We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orchid Key Inn(Key West)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Almond Tree Inn(Key West)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Te Da Hotel(Key West)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marquesa Hotel(Key West)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
740
120
22
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
120
22
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut cabanab bduval sthot tubkey limebamboo roomhonor systemprivate jacuzzigarden and pool areatropical gardengreat location on duvalthe main housetrip to key westback porchbed and breakfastevery morningwine bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
796 - 801 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2009

This inn is truly a gem!! The location is perfect for enjoying everything Key West has to offer but without all the noise. The pool and tropical garden areas are so peaceful and quiet (not to mention lush) that you forget you are just steps from Duval St. Brandi, Jane, and Allen are so nice and willing to do anything they can to help make your stay perfect. We couldn't have asked for anything more and will definitely be staying there next time we go to Key West.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CincinnatiCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This was a nice little tropical inn on Duval, maybe the kind Mario Sanchez drew a couple of times. The room was nice and charming, had nice french doors that opened right up to the backyard and pool area. My only problem was upon returning one night, my set of keys didn't work to get into the front entrance of the locked building. Found out the next day that the set i was given and took with me for the evening had two room keys on the ring. Whatever, we got into our room without having to have anyone come down, but it was still a bit of an inconvenience. They charge $15 for parking a block away. There were also a few fruit flies all over the breakfast buffet station. Otherwise it was a nice quiet little place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichiefromBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalInnOwner, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

While we don't think this would be perceived as a particularly negative review, we do want to make sure that readers know that all items on our breakfast bar -- which is served on the back porch for guests' enjoyment of the garden -- are securely under cover. It's hard to avoid critters here in the tropics, and the canteloupe may have been irresistable to a fruit fly or two, but they would have had a hard time getting to it. Thanks, Richard, for the review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

The Tropical Inn and Key West experience was exactly what we needed to rejuvenate our spirits....Lots of fun and relaxation--an environment away from stressful jobs. Our hosts were wonderful, catering to our every need. Our room was small but clean and cute with lots of character. Although being right smack in the middle of busy Duval Street, our tropical garden oasis out back, where we relaxed with gin and tonics and had our delicious breakfast each morning was a quiet retreat and provided opportunities for private midnight swims. One early evening we people watched on the upper front porch with cocktails and walked a short distance to Mangoes, which by the way, I would recommend highly. Mallory Square is also easily reached by a short walk to catch a sunset. The half-day sail, snorkle, kayac trip by Danger was also great! Fort Zackary Beach a couple of blocks away is probably the nicest beach at Key West and on your stroll back, stop at the Green Parrot. Also the tour at Hemmingway's House is informative and enjoyable. Also recommended is Blue Heaven.......go for the yellow snapper. I came back to work refreshed and glowing. The Tropical Inn is a definite repeat experience........MaryAnn & Rob......

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mats336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Would recommend walking, biking, or moped as means of transportation. Don't miss the sunset celebration in Mallory Square. If you enjoy history check out the train tour, Hemingway House, or the ghost tour. As far as dining, check with a local for recommendations.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerimeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

The owners are extremely helpfull. It is wise to plan dinning and sightseeing based upon their advice and knowledge of Key West.
Pay the $15 a day parking fee. Street parking is hard to find.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shutterbug47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews