We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Showing Signs of Age” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1800 Atlantic Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1800 Atlantic Suites
Bristol
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Showing Signs of Age”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in a condo for 4 nights in early June with friends. We had originally tried to book a specific condo however this was not available. The agents supplied us with a number of alternatives from which we booked the condo we stayed in. On arrival the initial impression was good. However on closer examination the property we stayed in was showing its age e.g. the kitchen & bathroom units were starting to delaminate in places and some doors didn’t shut properly & the laminate floor no longer had a door threshold to the main bedroom.
The majority of the wardrobe space was taken up with the owner’s bits and pieces – lamps, spare flooring etc and as a consequence the acres of storage space was barely adequate especially for hanging items.
The outside of the buildings are concrete grey and on come condos nearest the ocean, the reinforcing bars had rusted sufficiently to cause some concrete to fall away. That said the pool is large and heated and we were able to spend some time in and around the pool between trips into the centre of Key Largo.
The first night there appeared to be a family gathering taking place in the communal area and quite a party developed. This went on into the small hours so beware if you a looking for a quiet time.
Finally I must mention the beds. They had 'plastic' mattress protectors under the sheets. Very uncomfortable. I appreciate that they help to keep mattresses clean but sleep quality is severely compromised.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    42
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
64
23
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

First you must be 25 to stay here which it doesn't state on the website. We were able to stay any way since we travled so far. The outside of the building looks a little run down but the inside is nice. The rooms are big! However, the room we had had a ton of little things wrong with it for example the balcony doors would get stuck when u slide them. The lights would go out because they had the wrong light bulbs and the jazzuize didn't work. Thandul my boyfriend is hand and was able to fix this for us. There were also flying ants in out room which the owner knew about since there was a can of raid under the sink. The location of the hotel is horrible if I would have know that I would have NEVER booked the place. It looks like its on the beach and it kinda is but that water u can't go in . All the actives no matter what u do u have to drive to since its on te other side of key west !! Don't get me wrong te plae was nice and we had a good time but if ur looking for vacation were things are in walking distance this isn't the place !!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacklynnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

First time to ever write such a negative report but wonder how people can be positive about this place.
Let me start with the good news:
The owner of appartment C426 is OK. Responds very quick and positive to emails and questions. The apartment itself is spacious.
The bad news:
At checking in (3.15 PM), it took us 15 minutes to wake up the guy from security to get informed that we could only check in at 4PM. 30 Minutes later we were given the envelop with the keys including a 15 minute rundown about what NOT to do and all the rules that applied to the premises. The appartment itself was outdated, pink walls, old and dirty furniture, smelly, doors of the kitchen cabinets not closing properly. Old, used and small towels, rubbled linnens on the beds. Because it is on the top floor it has high ceilings and windows which are apparently to high for staff to clean properly

The entire building itself is poorly maintained. All concrete (not painted) with black stains on the outside from moist.Concrete broken off of some of the balconies and pillars damaged.
When we were here, the pool was dirty and smelly. We complained about this twice to the property manager together with some other folks but he said nothing wrong. 4 days later, maintenance was replacing tubes and pipes. Possible contamination hazard. During the week there was construction work going on in the parking garage under the building. Result, wake up calls at 08.00 AM in the morning by a hammer drill that shook up the entire building.
Staff and security (at least if you can find them) were rude, arrogant and are probably trained to bark at people instead of showing any customer intimate atttitude. If you have an issue you have no single person to call. But have to call to multiple numbers and no one ever returns a call as promised.

As said, first time we would really recommend to look for an lternative. Which there are. Don't go here!!!!

Room Tip: We had excellent dinners at A&B Lobster House, Seven Fish. informal Salute on the Beach also ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kees_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Sorry to hear that you had this expericence at 1800 Atlantic. This unit is a privately owned unit and you rented directly from the Owner not our Management Company. We have a manager who lives on site to take care of any problems that may occur with the units we manage. Owners pay a lot of money for housekeeping so if you had a compaint with a unit we managed we would rectify it immediately. Units may be dated but cleanliness is the most important thing.

What I find very concerning was that you found the Condo Association staff to be rude. This is not acceptable. I would certainly let the Owner you rented from know this so he can address this.

We manage 40 units at this property and work very closely with the Management for the Association over there. In 18 years I have never had a complaint about the pool.

I am sorry you had this experience.

All Florida Keys Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very dated accomodations - we had to change rooms 3 times to find one with everything working; 1st room the a/c didn't work, 2nd room the bathrooms were filthy and the 3rd room the coffee maker nor microwave worked. Since all we did was sleep here the room was satisfactory once we had working a/c. If management would spend a few bucks to update the kitchen and some decor, this could be a place you'd look forward to staying at. For now tho - too many other places with better offerings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milehidoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crater Lake National Park, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The condos at this property are all individually owned and quite variable in quality so this review is for ONLY the condo that I experienced. That would be unit C328.

The location of the condo is right adjacent to Smather's Beach (the private beach noted is not really a beach, just shoreline). Some reviewers said this property is noisy because of its location on a busy corner, but we had a courtyard facing unit and never heard a car or truck. Not once. And I come from a very quiet place. The condo is a long bike ride or short drive to Duval Street. Really not walkable for most people. Though my daughter and her fiancee easily jogged there in the mornings.

I have been in condos, hotel and rental houses all over the US and in a few foreign countries and I have never found a better rental than this place. I usually post a list of pros and cons for each property, but there were so few, if any, "cons" that such a positing would be meaningless. And the minor cons that I will relate are with respect to the general property, NOT the condo itself.

The unit itself is almost brand new and immaculate. Luxury throughout. Italian travertine tile graces the floor of every room and the balcony (which looks driectly out into the Atlantic.) There is a large beautiful master bath with a walk-in glass shower and a jetted tub. Very comfortable kings in both bedrooms with king sized TVs (as if you would waste time here watching TV). There is a huge plasma HDTV in the well appointed living room as well. Just off the living/dining room is a small but convenient bar. The sofa in the living room was so comfortable that my daughter wanted to buy an identical one when she got home. The interior design is modern and beautiful.

The kitchen is right out of a home and garden or deisgner magazine. Top of the line appliances, granite slab counter tops. Huge refrigerator that rocks in ice output. Every glass, dinnerware, flatware and cookware item you can imagine is provided. All impeccably clean.

Be sure to bring all of the condiments and supplies that you need though as it seems the condo is cleared of all "left behinds" after each renter. We could only find a few bags of tea and some sugar packets. Not a bad thing, but we are used to condos where some common items are left and added to by each subsequent tenant. Parking is free in a secured garage below the units.

The only minor cons that I mentioned are as follows: The property itself is not brand new so some of the common areas are a bit outdated. The hallways certainly belie the elegance that you find once you open the door to C328. Many units were being remodeled when we stayed. Also, the spa did not work when we were there - no bubbles, no hot water. However, the pool was large, very nice and extremely clean. There are a variety of pool accessories for shared use as well as charcoal BBQ grills around the pool area.

The only thing that exceeded the quality of the condo was the quality of the rental property management company. Pure Key West Vacations, a division of Truman&Company was outstanding, particularly Kathi, a true 5 star plus concierge. She was ever attentive and always there when needed. She was there to meet us on a Sunday evening and then took time to show us around. She was there immediately with a free WiFi hotspot when the DSL router acted up. She was there with light bulbs when one went out. I can't say enough about the exceptional service I received from this company and highly recommend them.

The condo was so nice that we ended up spending more time there relaxing and less time in activities than we had planned. It was time well spent. If you go to Key West, seriously consider trying to snag this unit if available!

Room Tip: C328 enough said! Lacking that, get a room on the inside facing the courtyard to reduced external...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CascadesRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We rented apartments 103 and 105 between a group of friends which were ideally located next door to each other. Here's the lowdown.

Apartments are massive = Win
Pool is BIG = Win
There is a jacuzzi = Win
Free garage parking = Win
Decor is dated = not so hot
Kitchens really are FULLY equipped = Win
There seem to be floats you can use in the pool lying around everywhere! = Win
Air conditioned table tennis room! = Win
Free WiFi = WIN!
Proper Cable TV, with TVs everywhere = WIN!
Dishwashers and laundry machines in yo flat = Win!

Basically the only real downside to this place is it isn't next to Duval Street, and it looks very 70s. Other than that, it's fantastic. Both apartments had two large bedrooms, two bathrooms, a very big lounge and kitchen with dining table for 4. Balconies, air con, towels provided (more towels in 103 than I thought was possible). Great for groups and families, loads of space, lovely outdoor area with barbecues that get cleaned for you, pool and jacuzzi open till 11PM - it's basically perfect.

We were really sad to leave, had a great time here and it was the cheapest part of our US holiday!

PS: The male supervisor was really, really, really nice. The female one was a bit scary. And hench.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincentz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The apartment was excellent. Very big for only two persons, so we had a lot of space. In the garden it was a nice big pool, and it was an jacuzzi too. Lot of places in the garden to barbeque. Very very nice place. Garage in the basement. Near the beaches and the city. A lovley place to stay on!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#30 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Property: 1800 Atlantic Suites
Address: 1800 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5388
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West
1800 Atlantic Suites Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing