We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #14 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My fiance and I absolutely loved this location. Jane, Allen, Brandi and Shelby were so friendly and the rooms were amazing. All up-to-date furnishings and decor. You can certainly tell the countless hours they have spent keeping this place looking like a gem! The location is right in the heart of Key West on Duval Street. We were able to walk pretty much everywhere. Rob and I brought a "Love Lock" to add to the many there on the bird cage. We were engaged in Key West over Mother's Day 2014 and felt it would be something nice to see on our return trips. We will definitely be staying at the Tropical Inn going forward for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DawnGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
There are newer reviews for Tropical Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We visit Key West often. The inn has a great location, close to everything yet quiet and relaxing. The owners are friendly and helpful. The garden and pool area were well maintained and unusual for the central location of the Inn. Our late arrival was accommodated and though we arrived late on a Friday we were able to acquire parking right across the street. We will certainly be back on our next visit to the Keys.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautiful room, isolated and intimate! We had such an amazing stay that we barely wanted to leave! The room was so clean, the breakfast was wonderful, the gardens were enchanting and the staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Razorj20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The inn is cozy and comfortable. The pool and hot tub are in the back and you feel like you are in your own oasis. Love the fact they do not permit large groups to stay here. The owners are very kind and welcoming. This is the second time I have stayed here and will stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here with my wife earlier this month and had a great time. Staff there was awesome, super helpful and accommodating. Shelby booked all of our dinner places for us ahead of time which was awesome. The grounds are perfect, the pool was shady and warm. The front porch out top was great for people watching at night. We stayed in the Key Lime room. The bed was comfy, the balcony area was huge, we loved it ... great place to read or take an afternoon nap. The room is a bit small but fine. I do wish there was maybe 1 more shelf to put stuff on like toiletries my watch and knick-knacks etc ... but other than that we liked it. We enjoyed the continental breakfast and treats that were put out each morning. Plenty of food. We also rented bikes on site which is the only way to get around. Really, I couldn't say enough good things about the Tropical Inn. Location is dead perfect in the middle of Duval st. Key West is such a relaxing place, I hope we get to travel there again soon. Would definitely book at the Tropical Inn again next time we go back.

Room Tip: People staying in the cottages out back were raving if you want to spend a little bit extra.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GettinErDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our trip to Key West was for a birthday celebration and my brother found The Tropical Inn online. After booking we advised that it would be after midnight when we would arrive, was advised that was no problem that our check in packet would be in the mailbox. When we arrived everything was ready. Room was excellent, we in the Conch Courtyard, it's very comfortable , well decorated, very quiet and a awesome walk in shower. Though The Inn is on Duval Street , you don't realize it at all. Breakfast is served on the back porch and there are tables in the courtyard in the peace and quiet. The staff , the owners are on site, were friendly and extremely helpful. This will definitely be our Key West destination on all our visits.

Room Tip: Ask for one the courtyard rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keywestj2914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Tropical Inn is a great place to stay in Key West! The staff is very friendly and always willing to help out with suggestions for restaurants and things to do. We arrived after hours at the inn but Shelby was still there and she took the time to show us to our room and suggest Blue Heaven for dinner (wonderful restaurant!). Breakfasts were delicious - great assortment of fruit, cereal, bagels, hard boiled eggs, and different delicious items each morning such as blueberry muffins, apple caramel coffee cake, and chocolate chip banana bread! The pool with the waterfall is great for cooling off in the heat of Key West! The inn is located on Duval Street within walking distance to great restaurants, bars, shops, water sports, etc. We did not rent a car and definitely did not need one because of the great location of the inn. If we ever return to Key West we will stay at the Tropical Inn again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelbylovescountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,695 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £141 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West
Tropical Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing