We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Schooner America 2.0- Good Fun”

Classic Harbor Line
Book In Advance
More Info
US$91.38*
and up
Key West Sunset Sail Aboard Schooner America 2.0
More Info
US$59.12*
and up
Classic Day Sail Aboard America 2.0
Ranked #4 of 291 Tours in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Classic Harbor Line, operating renowned day sail operations in Newport, RI, New York City, Boston,MA, Hoboken,NJ,and bring the glorious America 2.0 to Key West, Florida. The 105-foot, 1800s vessel is captained by US Coast Guard certified captains and only the most professional and courteous crew you will ever meet. America 2.0 is truly the diamond shining amongst the Key West Schooner Fleet. She is a close cousin to Key West's former pride, Schooner America. Guests are sure to have a comfortable ride on this fast and lively schooner. Dedicated to providing the most perfect hospitality and sailing experience one could find in Key West, Classic Harbor Line hopes for the privilege of escorting you on a breathtaking excursion aboard the most elegant vessels in the local Key West fleet: Schooner America 2.0. While visiting Key West, Florida you will find a number of land and water based activities. However, a classic schooner sail, whether it be a day sail, or sunset sail, is well known to be the quintessential Key West activity that will highlight your stay and be the lasting memory forever.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 18 November 2013

On a recent trip to Key West (our first time), we took a sunset tour on the Schooner America 2.0, put on Classic Harbor Line. We had a great time while on the boat, although some of the other guests onboard were overly annoying, possibly due to the amount of free alcohol they consumed.
We secured the reservations form our hotel concierge, which worked out very well. On the day of the tour, we got there early enough for lunch, confirmed our tour, and pid our balance. The lady at the booth was very nice, and very helpful.
After a late lunch, we waited for the tour to start. We managed to get on and get a pretty decent spot on the boat, but we were followed on by a large party of 12 people. As it turned out, they were a wedding party out on a sunset tour the day before the wedding. They were a bit annoyed that my wife and I had picked what we thought were very good seats, and didn't want to move. We accommodated them as much as possible, but we really had wanted to sit where we did so we could get some decent pictures. They took full advantage of the free alcohol on board, which was unfortunate, because they were very loud as we got around to the middle of the trip, and more so on the way back.
Anyway, the ride out was very good, nice and calm, and for the most part relaxing. Aside from the wedding party, there was another group of people sitting down in the cockpit next to the captain. They really pushed the captain hard to get the boat moving faster than it currently was. The captain was at first hesitant, but eventually got the boat up to 10.2 knots (we started out around 7 knots or so). Like the other party, they got louder the more alcohol they consumed.
The sunset was nice, not spectacular. Nobody's fault there. I really did have a good time, but I think that the two parties that spent more energy on drinking free beer than on enjoying the ride definitely took something away.
I would definitely do the tour again, as the boat was beautiful, the crew were great (and very accommodating), and the captain clearly knew his business. I would just look to stay away from loud boisterous groups.
Initially we thought this tour was expensive at $75.00 pp, but considering the price including beer, wine, soda, and hors d'oeuvre like shrimp cocktail and crackers and cheese, and considering the size of the boat, the price actually was very good.
My only complaint or suggestion would be that there really should be a limit on how much alcohol one person is allowed while on the tour. It seemed like one person in the wedding party drank at least 5-6 beers in the 2 hours we were on the boat. He was obnoxious to start with, and got more so as the evening went on.

Thank pbenware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello,
We want to thank you for coming out with us and sharing your experience! We are sorry to hear that there were a couple of people that got out of line. We always aim to create an elegant atmosphere and pride ourselves off of not being a booze cruise. We do offer complimentary drinks and ask our crew to keep it to three rounds.
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful sailing experience and that you were well taken care of by our crew.
We hope to have you out wtih us again in the future.

Classic Harbor Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 652 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband mentioned that he had never been on a schooner before -- how lucky were we to be walking by the fare kiosk about an hour before departure. What a beautiful experience. We had been checking out other sunset sails, and all seemed loud, crowded, and just generally "trying too hard". America 2.0 was none of that. The crew seemed to genuinely enjoy sharing their love of this schooner. Wine, beer, shrimp, cheese, nice people, and an awesome Key West Sunset. Well worth the price!

Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After reading reviews I was expecting top notch experience. It was just OK. Boat is beautiful no doubt. This was advertised as "drinks with cheese, crackers and shrimp cocktail". All true but it should have said "A couple of bottles of beer or a couple of glasses of wine. We'll set out a single small plate of cheese and crackers and a single small plate of shrimp for you to attempt to get on your own while holding onto something to be safe while heading back in. Drinks only are served on the way away from island, food only served (set out) on the way back in." I'd heard a friend talk about her experience on a different line and expected so much more since the price of this one was more than her experience, and she actually had a lot of food!
With all of that said, the sunsets are unbelievable and it is a beautiful sailboat (which is not as smooth riding as a catamaran ) but a lot of fun.

Thank niknames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello,

We want to thank you for coming out with us and also want to thank you for your review. It is reviews that help us to better our product.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the boat and had a beautiful Key West Sunset!

Classic Harbor Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I wanted a sunset sailing. The wind was up, the seas were a bit rough, but the experience was excellent. The crew and the captain were friendly and competent. Nice sale even in choppy water. Also saw dolphins!

Thank margievet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello,
Congratulations! Your first ride on a sail boat!? We are so happy that you came out with us, and had a good experience. Yes, the America 2.0 sails wonderfully in choppy waters, as it is a very sturdy boat. Seeing Dolphins is always a magical experience, and we are happy it happened on your first trip!
We hope to have you out with us again in the future!

Classic Harbor Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Cap't Andy and his crew of two sailors did a fine job. The crew were informative friendly and let the people get involved (even those of limited sailing experience!). The sails were up and the motor off by the time we left the harbor. 3600 sq ft of sail really gets the boat moving!! We easily beat out all of the other boats going out for the sunset cruise. The ladies passed drinks around in between their sail tending chores. Maneuvers on the boat were smooth and comfortable. The snack was a bit limited, given the price of the cruise, but was tasty and well prepared. We had a great time, and a lovely sunset.

Thank ladypiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Hello,
Thank you for coming out with us and sharing your experience, as we really appreciate any feedback to help us better your experience.
Isn't there something magical when the engine is shut down and the wind guides you through the beautiful Key West water?
We hope to have you out with us again in the future.

Classic Harbor Line

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Classic Harbor Line also viewed

 

Been to Classic Harbor Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing