We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dissapointed with 1800 Atlantic Condo 213 / Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1800 Atlantic Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed with 1800 Atlantic Condo 213 / Key West”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The unit had mold growing in the bathroom - we had to purchase bleach to clean it.....just what you want to do on vacation....

The owner stated that the unit would come with 4 bikes - the bikes were covered in concrete dust -- so we took all 4 bikes out.. cleaned them with soap and water - aired up the tires only to have the owner call security and tell us that he had changed his mind and that we could not ride the bikes - after we cleaned and aired up tires... this place is nuts... screens on sliding doors didnt work....

so we spent an hour taking care of mold - another hour dealing with bikes - that became a big issue with the place..

We will never go back there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I am so sorry to hear that you had this experience and misunderstanding with the Owner of this lovely unit. Owners are not permitted to allow renters to use bikes due to the insurance liability involved. Regarding the cleaning of the unit, that is unacceptable and I have spoken with the owner of the cleaning company, had you contacted us they would have come out and rectified the problem immediately, there was no need for you to clean yourselves at all. We did not hear from you at all during your stay so I can only assume that this review was prompted by the misunderstanding with the bikes. I hope you still enjoyed Key West.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    42
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
67
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We visited Key West for the first time with another couple. We stayed in unit C428 for a week.
Pros: Absolutely fabulous view, great balcony, wonderful pool, convenient location, very quiet
Cons: 2nd bedroom was not completely enclosed. This was a BIG CON. Why would a bedroom not be completely closed off? As another review mentioned you need keys to get anywhere on property and you are only issued two sets. This is not only extremely inconvenient but also extremely unsafe if there was an emergency. I can't recall ever experiencing being locked in a building and only being able to get out with a key. I would think this would be a fire code violation. Sheets were probably a 200 count Wal-Mart special and pillows were horrible. First night we all sleep miserably so we went to the local K-mart and bought new pillows and they were an upgrade...go figure!

Putting the cons aside, I would stay at this property again if I could get out of the building without needing keys (it was an unsettling experience) and I would stay in a different unit. I am sorry, but when I rent a 2 bedroom unit I do expect each bedroom to be fully enclosed. Didn't think to ask that question when booking and shockingly that little factoid was never mentioned.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AHMA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Rented A206 with sister and her family. 2 large bedrooms and baths. It definitely met our expectations. Our condo was on West side facing mangrove trees, but still had a view of the ocean. Only thing missing was screens on the sliding doors out to the balcony. Would have been nice to have doors open at night. Another sister had another condo and they did have screens. Common area was very nice, great pool and spa. Everybody was very friendly and met a couple of full time residents. Be aware that you need a key to get anywhere on the property. We had two sets of keys, but could have used another set for 25 year old (stayed up later than us "old" folks). This is a nice area as not commercialized as other side of island. Smathers Beach is close enough to easily walk to. I would definitely recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackieo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked online and called the following day to confirm. Several days later received email stating there was a computer problem and there was no room available. Called and was told they would try to work things out and would call me back. Never got a call back.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie1578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
There is no excuse for poor customer service. I apologize that you had this experience with our wonderful property. I will look into the matter and see how this fell through the cracks. I was aware that we had a computer problem but was assured that is has been resolved. No online reservation is confirmed until you get a personal e-mail or phone call from our staff and your credit card has been charged.

Management of All Florida Keys Property Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in C439 for a week and it worked out great for our family of 5. The unit has been recently redone and has all the amenities that we needed. The pool was awesome. It is very large and there are tons of noodles to float around on. Even with a lot of people there, it never felt crowded. There is a huge hot tub. There is a rocky but, sandy beach right next to the pool. You can not swim there but, you can sit in a lounge chair with a book and listen to the waves and enjoy the view. Complex is right next to Smathers beach where you can walk over to swim to enjoy many water activities. The rental company was terrific - helped us with questions and our internet access. The only negative is that you do get quite a bit of street noise but, that is the case with most of key west.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool would be quieter and get more sun on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Momofthreekkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-RAT1, General Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Glad you had a great time at our property. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Management of All Florida Keys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at this property over the Thanksgiving holiday in Unit 213 Good location, close to Smather's Beach. Very nice spa, well kept and clean pool.

This was one "tired" apartment, they must be renting this unit 24/7. Linens were old, worn and bed pillows were disgusting, urine stains and odor on mattress, lack of hangers. Decorated in the 80's Very poor WiFi quality. Old, cheap, and sticky patio furniture. Would be embarrassed to own this unit. Would never provide my guests with these accommodations, let alone charge money! Please update this unit!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mschabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
I am sorry you had this experience. You did contact me the day before you left but mentioned nothing about the décor and lines at this time, nor the wireless connection. I wish we would have heard from you upon your arrival as we try our best to rectify our guests problems if they have any. You rented from the Owner and I will notify him of the issues you had. They come down on a regular basis and make improvements to the unit. All the linens and towels had been replaced within the last year so I am surprised you had an issue with that. Also the unit was totally renovated in 2010 with new Kitchen and bathrooms. All furniture was new within the last 4 years so nothing was 80's décor. People's taste is obviously varies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We rented a condo unit at 1800 Atlantic thru VRBO and dealt directly with the owners who were attentive, easy to work with and readily available for any questions before our arrival. Apparently a few concerns listed in our review on VRBO were not taken well as that review was never published there. I am always confident my review on tripadvisor will be published as long as we are fair and honest. We had been warned about the construction going on there when we booked our stay, and were told it was nearing completion. When we pulled up, it was very evident the work was no where near completion, as heavy construction was in full swing. it really did not bother us much though, the work was done during the day when we were touring. The workers were always very polite. It did make entering the garage and enjoying the outdoor amenities difficult though. Even though construction was ongoing near the pool, it was kept clean and inviting, as was the hot tub. Apparently the construction, as well as the timing of our visit kept the crowds down, as we rarely saw other people in the common areas or pool. The condo had a great balcony and view of the ocean, we spent a lot of time out there, enjoyed breakfast in the morning looking at the ocean. The condo seemed to need a good cleaning, especially the kitchen which needed updating. There were tiny ants all over the counter tops, which seemed to be remedied by wiping the kitchen counters off. The appliances were in good working order, but should have been cleaner. There was a smell of old grease in the kitchen, we had planned on cooking some meals at the condo, but only did twice as it was not very inviting. The condo was comfortable otherwise. We had to make a special trip to buy laundry detergent and dishwashing soap as we were required to wash linens and dishes and none was provided. It makes me nervous to think that renters are responsible for doing laundry with no detergent provided, as you cannot be sure how well the linens were cleaned with no supervision of cleaning personnel. The basics - air cond, hot water, internet, etc - all worked well. While there is no direct beach access here, a short walk around the block provides access to Smathers beach. A bike/car/taxi is needed to visit down town and most attractions, although we walked everywhere, probably about 5-6 miles total per day! We would be very anxious to see the building when renovations are completed, our stay was comfortable despite a few minor issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfanmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-RAT1, Manager at 1800 Atlantic Suites, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I would like to be very clear that a unit you rented through VRBO should be posted to that individual Owners VRBO account. We manage several units in the building for individual owners. However I don't think you stayed in one of our units as we provide laundry detergent and dishwashing detergent, trash bags and bar soap. All of our guests have been informed that the construction is ongoing through October 2013.
1800 is an Awesome property and will be even more spectacular once the work has been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1800 Atlantic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1800 Atlantic Suites

Property: 1800 Atlantic Suites
Address: 1800 Atlantic Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5388
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1800 Atlantic Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Mid-rise Condominium Resort with tasteful furnishings, popular amenities; situated adjacent to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 1800 Atlantic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1800 Atlantic Hotel Key West
1800 Atlantic Suites Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing