We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What is wrong with Schooner America's sunset sail???”

Classic Harbor Line
Book In Advance
More Info
US$91.38*
and up
Key West Sunset Sail Aboard Schooner America 2.0
More Info
US$59.12*
and up
Classic Day Sail Aboard America 2.0
Ranked #4 of 285 Tours in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Classic Harbor Line, operating renowned day sail operations in Newport, RI, New York City, Boston,MA, Hoboken,NJ,and bring the glorious America 2.0 to Key West, Florida. The 105-foot, 1800s vessel is captained by US Coast Guard certified captains and only the most professional and courteous crew you will ever meet. America 2.0 is truly the diamond shining amongst the Key West Schooner Fleet. She is a close cousin to Key West's former pride, Schooner America. Guests are sure to have a comfortable ride on this fast and lively schooner. Dedicated to providing the most perfect hospitality and sailing experience one could find in Key West, Classic Harbor Line hopes for the privilege of escorting you on a breathtaking excursion aboard the most elegant vessels in the local Key West fleet: Schooner America 2.0. While visiting Key West, Florida you will find a number of land and water based activities. However, a classic schooner sail, whether it be a day sail, or sunset sail, is well known to be the quintessential Key West activity that will highlight your stay and be the lasting memory forever.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
HartfordCt
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“What is wrong with Schooner America's sunset sail???”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

NOTHING!
We went for the sunset sail on 11/17/13 and we could not have asked for anything better. We were told that the boat could hold 65 passengers and we were a group of four out of 19 passengers.
Capt. Andrew and the crew of Heather and Rowanna did an excellent job of sailing the boat. The passengers were allowed to help hoist the sails which added to the fun. Because of the low number of people on board I think there was still great shrimp and crackers left at the end of the sail.
After the sky being overcast for the 15th and 16th the sunset for us was beautiful. Capt. Andrew said on the 16th that they did have a great last minute sunset.
The young ladies of the crew were also very helpful with information on where the hotspot in town was that evening. They must have someone giving them this info because I am sure they are too busy and too dedicated to their sailing duties to be out partying.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank volleyball-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and giving a shout out to our crew! Yes they work very hard and we love them too!
The America 2.0 is definitely a special and unique Schooner down there in Key West. We hope to have you out with us again in the future! If not in Key West please check out our other locations as well!

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    957
    64
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantatic sailing and Sunset”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Wow is all I can say. We went out for a sunset sail and the evening did not look like much of a sunset at first. We headed out and the super friendly crew and Captain attended to our question and needs. You can help raise the sails if you want. This ship is 120 feet long and is just beautiful. We sailed out toward Sand Key and turned about pulling 11+ knots on the way back! The skies opened up and the sunset was beautiful. a great must if in town. I will try to post some photos and a video.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This was a laid back, beautiful & relaxing trip. The crew was very kind & knowledgeable. Service was First Class. We much preferred this experience over the various "booze sunset cruises" that we have been on. This is a trip that we will surely do again!

Helpful?
Thank Melinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Schooner America 2.0- Good Fun”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

On a recent trip to Key West (our first time), we took a sunset tour on the Schooner America 2.0, put on Classic Harbor Line. We had a great time while on the boat, although some of the other guests onboard were overly annoying, possibly due to the amount of free alcohol they consumed.
We secured the reservations form our hotel concierge, which worked out very well. On the day of the tour, we got there early enough for lunch, confirmed our tour, and pid our balance. The lady at the booth was very nice, and very helpful.
After a late lunch, we waited for the tour to start. We managed to get on and get a pretty decent spot on the boat, but we were followed on by a large party of 12 people. As it turned out, they were a wedding party out on a sunset tour the day before the wedding. They were a bit annoyed that my wife and I had picked what we thought were very good seats, and didn't want to move. We accommodated them as much as possible, but we really had wanted to sit where we did so we could get some decent pictures. They took full advantage of the free alcohol on board, which was unfortunate, because they were very loud as we got around to the middle of the trip, and more so on the way back.
Anyway, the ride out was very good, nice and calm, and for the most part relaxing. Aside from the wedding party, there was another group of people sitting down in the cockpit next to the captain. They really pushed the captain hard to get the boat moving faster than it currently was. The captain was at first hesitant, but eventually got the boat up to 10.2 knots (we started out around 7 knots or so). Like the other party, they got louder the more alcohol they consumed.
The sunset was nice, not spectacular. Nobody's fault there. I really did have a good time, but I think that the two parties that spent more energy on drinking free beer than on enjoying the ride definitely took something away.
I would definitely do the tour again, as the boat was beautiful, the crew were great (and very accommodating), and the captain clearly knew his business. I would just look to stay away from loud boisterous groups.
Initially we thought this tour was expensive at $75.00 pp, but considering the price including beer, wine, soda, and hors d'oeuvre like shrimp cocktail and crackers and cheese, and considering the size of the boat, the price actually was very good.
My only complaint or suggestion would be that there really should be a limit on how much alcohol one person is allowed while on the tour. It seemed like one person in the wedding party drank at least 5-6 beers in the 2 hours we were on the boat. He was obnoxious to start with, and got more so as the evening went on.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pbenware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Classic Harbor Line, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hello,
We want to thank you for coming out with us and sharing your experience! We are sorry to hear that there were a couple of people that got out of line. We always aim to create an elegant atmosphere and pride ourselves off of not being a booze cruise. We do offer complimentary drinks and ask our crew to keep it to three rounds.
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful sailing experience and that you were well taken care of by our crew.
We hope to have you out wtih us again in the future.

Classic Harbor Line
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waretown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“sunset sail with perks!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband mentioned that he had never been on a schooner before -- how lucky were we to be walking by the fare kiosk about an hour before departure. What a beautiful experience. We had been checking out other sunset sails, and all seemed loud, crowded, and just generally "trying too hard". America 2.0 was none of that. The crew seemed to genuinely enjoy sharing their love of this schooner. Wine, beer, shrimp, cheese, nice people, and an awesome Key West Sunset. Well worth the price!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Classic Harbor Line also viewed

 

Been to Classic Harbor Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing