We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hidden gem of Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The hidden gem of Key West”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed at The Grand. Our room was very clean and spacious. We loved breakfast on the patio. We were only blocks from BBQing at the beach or busy Duval. Thank goodness for Derek who is always so helpful and has great suggestions for places to go. My hubby and I can't wait to return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Trblek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    145
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
54
475
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This a great B&B. Very clean. The staff was wonderful! Derek was so helpful suggesting great places to eat, making reservations for us and making our stay a great experience. It is located a little off the beaten path but we were still able to walk to everything. They have bikes to rent and a great expanded continental breakfast. Maria kept everything really clean. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great. It was very quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: They made a real effort to recycle. Towels were replaced only if we requested. Air conditioning tips were shared.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This peaceful place is a great starting point for exploring this beautiful island. We spent three nights/four days here and we were very glad that we chose this lovely BB. The guest house is surrounded by small, beautiful garden with lots of tropical plants - a very nice touch. It is also very rustic, but clean and well maintained. We were in the room no. 4, overlooking breakfast patio. Only bad thing was the sound of a/c, so if you have a light sleep you will understand my point. The staff is very, very friendly and helpful! You can rent a bike there and this is most easiest way to go around the Key West. All the important sights are about 10, 15 minutes by foot or by bike from the guest house, including famous Duval street. I will really recommend this place and you should know that this BB is for adults only.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Vukica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a comfortable and friendly place to stay! Off the beaten path in a quiet area. Bike rentals right by the front porch and Derek was so great with suggestions for things to see and do (or not)--especially a great Cuban restaurant and a sandwich place both just around the corner! Duval Street is an experience not to be missed, but it was wonderful to have a little haven away from the tourist stompings and noise after a day walking or riding through the Key West sites. Cute little private patio and a daily breakfast buffet. Very very homey! A very pleasant and appreciated experience! By the way, who needs a pool??

Room Tip: We had room 2, small, but with a little private patio and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baderman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I'm glad I chose the Grand Guesthouse for my first overnight stay in Key West. It's a very well-run operation with all the amenities I needed -- a clean, comfortable, well-appointed room with a great shower; a decent well-presented continental breakfast; helpful staff (thanks, Mark and Derek!); bike rentals on site (a great convenience); a quiet street in a nice neighborhood; centrally located for getting around on foot or bike; and clear, printed information provided on the inn's policies and on Key West itself. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if I ever come back.

That said, it did seem odd to me to have the mattress placed on top of a plywood board, but I can't complain about the comfort -- I slept well. I also thought it odd to have an envelope on the table that suggested how much of a tip I should leave for the maid, but I got over it after seeing how clean the room was the first night and every day thereafter (I stayed four nights). Overall, this is a class operation that I believe most travelers to Key West would enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Fabulous guesthouse set in a lovely surroundings. Derek (manager) was great & really helpful. We had room no. 4 which was directly onto side garden & where continental breakfast is served each morning from 8:30 - 10. We hired bikes direct from the guesthouse also.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rfra386401l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights, the room was perfect, bed comfy as slept great every night, nice selection for breakfast, one could hire bicycles from them too which we did for two days and was fun cycling about exploring Key West. We would certainly use The Grand Guesthouse again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,754 reviews
0.5 mi away
NYAH Key West
NYAH Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Guesthouse

Property: The Grand Guesthouse
Address: 1116 Grinnell St, Key West, FL 33040-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Town Key West, The Grand Guesthouse offers intimate accommodations for you to relax and recharge. We're a Frommer's Travel Guide Favorite, squeaky clean, comfortable, and affordable. All of our rooms feature local artwork and tropical decor, a small refrigerator, A/C & ceiling fan, cable television, a USB enabled alarm clock, and free wireless internet. A complimentary expanded continental breakfast is served every morning, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Ebookers so you can book your The Grand Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Guesthouse Hotel Key West
The Grand Guesthouse Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing