We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Inn
Ranked #14 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    114
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
647
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buchanan, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2005

We've been going to Key West for a number of years. We always stay at the Tropical Inn on Duval Street. The rooms are very clean and the pool is beautiful. The Inn Keeepers are outstanding! We recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Helpful?
3 Thank MADRONLAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2005

We just got back from yet another fantastic trip to Key West. This was our seventh year going and we will be back again next year.
The first five years we did stay at Tropical Inn and really fell in love with the place as well as the owners. Brandi, Jane and Allen make you feel as if you are part of their family. Last year we tried another location and it just wasn't the same. We came back again this year to the Tropical Inn to find it is now better than ever.
Still the great hospitality, Such a beautiful Pool and Garden area, breakfast was wonderful, you really cant ask for more. The Inn is ideally located, you can walk right out the front door and be wherever you need to be in a matter of minutes. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Cant wait to go back again next year.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2005

Tropical Inn has an excellent location and the owners/managers are very friendly and enthusiastic. They recommended and arranged some great activities.

The Inn is located on Duval street. We stayed in a room in the back of the main building, overlooking the pool. We did not have any problems with noise.

However, the bathroom was in major need of renovation. The carpeting in the room and hallways was also old and worn. We paid $350 a night. And, I have much higher expectations for that price -- regardless of location. We have stayed at another property in Key West that had an equally good location, had been newly renovated, and was actually a little less.

I just wanted to warn people as I had read reviews here and no one had mentioned the bathroom. Had we known, I would've chosen another place to stay. Or, at least requested another room. We stayed in the Banyantree Suite.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Tropical Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2006
We are mystified by this review. We take pride in the cleanliness and attention to quality that our inn exhibits throughout, as reflected in other reviews on this site. The bathroom in the Banyantree Suite is not at all in need of renovation. It is not large or overly fancy, but it is in good repair. Also, the carpeting in rooms and hallways is neither old nor worn. We feel certain that somewhere between the time this guest stayed with us and when the review was written, some seven months later, he or she must have stayed in another place which is being confused with ours. Further evidence of this is the exaggerated amount that he/she reported was paid for the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2005

Stayed December 13 thru 20, 2004.


* Knowledgable, friendly staff. Helped with "nice" dinner reservations; cheap, quick breakfast suggestion. Cognizant our different moods: Chatty, in-need, wanting to be left alone, etc. Had answers for every question we threw at them.

* Beautiful building and grounds. Good size swimming pool. (Many in Key West are tiny, or dip-pools.) Nice Hot tub. Fantastic foliage. Second floor rooms in back have awesome big decks that look out onto the pool are. Beautifu! Inn was totally clean, well taken care of and very nicely decorated. Bed was sooooo comfortable.

* Great location. Right on Duval, but somehow not super busy street traffic right here; that seems to be just north (or is that west? ha!) of the Tropical Inn. Everything you need and want is within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanTalbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2005

I really liked staying at the Tropical Inn in Key West. Staying at a B&B really adds to the experience. There are so many beautiful old "conch" houses in Key West - this B&B is a renovated beautiful old home. The rooms may be small, but this was perfect for me as a person traveling solo. There is a mini fridge, a lovely armoir, and what I thought was realy cool is in the room there is a journal for each room guest to write down their impressions of the room, reflections on the trip journey and the experience in Key West.

The owners of the B&B are absolutely the best! I had some difficulties with travel arrangements and they went above and beyond the call of duty to help me!

The location of Tropical Inn is perfect - it is on Duval - close enough to walk to all the attractions on Duval street, but far enough away to be a quiet oasis, which is what I really liked. Plus, it is right around the corner from Hemmingway's house and a good restuarant, Blue Heaven.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mantaraye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Property: Tropical Inn
Address: 812 Duval St, (City Center), Key West, FL 33040-7406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West. Relax in a tropical garden oasis of tranquility with multiple pools, tucked incongruously away amidst the high energy of legendary Duval Street. This sophisticated yet informal historic inn features comfortable rooms, cottage suites with private outdoor spas, and a delectable, tropical breakfast buffet of healthy choices and delectable temptations. Enhance your Key West vacation with lasting memories -- choose the distinctive ambience of the Tropical Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West
Tropical Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing