We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropical Inn
Ranked #22 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, Illinois
11
Reviewed 1 December 2005

We just got back from yet another fantastic trip to Key West. This was our seventh year going and we will be back again next year.
The first five years we did stay at Tropical Inn and really fell in love with the place as well as the owners. Brandi, Jane and Allen make you feel as if you are part of their family. Last year we tried another location and it just wasn't the same. We came back again this year to the Tropical Inn to find it is now better than ever.
Still the great hospitality, Such a beautiful Pool and Garden area, breakfast was wonderful, you really cant ask for more. The Inn is ideally located, you can walk right out the front door and be wherever you need to be in a matter of minutes. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Cant wait to go back again next year.

Stayed: November 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 877 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
514
Reviewed 20 November 2005

Tropical Inn has an excellent location and the owners/managers are very friendly and enthusiastic. They recommended and arranged some great activities.

The Inn is located on Duval street. We stayed in a room in the back of the main building, overlooking the pool. We did not have any problems with noise.

However, the bathroom was in major need of renovation. The carpeting in the room and hallways was also old and worn. We paid $350 a night. And, I have much higher expectations for that price -- regardless of location. We have stayed at another property in Key West that had an equally good location, had been newly renovated, and was actually a little less.

I just wanted to warn people as I had read reviews here and no one had mentioned the bathroom. Had we known, I would've chosen another place to stay. Or, at least requested another room. We stayed in the Banyantree Suite.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 February 2006

We are mystified by this review. We take pride in the cleanliness and attention to quality that our inn exhibits throughout, as reflected in other reviews on this site. The bathroom in the Banyantree Suite is not at all in need of renovation. It is not large or overly fancy, but it is in good repair. Also, the carpeting in rooms and hallways is neither old nor worn. We feel certain that somewhere between the time this guest stayed with us and when the review was written, some seven months later, he or she must have stayed in another place which is being confused with ours. Further evidence of this is the exaggerated amount that he/she reported was paid for the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2005

Stayed December 13 thru 20, 2004.


* Knowledgable, friendly staff. Helped with "nice" dinner reservations; cheap, quick breakfast suggestion. Cognizant our different moods: Chatty, in-need, wanting to be left alone, etc. Had answers for every question we threw at them.

* Beautiful building and grounds. Good size swimming pool. (Many in Key West are tiny, or dip-pools.) Nice Hot tub. Fantastic foliage. Second floor rooms in back have awesome big decks that look out onto the pool are. Beautifu! Inn was totally clean, well taken care of and very nicely decorated. Bed was sooooo comfortable.

* Great location. Right on Duval, but somehow not super busy street traffic right here; that seems to be just north (or is that west? ha!) of the Tropical Inn. Everything you need and want is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanTalbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2005

I really liked staying at the Tropical Inn in Key West. Staying at a B&B really adds to the experience. There are so many beautiful old "conch" houses in Key West - this B&B is a renovated beautiful old home. The rooms may be small, but this was perfect for me as a person traveling solo. There is a mini fridge, a lovely armoir, and what I thought was realy cool is in the room there is a journal for each room guest to write down their impressions of the room, reflections on the trip journey and the experience in Key West.

The owners of the B&B are absolutely the best! I had some difficulties with travel arrangements and they went above and beyond the call of duty to help me!

The location of Tropical Inn is perfect - it is on Duval - close enough to walk to all the attractions on Duval street, but far enough away to be a quiet oasis, which is what I really liked. Plus, it is right around the corner from Hemmingway's house and a good restuarant, Blue Heaven.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mantaraye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2005

We had a great time last week. The hosts and staff were terrific. Our room was a bit smallish but quite comfortable. The location in the middle of Duval Street is great. While we did enjoy the "people watching" from the 2nd floor verandah outside our room (Duval Overlook) you did get a bit of street noise at night. We'd definitly recommend a stay here though.

Stayed: June 2005
1  Thank Frank-n-PatS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2005

Overall, this is an excellent place to stay. Just far enough away from the madness of Duvall/Mallory Square, but just close enough to walk. Rooms are small, but you really should be out and about. It does seem to be a bit expensive to me, but hey, it's all about location. I'd recommend it to anyone, with the small caveat that they eat the contential breakfast provided and go cheap on lunch (which can be easily done in Key West) because you'll be paying quite a bit to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kwnetworkone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2005

My wife and I stayed here in June of last year for our honeymoon. I had been to Key West numerous times, but this was my first at a B and B. All I could say was wow! The staff was tremendous, the location perfect, and quite possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! I believe we stayed in the bamboo room and for how often your are in your room, it was a perfect size. Also, one of the touches I love are the journals left in every room that those who stay can read and write in! It's pretty cool to go down to the pool in the morning and flip through the stories of other travelers. Ps... The only knock on this place seems to be the roomsize, people what are you doing in your room in KEY WEST!

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaywepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
Avalon Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 77 in Key West
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#15 of 77 in Key West
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £176 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West
Tropical Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing