We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, okay stay...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heron House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Heron House
Ranked #57 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
LexiJon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, okay stay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Perfectly located a block off Duval Street. Peaceful and quiet, but very convenient to everything. The price is too much for the room itself, which was small, smelled strange (which you stop noticing within a few minutes), needed a paint job and had a below-average bathroom. It is clean though, with a comfortable bed. The breakfast is very simple, but pleasant and served al fresco. The staff is helpful enough, but not warm or particularly welcoming. They seem to do their job begrudgingly. The pool is adequate, surrounded by wicker furniture, no beach/lounge chairs. Would stay here again if we got a better price on the room, since we know what to expect and the location is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LexiJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    120
    70
    28
    25
See reviews for
16
295
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed in room 5 and loved it because it has it's own porch and is in a secluded area of the property. This is a great place for an afternoon escape from the key west craziness. It's around the corner from the local grocery store and a short walk to the middle of the action. Mini fridge in room was great. Parking in front is paid, but free parking on all surrounding streets was a breeze. Old town trolley has a nearby pick up/drop off spot - handy because you get two days use for the price of one day. This is a very quiet, adult place.

Room Tip: We loved room 5 because it is in a secluded area with a private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeandLeesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great location and nice pool area but room was tired and bathroom was simply unacceptable at this price - more cheap motel than luxury inn. Room was furnished with an assortment of furniture (more thrift store than anything better!) and had a musty smell - hence the humidifier unit in the room! Bathroom was quaint but the shower cubicle simply needs replacing.

The greedy owners charged me $240 per night which is far too high for this poor quality of accomodation - even in Key West!

Breakfast is quite good although it is a pity the owners cannot afford to buy a decent toaster or two!

Close to Duval Street which is great - parking is very difficult!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Heron House as part of her birthday and diving getaway. The Bed & Breakfast style hotel was quiet and cozy. We enjoyed the fact that it was off the main drag of Duval Street, yet close enough to enjoy the short walk to the Duval Street area. Parking is a problem however, as it is with much of Key West. Hint: There is a parking lot about 3 blocks from the hotel that will allow you to pay for multiple days with in & out privileges. Although you really don't need to drive anywhere once your in the Old Key West. The hotel itself was generally nice, except the room was very musty smelling. That is really the only complaint we have. The breakfast part of the stay was good - not great - but met our needs. Staff is friendly and as attentive as you want them to be. The feel of a tropical locale in the middle of a city.....we would stay there again.

Bruce
Amesbury, Mass

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wbmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
262 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Overall, a very good experience staying at this Bed & Breakfast -- recommend ... the location is really exceptional (ez couple of blocks walk to Deval Street, Mallory Square, Old Town). Recommend you go to their website to check out the photos and history ... happy to report the rooms are actually as nice as the photos show (which isn't always the case on B&B, based on my experience) -- quiet, nice size rooms (think 27 rooms ... all different). If you came to 'party' in Key West this would not be the right place, in my opinion; however, if you want a pleasant get away Key West experience or a couples romantic weekend I bet you'll really enjoy this place. There is a pretty good breakfast included.

Room Tip: Go to the hotel's website or make a call to chat with the Inn Keeper ... every room is different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMelq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadena, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at Heron House for four nights during our visit to Key West and found it to be a very nice, charming place to stay. Our favorite feature of this hotel was the location, you are in a historic neighborhood, only a block off of the excitement of Duval St., what more could you ask for? This was our first visit to Key West and we wanted to experience what we had read about- the sunset at Mallory Square, the historic bars and restaurants, Hemingway House, Audubon House, Truman Little White House, southernmost point, the art galleries and just walking around the neighborhood to see some of the fantastic old homes. We could do all of those things without touching our rental car for four days-they were all within walking distance of the Heron House. You are in one of the most historic cities in the country, why would you stay in a cookie cutter hotel on the edge of town and spend all your time trying to get back and forth to the area you really want to see? Stay in one of the beautiful old places you come to this city to see. Every day we had a nice breakfast and then walked all over town until about 3 or 4 o'clock and then it was great to come back and take a cool refreshing dip in the pool and then rest up a little on the sun deck before changing and going out for the night. It was just so nice and relaxing when you entered the courtyard, sometimes there was soft music playing and they had signs everywhere that no cell phone conversations were allowed in the public areas, which was very nice. We had room number 47 which was on the end, by the breakfast area. It was a nice big room with two queen beds, a table and chairs, plenty of drawers to unpack, a closet with a safe, a small tabletop ironing board with an older non-steam iron, a small mini bar area with fridge and little sink. The bathroom was small and older ,but nice and clean with a blow dryer on the wall (albeit an older model that you probably haven't seen in years) and a wall mounted makeup mirror in addition to the regular mirror. We also had a little porch outside our room with a small table and two chairs, where we could just sit and relax or eat breakfast there if all the other tables were full. The room was very well lit for an older place ,with a window air conditioner that worked just fine. The TV was pretty ancient, but there was cable with plenty of channels and with so much to see around town, we probably wouldn't have even watched TV except that it was the second week of the NCAA basketball tournament. The only other drawback we found was that the wooden blinds in the room didn't quite cover up the glass windows in our door, so we just hung our beach towels over the top when we were in the room at night with the lights on. We have read some of the other reviews and would like to address a couple of them-we thought the breakfast was just fine, they have just a small warming dish but the gentleman in charge was constantly making the feature item of the day and refilling it. He even noticed that it was out when we came to eat breakfast, so he brought us some of the french toast to us as we ate on our porch table, as soon as it came off the griddle. Chill out, you're not working, you're on vacation. Other people have mentioned the attitude of the staff, but we had no problems at all, they checked us in, checked us out, served us breakfast and cleaned our room. They weren't overly friendly, but they were polite and did their job. I don't need the staff to be my best friend while I'm staying someplace, I certainly don't expect the front desk clerk at the Hilton to take the time to just chat with me when I stay there. If you are looking for personal attention and a buddy, go stay with your relatives in Pittsburgh. Even though it looks small and cozy, they have over 20 rooms to take care of. Some of the reviews I have read refer to this as a bed and breakfast but don't be put off by that, because I would call it more of a small hotel or inn. The breakfast is a buffet served over a time period, you don't have to sit at a big table at a specific time and talk with people you'll never see again about their kids, their jobs, and what they are going to do that day. You can certainly interact with people in the breakfast area, but you make that choice. If you drive there, you should probably know that you will have to park a ways away. The street in front of the hotel is metered parking, so you have to park a block or two away in a residential area. There is a 30 minute parking spot in front to unload and then you have to move your vehicle. You just have to make sure you don't park in one of the spots marked "residential"-those spots are permit only for people that live in the area. It's kind of hard to read on some of the spots, as the paint that marks the residential spaces is fading, but as long as you are aware of the parking routine, you should have no problem. We parked two blocks away for four days without any charge at all. We would certainly consider the Heron House again, the next time we visit Key West.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RXCOUPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This was our 2nd time in Key West and this location was just ideal. One block off of Duval Street and not too far from the harbor. The Heron House offers a serene, peaceful setting with relaxing music and an easy-going vibe. No kids are allowed, which adds to the peace and quiet. Our room was an ample size, although I didn't really see the need for two queen beds in the room. We were tucked in a first floor corner unit with our own little porch, which I really enjoyed for an added sense of privacy. We enjoyed our breakfast here each morning. I was very happy here, with three minor exceptions. One - a continental breakfast was served from 8-10, but on our last day it seemed that many folks had eaten early and there was not much left for us. It seems that they could pay closer attention to these details to make sure there is enough food to fully accommmodate the number of guests each morning. Two - it was not apparently who the innkeeper(s) was as we saw at least 3 different people behind the front desk during our stay and no one was "making the rounds" in any sort of obvious way to check in and see how their guests were enjoying their stay. Three - upon our departure, we called for a taxi and were told that we could use the bathroom by the front desk to change if needed. Well, that would have been fine except for the fact that the bathroom was in dire need of being cleaned/mopped. The floor was a mess. This was not a good final impression to leave on your guests who might otherwise consider a return visit. Again, it's all about the details. Great location and comfortable accommodations...but they could use a few tweaks to make this property something really special.

Room Tip: Our corner room was nice...2nd floor units looked like a good option, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No1owlsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#35 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.1 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#13 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#18 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#47 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron House

Property: Heron House
Address: 512 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-6832
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heron House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Retreat situated in the heart of Old Town; 1 block from Duval Street & 4 blocks from Hemingway House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Heron House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron House Hotel Key West
Heron House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing