tour that has been entertaining visitors since 1958. Our expert 'engineers' and friendly staff have delighted guests with the legends and tales of Ernest Hemingway, and Tennessee Williams and the stories of the pirates, Indians, wreckers and artists who called this island home. 90 minutes and over 100 points of interest. No Key West vacation is complete without the world famous Conch Tour Train.
St, Paul, MN
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this trip around Key West. Vaughn, our driver, was knowledgable and tireless. Even in the rain his spirits didn't flag. Loved seeing the historic homes and places we might not have walked without driving by them first. We didn't take any of the other train tours because we loved the look of these little open cars. This was a fine way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintPauli_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    435
    175
    58
    41
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Tour is professional and well done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Comfortable, open-air bench seating. Very professional staff who have mastered the tour. Also, I was glad to hear the sound system was excellent quality (how can you hear the tour guide, if the sound system is poor?). We never had any problem hearing or understanding what was being said. That's important. Unfortunately, the bench behind us had a large group of people talking loudly amongst themselves in some foreign language. That detracted from hearing the tour guide some. With the combination ticket that we purchased, we had two days to ride the Conch Train, if we so chose. We didn't have the need, though. The driver/tour guide was extremely accomodating with storing my husband's folded wheelchair behind him in the first car. There are one or two steps to climb on and off the train. Everyone who visits Key West should take this tour at least once, especially if you have a limited amount of time. It's a great overview of all the important facts and places.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank naj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT Key West Overview”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I have been to Key West at least 4 times prior as a cruise ship port of call. We always enjoy walking Key West on our own. This trip we decided to tour using the Conch Tour Train. We were amazed at how many sites we saw that we never knew existed. Our driver was friendly, informative and witty all wrapped up in one. This entire tour is at your leisure.Allowing you to get on and off at any time. It is very easy to average about 2 hrs. After taking this tour we have a completely different prospective of Key West and its place in history. We also now know of other spots we will return to visit on our own. This is by far one of the best under 30.00 value tours anywhere. You truly feel you got more than expected.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank webpro11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great way to fast-forward on a short trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Take the train, skip the Gift shop. The train is a great way to cover more ground hearing some interesting history and pick out the places to return to. Key West is small enough they you can walk to much of the things to do and the train is a great way to take you home or between sites. Recommend for a one or two day visit, you'll see and know more.

Helpful?
Thank 904star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good info”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I was born in Key West and have been back many times. Never took the train tour before, but my husband wanted to try it. It was a good overview, gave you highlights and interesting info that you can delve into more thoroughly if you are interested. Lots of great info in local small books on Key West. Wild, wacky island. You can use the train for a couple of days if you want. Can get off at a few points and pick up another one later if you want too. Either this tour or the trolley can give you info about points of interest or attractions that you could explore further. Wouldn't do it again, but glad I did it to see what they said about the island and its colorful history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank felicitym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conch Tour Train also viewed

 

Been to Conch Tour Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing