We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, homey, helpful staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Conch House Heritage Inn
Ranked #4 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute, homey, helpful staff”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Rental bikes are a perfect way to see the city. The staff was always a big help. The breakfast was simple but great. Rooms & pool were clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    51
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
409
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etheslvill, AL 35461
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have stayed at this property 2 years in a row now and have already reserved for 2012. The staff goes above and beyond what should be expected to provide 1st class service. The location to Duval Street is excellent, There is a scooter rental business a block away. There is a drug store adjacent to the property as well. Dennys Restaurant is a short walk away on the corner of Duval and Truman Ave. The rooms are well appointed and VERY clean. The 'off street' parking is another reason we looked at this property to begin with. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. On a scale of 1-10, we give this property a 12!!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with ANY room this property offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend as part of a week's stay in Key West. I had found a $99 special for Tues - Friday nights AFTER Labor Day and was looking for something reasonably priced for Labor Day weekend and this fit the bill. Knowing the island I knew that Truman was one of the busier streets but that was no problem whatsoever for the room we chose. We stayed in the Caribbean room right by the pool. We loved the location of the room - it was so easy to slip in and out to go to the pool and/or breakfast. It was tucked in the back corner which made it much quieter as well. I thought the room was large by Key West standards with a very large closet and bathroom as well. Everything was spotlessly clean and well-maintained throughout the property. The room was charmingly decorated and overall just very comfortable. The breakfast had the usual types of continental offerings plus delicious homemade banana bread - very pleasant to have breakfast by the pool or in their large dining area. The staff was helpful and friendly as well.

All in all - very delightful - we feel out of 6 different establishments we have stayed at over the last few years in Key West - this is by far the best!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lavender8101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The Conch House on Truman Ave in Key West was a great place for a romantic weekend! We looked online and found a special rate of $99/night for a spacious room with a private bath and queen size bed. The room was clean and very cozy. There was a couple dressers for clothing and a mini fridge, as well as a tv with cable.

A continental breakfast was included each morning and was just enough to get us going each day. They had numerous porches and patios with seating and rocking chairs to relax in. he pool was very refreshing and large enough for many people (unlike other B&B's). They had bikes on site to rent for a small fee from them directly, and were very helpful in dining recommendations and activites. This B&B is family owned and has been around a long time, but it kept up very nice, while still maintaining that traditional Key West charm! We will definately return.

Dining: Sweet Teas ****, Fogarty's ***, Jack FLats ****

Room Tip: Go directly onto the conch house website and check rates & specials!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Last minute extended stay in Key West found is at the doorstep of the Conch House B&B. Found it a great enbd to our trip and loved every minute of our stay. Will return time and time again. Price, accommodations and service we 2nd to none. Ann was out of this world and went out of her way to help us out. By the way, the whiskey Tangos found gator tail right across the street at Duffey's Steak house and it was the best ever! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishingfooled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I have stayed at B&Bs throughout the USA and in Europe. We love the quaintness and ambiance of B&Bs since our past careers involved many nights spent in typical USA four star hotels. Unfortunately we were quite disappointed in the Conch House. Although the room was clean, it was horribly hot and uncomforrtable with only one small window a/c to cool the bedroom, and nothing to cool down the very hot and humid bathroom area. It was impossible to use the hair dryer and apply makeup without being soaked in perspiration. The best thing about the room - the Hemingway - was the shower. In addition, we have NEVER stayed in a B&B that only offered a less than Holiday Inn Express style of breakfast. There was no prepared breakfast at all, just boxes of cereal, hard boiled eggs, and muffins. No decaf was brewed unless we put in a special request. There was one table with two chairs for ALL the guests to use to sit down - unless you wanted to go outside and sit on the small veranda where it was suffocatingly hot. The public rooms had no a/c. There was no 24/7 coffee, afternoon tea, etc., as we have grown to expect at every single B&B we've ever visited. Bottled water was SOLD for $1. No complimentary beverages for the guests were available. Trust me, we are not fussy or picky people - but this establishment gave us a Bed and little else. We would never return nor recommend this to friends. Sorry, but the B&B involves more than a Bed! This is the first negative review we have EVER written!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pegasus1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConchKeyWest, Owner at The Conch House Heritage Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
I sincerely regret that this guest experience was not what they hoped for. The review is so out of character for us and inconsistent that I feel it is important to respond to certain inaccuracies contained within it which simply are not true. We take great pride in our customer service, our facilities and the amenities that we provide. In particular, we have excellent air conditioning throughout the property consisting primarily of contemporary ductless units. We also have central AC and some window units, but all are the appropriate size and efficiency and we service them regularly. We serve breakfast from 8:30 to 10:00 and the overwhelming majority of our guests choose to sit outside around the pool and on the verandas. We also have an air- conditioned common living area with a dining table for 6 and assorted couches and chairs for those few guests that prefer to sit indoors. We also will deliver or provide a tray to take back to your room. Our breakfast consist of the following every day: homemade from scratch banana bread baked daily, fresh baked muffins, coffee cake, bagels and cream cheese, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, cereal, honeydew melon, cantaloupe, strawberries, pineapple, fresh squeezed orange juice, tomato juice, assorted teas and gourmet Baby's coffee ground from beans. With no disrespect to Holiday Inn intended, we provide an extensive continental breakfast as advertised and much more than indicated in the review. We also provide in-room coffee makers for our early risers or those folks who enjoy a good cup of Joe anytime of day. In closing, over 91% of our reviews are very good to execllent. I cannot explain why this guest experience was so out of character for our establishment, but I wish they had voiced some of their concerns while they were here and we may have been able to make their stay more enjoyable. We certainly would have made the effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here in May 2011 for the second time. The first was in June 2010. All I can say is it a first class place to stay. I park my vehichle when I arrive and do not use it again until I leave. Within walking distance of everything. The rooms are always clean and service has been spot on. The only negative I can possibly think of is if you get a room right off of Truman it can be a little noisy. I try to stay in the rooms in the back always. The pool area is awesone and relaxing. The staff is very knowledgable if you need sugestions on reaturaunts etc.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FNGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Conch House Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Conch House Heritage Inn

Property: The Conch House Heritage Inn
Address: 625 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-3233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed and Breakfast Inn located 1.5 blocks from world famous Duval Street in the heart of the old town district. Spacious accommodations with elegant antique furnishings in the main house or enjoy a tropical poolside cottage. Guest receive the finest in native hospitality and customer service surrounded by classic Key West ambiance. 5th generation family owned. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Conch House Heritage Hotel Key West
The Conch House Heritage Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing