We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good As It Gets!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1800 Atlantic Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Crater Lake National Park, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The condos at this property are all individually owned and quite variable in quality so this review is for ONLY the condo that I experienced. That would be unit C328.

The location of the condo is right adjacent to Smather's Beach (the private beach noted is not really a beach, just shoreline). Some reviewers said this property is noisy because of its location on a busy corner, but we had a courtyard facing unit and never heard a car or truck. Not once. And I come from a very quiet place. The condo is a long bike ride or short drive to Duval Street. Really not walkable for most people. Though my daughter and her fiancee easily jogged there in the mornings.

I have been in condos, hotel and rental houses all over the US and in a few foreign countries and I have never found a better rental than this place. I usually post a list of pros and cons for each property, but there were so few, if any, "cons" that such a positing would be meaningless. And the minor cons that I will relate are with respect to the general property, NOT the condo itself.

The unit itself is almost brand new and immaculate. Luxury throughout. Italian travertine tile graces the floor of every room and the balcony (which looks driectly out into the Atlantic.) There is a large beautiful master bath with a walk-in glass shower and a jetted tub. Very comfortable kings in both bedrooms with king sized TVs (as if you would waste time here watching TV). There is a huge plasma HDTV in the well appointed living room as well. Just off the living/dining room is a small but convenient bar. The sofa in the living room was so comfortable that my daughter wanted to buy an identical one when she got home. The interior design is modern and beautiful.

The kitchen is right out of a home and garden or deisgner magazine. Top of the line appliances, granite slab counter tops. Huge refrigerator that rocks in ice output. Every glass, dinnerware, flatware and cookware item you can imagine is provided. All impeccably clean.

Be sure to bring all of the condiments and supplies that you need though as it seems the condo is cleared of all "left behinds" after each renter. We could only find a few bags of tea and some sugar packets. Not a bad thing, but we are used to condos where some common items are left and added to by each subsequent tenant. Parking is free in a secured garage below the units.

The only minor cons that I mentioned are as follows: The property itself is not brand new so some of the common areas are a bit outdated. The hallways certainly belie the elegance that you find once you open the door to C328. Many units were being remodeled when we stayed. Also, the spa did not work when we were there - no bubbles, no hot water. However, the pool was large, very nice and extremely clean. There are a variety of pool accessories for shared use as well as charcoal BBQ grills around the pool area.

The only thing that exceeded the quality of the condo was the quality of the rental property management company. Pure Key West Vacations, a division of Truman&Company was outstanding, particularly Kathi, a true 5 star plus concierge. She was ever attentive and always there when needed. She was there to meet us on a Sunday evening and then took time to show us around. She was there immediately with a free WiFi hotspot when the DSL router acted up. She was there with light bulbs when one went out. I can't say enough about the exceptional service I received from this company and highly recommend them.

The condo was so nice that we ended up spending more time there relaxing and less time in activities than we had planned. It was time well spent. If you go to Key West, seriously consider trying to snag this unit if available!

Room Tip: C328 enough said! Lacking that, get a room on the inside facing the courtyard to reduced external...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CascadesRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    42
    27
    12
    11
See reviews for
64
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We rented apartments 103 and 105 between a group of friends which were ideally located next door to each other. Here's the lowdown.

Apartments are massive = Win
Pool is BIG = Win
There is a jacuzzi = Win
Free garage parking = Win
Decor is dated = not so hot
Kitchens really are FULLY equipped = Win
There seem to be floats you can use in the pool lying around everywhere! = Win
Air conditioned table tennis room! = Win
Free WiFi = WIN!
Proper Cable TV, with TVs everywhere = WIN!
Dishwashers and laundry machines in yo flat = Win!

Basically the only real downside to this place is it isn't next to Duval Street, and it looks very 70s. Other than that, it's fantastic. Both apartments had two large bedrooms, two bathrooms, a very big lounge and kitchen with dining table for 4. Balconies, air con, towels provided (more towels in 103 than I thought was possible). Great for groups and families, loads of space, lovely outdoor area with barbecues that get cleaned for you, pool and jacuzzi open till 11PM - it's basically perfect.

We were really sad to leave, had a great time here and it was the cheapest part of our US holiday!

PS: The male supervisor was really, really, really nice. The female one was a bit scary. And hench.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincentz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The apartment was excellent. Very big for only two persons, so we had a lot of space. In the garden it was a nice big pool, and it was an jacuzzi too. Lot of places in the garden to barbeque. Very very nice place. Garage in the basement. Near the beaches and the city. A lovley place to stay on!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The condo was very nice, but dated. The complex was clean and well maintained. The pool was great but the maintenance supervisor treated us like children. Actually sat behind us at the pool to catch us doing something wrong. Was yelled at for having a plastic cup in the pool. Otherwise, no stresses, its Key West.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed here in Feb 2012 and rented through Tom's Vacation Rentals. We were a group of 6 adults in a 2 bedroom condo. The entire unit had been recently renovated and was stunning. There were 2 bedrooms, one was a master suite and there was also a pull-out couch available. There was plenty of space for the 6 of us and both bedrooms and the living room had access to the balcony. Our unit faced the ocean and we were able to see the sunrise every morning. There was also laundry facilities in our unit with laundry soap available for use.
This building is very secure and key access is required to navigate through the building and get into/ out-of the pool area. The pool was quite large and faced the ocean. There were plenty of lounge chairs available for use with access to umbrellas if needed. A lot of the people in the building own and live in their units as it is a condo building so this would not be best for someone looking to have loud parties. The building was super quiet, which made it more relaxing and better for sleeping.
We were a bit of a hike from Duval st (where all the action is). It took us about 45 minutes to walk close to Mallory Square. We rented bicycles and then it was only about a 10 to 15 minute ride to get down to the action of Key West.
I would definitely stay in one of Tom's units again, we had a great time. I highly recommend this for people looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CWe_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We have been staying at 1800 Atlantic for 10 years and have enjoyed every stay. Now that we are retired, we get to come for two months in the winter. It is a great location--away from the noise and craziness of Duval St. but close enough to go and enjoy it in the evening. The condos are all different. We have had great success with All Florida Keys for renting. They are great to work with, and very fair. We enjoy the large balcony patio to sit and have coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. It is directly on the ocean with wonderful views and the pool is fantastic. If you can't enjoy this, maybe Key West is not your place to vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great complex and great unit. We have stayed other places near here and this was the best. Great pool area, huge pool, lots of room, lounge chairs, and sun. Very high security with all public areas requiring key. (make sure everyone in your party has one.) Unit was recently renovated with great kitchen. Rooms and bathrooms were large, great patio with access from both BR's and family room. A/C seamed to have a problem when we arrived. When we called management co., they had a repairman there in a matter of hours. Great people to deal with!

Room Tip: Units in the east building facing west have great views of the ocean and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dpen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Property: 1800 Atlantic Suites
Address: 1800 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5388
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West
1800 Atlantic Suites Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing