We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CHEAP, clean!! great key west option for military.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Navy Lodge Key West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Navy Lodge Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“CHEAP, clean!! great key west option for military.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

So I decided to go to Key West last minute, everything under $600/night (no joke) that didn't look crusty on the reviews was booked. The only thing that was available was the $350/night Marriott.. that was literally right outside the gate. So we paid $79, the room was big and clean, 2 double beds, a kitchenette with dishes and whatknot, and nice size bathroom. We paid between $10-15 for cab rides to and from old town but minimized trips and with how cheap the room was, it was still a better option than staying in Oldtown and paying a lot more. Also since its removed you can actually sleep because its nice and quiet!! I met some Marines out who were also staying at Navy lodging but their rooms were in an annex in Old Town, by the southern most point. I'm not sure how you book those but this is still a great option and I would 150% recommend it to other military personnel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank rhinson726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

The front desk staff is truly the gem of this property! They were courteous, knowledgeable, and friendly. Angelica and Andre were helpful and gave excellent directions to the local sites!

If you have pet allergies...beware! The lodge has four rooms for pets. Even if you aren't traveling with your four-legged companion you might get assigned to a room that is usually reserved for pets. The odor of pet urine greeted us when we opened the door and when we closed the curtains at night the light filtered through the curtains that were ripped by a previous four legged guest trying to scale the curtains.

The friendly front desk staff assured us that the cleaning staff would perform a deep cleaning that day for the room. That message did not seem to be passed on to the cleaning staff, even though we inquired every day of our stay there. (We spoke with the cleaning staff and they never "deep cleaned" our room).

The manager was unavailable during our stay due to a family emergency. We asked Andre and Angelica to have the manager call us to address the problem. Even after phone calls to Lisee and Angelica and messages to the manager, the manager never returned our calls to address the pet dander and urine odor problem.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NLKW, General Manager at Navy Lodge Key West, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
It distresses me to hear of your less than perfect experience. It is true I was away for a large part of August due to a family emergency. I am sorry I was not there to assist you. Even in my absence we would never insist that a guest stay in a room they are not happy with, and it is our policy to extended an offer to move to another room. A deep clean, which includes steam cleaning the carpets, is not possible to do when a room is occuppied, so I am not sure what you were asking the houskeepers to do. Upon my return I did not find any voice mails relating to this. If I had, i would certainly have returned them. I hope that should you return to Key west you would give us another try as this experience is in no way typical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Bring retired AF, I have the privilege of using DOD Lodging all over. We were happy when we saw the room. Two queen beds. Kitchenette. Everything you need. Commissary and PX and ticket office/rentals a block away. Andre at front desk was extremely helpful and informative before and after we got there. Angelina also very professional and friendly at front desk. A small continental breakfasts to get you started.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We came here for 4 nights, 5 days. Very impressed with our room. We have 2 double beds, huge closet for clothing & luggage, a little kitchen that has burners, microwave, sink & full sized fridge, pots & pans, dishes & utensils & a huge shower and bathroom, & the room is impeccably clean, especially since it's a room for people with their pets. We've bought our chihuahua with us & I'm the first to say I hate smelling rooms that smell of animals. The commissary & Navy Exchange & gym are literally across the street & driving through the base shows us how clean it is. The price we are paying is so low compared to what we would be paying anywhere else here, because of that fact we are able to stay a few more days than we could have out in town. It is a little drive to the main sights & parking is a premium so we will look at doing a tour that covers the main points that we'd like to see. We look forward to an enjoyable stay!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Julianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Wonderful experience, great people!! We arrived early and the gentleman at the front desk suggested that while we were waiting for our room that we visit the ITT where we were able to purchase tickets to most if not all local attractions at a significant discount. Also conveniently located nearby were the Navy Exchange, Commissary, and the Sunset Grill. After visiting these sites (all within walking distance of the lodge) we checked in. Our room was located on the first floor, it was clean and quiet (with the occasionally cycling of the A/C unit). The room was promptly cleaned each day and restocked with the usually items. We enjoyed the morning dry breakfast items and fresh coffee. During the early afternoon we frequently visited the deck on left side of the lodge. All and all a great facility and a very friendly staff. We will definitely stay there on our next visit to Key West.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lcdrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is a little paradise in Key West. If you want to save money this is the place to stay. The staff is friendly great service and great rooms. Walking distance from the Navy exchange and Commissary. Also close to the marina. This is few of the good benefit for the military. I heard rumors that soon will be open to the public but not sure if is true. I hope not. Rooms offer a nice kitchen and the front desk offer alight continental mini breakfast with granola bar coffee water and muffins. This is a nice starter.

Room Tip: Book on time because it get book really easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guayoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NLKW, General Manager at Navy Lodge Key West, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
While it is true the base will no longer have a security guard at the gate, it does not mean the public can use the military facilities. As you stated these are benefits for our Military. You must present a US Military ID card at check-in. This also includes shopping at the NEX and Commissary.
Thank you for your review, and your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Nice room. 2 large queen size beds, small area with frig,microwave, 2 burner stove. Good cold AC. We rented car from airport and scooter from island scooters. Cannot drive scooter on base so we parked at hotel right outside base. Lodge has 2 decks outside on either sides one with hammock and tiki hut.We bought breakfast food/water/snacks at commersary. Room comes with small 4 cup coffee maker. Really great price of $76 night can't beat it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-NLKW, General Manager at Navy Lodge Key West, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
2.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
2.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#41 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Navy Lodge Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge Key West

Property: Navy Lodge Key West
Address: Bldg 4114 Arthur Sawyer Rd, Key West Naval Air Station - Sigbee Park, Key West, FL 33040-5000
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PROVIDING OUTSTANDING HOSPITALITY TO THOSE WHO PROUDLY SERVE OUR COUNTRYThe Navy Lodge is your number one choice for outstanding guests services specializing in meeting the needs of the PCS military family, TAD and leisure traveler. Please note: International Military are Welcome, but must be pre-approved through base security. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge Key West Hotel Key West
Navy Lodge Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing