We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we hoped for”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #18 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We loved our stay in the Key Lime loft. The room was exactly as pictured on the website. It was small, but had nice tropical Decor and a beautiful, spacious private balcony. We loved the lush tropical garden out back and were able to enjoy the hot tub two nights in a row all by ourselves. Despite the inn being sold out, we only saw any other guests at breakfast. We loved the on-sight bike rental and had so much fun riding all around town and then sneaking in the back gate to our seemingly private oasis. Location is perfect! Walk to both ends of Duval very comfortably and bike to everywhere else. Right by Bahama Village where we found wonderful restaurants. Concierge service was the best! Great restaurant recommendations and they arranged a great kayaking tour for us. Breakfast is exactly as described, good, cold breakfast food, fresh fruit, cereal and one pastry or muffin choice each morning. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cheese cubes and cold cut offerings. Good light start to each day. If you love fancy breakfast fare, head to Blue Heaven, two blocks down behind the inn, any time before 2:00. We arrived by Key West Express Ferry and it took us about 20 minutes to walk to the hotel from there. You can have a service deliver your bags if you choose. We spent 4 days and Three nights and never missed not having a car. This was our first time in Key West and we felt the whole time that this was the best vacation ever! Relaxed, romantic, fun, new experiences, some wild times, friendliest people....if we get a chance to return we would definitely book the same room at the same inn. Loved it!

Room Tip: Key lime loft was small but lovely. Closet was very helpful to hang up clothes and keep my stuff ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Its hard to believe that you could pass through a door on Duval Street and find complete tranquility leaving the bustle behind. It all starts with the delightful interaction with the office people who immediately stop any paperwork they're doing to greet you. The back garden with its pool, hot pool, and lush greenery provide an oasis in the busyness of Key West. Our 5 star experience is well worth the money. Highly recommend a stay at Tropical Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband and I stayed 10 nights all but two nights in the Geico room. Hands down the best room. Patio with own pool/hot tub. Shelby and Brandi were awesome. They helped us with reservations for dinner every night and most of our day activities. Loved having bikes for use on the property. Very peaceful and tropical property. Breakfast was varied and yummy every morning. Great wine place on one side and awesome bakery and bistro on the other. Awesome location. I would certainly return. Only bad thing is having to leave! These guys understand customer service and really are super nice people! Thanks for a great vacation!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wh8730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here as a last minute reservation and we couldn't have been happier. The accommodations were wonderful with a king sized bed, beautiful bathroom and a private patio with a two person jet tub. The ladies who run the house were so nice and help to point out places to visit. The pools heater was broken but the weather was warm and it was refreshing, besides, the hot tub was hot! The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast consisted of fruit, coffee, breads and muffins. A storm rolled through that night with heavy rain but it sounded so relaxing on the roof. You would never no that this relaxing place was right on Duval street! It's in the perfect location, half way between the sunset pier and the southernmost point. It's also quite at night since its not too close to the bars. Would definitely come again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheryl1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This romantic paradise exceeded my expectations and I am a fussy traveler. There are no details overlooked here. They maximized the limited space offered in Key West and created a hidden oasis. It was great to be able to head our either way on Duval St. and not have to go too far to have fun. Everything was immaculately clean, tropical foliage created an isolated paradise in the courtyard, breakfast was oustanding. The service was efficient, personal, helpful but never intrusive. We stayed in the Pineapple Hideaway Garden Cottage. It has a private entrance, completely enclosed back porch with chairs and hottub which we used everyday. The bed was incredibly comfortable, air conditioning, fridge, and nice tiled rainshower. It was dreamy and romantic. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGirl987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Tropical Inn lives up to its website description. It is a quiet haven nestled halfway between Mallory Square & Southern Most Point--you can walk everywhere. Staff is friendly & helpful, answered questions & offered suggestions. Loved the palm-shaded pool--there is some sun for those who want it. We stayed in Conch Courtyard & enjoyed the private fenced outdoor sitting area. The website breakfast description is accurate--we found it satisfying & delicious. As for mosquitoes, the Inn provides a communal basket of repellant (& sunscreen)! We highly recommend it & plan to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were delighted to spend 6 nights recently at the Tropical Inn. Brandi helped us the most, recommending restaurants (Santiago's Bodega and Blue Heaven were favorites) and fun activities. We took the seaplane to the Dry Tortugas, handled a batfish (among other interesting creatures) on our kayaking eco-tour, and snorkeled off the beach at Fort Zachary State Park. No matter what the morning's activity, afternoons were spent reading by the pool in the sheltered, quiet courtyard. We loved the location on Duval St, as we could walk to restaurants, and so many tours and other activities. We stayed in 2 different rooms, and preferred the Coconut Cabana, in the back, close to the courtyard.

Room Tip: The rooms differ in size and amenities - ask questions about bathrooms, closet space - we discovered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akronhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.4 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 77 in Key West
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Artist House
Artist House
#11 of 77 in Key West
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £172 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West
Tropical Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing