We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommended!”

Namaste' Eco Excursions
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Namaste Sailing/Keys Eco-tours specializes in coral discovery tours to the less frequented ecological reserves in the Florida Lower Keys. Each trip includes a professional ecology presentation complete with professional underwater images of all the different corals, invertebrates, and reef fish we encounter. Snorkel equipment is provided along with expert instruction. We only accommodate 8 guests per excursion so our guests are guaranteed a crowd free and intimate coral reef experience.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
“highly recommended!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Jeff and Trish ( along with a friendly pup and an incredibly chill cat) took my husband and I on a lovely snorkeling trip yesterday. We were treated to one of the reefs further out not frequently visited by the big tour "cattle" boats and consequently still abundant with fish and live coral. They will take up to 6 but we were the only folks who scheduled on this day (Lucky us!)

They are true "eco" tour guides and former teachers. On our trip out to the reef, they taught us a lot about what we would see and not only how to protect it but why. That really added to our appreciation of the complexity and delicacy of the community we were witnessing. We were even joined by a pod of dolphins for several minutes before we anchored. We got to witness them group hunting for their lunch.

we had some difficulties once in the water that they handled swiftly and calmly. My mask would not stop fogging or leaking so Trish quickly swapped hers with mine and I was able to swim on without having to return to the boat. She's such a strong swimmer that she was able to swim back to the boat, swap out the defective mask and rejoin us before before anyone else noted she was gone.

Though we are not inexperienced snorkelers, my husband had a moment of panic just after hitting the water (something Jeff says is not all that uncommon). Trish and Jeff, who are also experienced lifeguards, handled it expertly, first by making him feel safe then by reorienting him to his equipment and staying close by until his confidence returned. We then spent 90 minutes or so enjoying the water. They also carried cameras and documented the underwater trip for us.

A cattle call boat did arrive after us, but disgorged its passengers and was gone again before we got out of the water. We never even ran into them on the reef because they were there so briefly.

We were fed well, and treated like friends. We'd do it again in a heart beat and recommend it to anyone, regardless of your skill level.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doccory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Owner at Namaste' Eco Excursions, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Wow! Talk about a great review. Thank you so much for the wonderful insight on how our trips look from our guest's eyes. We put our hearts into our excursions and feel so lucky when guests such as yourselves take the time to write honest reviews.

We were happy to help you folks through some of the challenges and feel if the roles were reversed, you would do the same for us. The truth about open ocean snorkeling is that it can be overwealming at first. When the water is ultra clear, and the marine life is so abundant, there is always a moment of pure exhilaration that will take your breath away. When that happens, and it does quite often, we do whatever is neccessay to ease the transition. Once we all were acclimated to the beauty, our inner dolphins took over and, as I remember, we completly lost track of time. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    4
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We really enjoyed the afternoon with Jeff and Trish, and their 2 other furry captains. The ocean was a bit rough, but we were glad to be able to make it the coral reef where we snorkeled and saw lots of very cool fish and plant life. Back on the boat, our daughter got a tad sea sick, but was nursed back to health with fresh ginger ((to smell) and the provision of a barf bucket (sometimes a girl's just gotta do what she's gotta do)!! The ocean was an amazing blue the day we were out, and the sun shone brightly! It was a great excursion for all, and we were so glad that we hadn't opted for a less private experience. Thanks again Captains Jeff and Trish- we will pass on your name to other snorkellers traveling to the Keys.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kdhbcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Owner at Namaste' Eco Excursions, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you folks for your kind review. We were delighted that you all agreed to accompany us on what turned into a stellar day on the offshore reef. As I recall, we had two days of weather delays before the waves subsided enough to guarantee a safe and pleasant experience. We wish your schedule would have permitted one more day for the ocean swell to lay down but we certaintly understand flight reservations, especially with all the bad weather up north.

A special thanks to your daughter who kept a great attitude even though she was feeling some of the left over swell. We are glad our "old sailor's" remedy of ginger worked for her. Hope to see you soon, and thank you so much for sharing a piece of your vacation with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Closest We Would Ever Get to a Private Yacht Experience”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Trying to avoid crowds during our FL Keys vacation, I searched the internet and found Namaste Sailing. Jeff and Trish are wonderful, nice people who made us feel like family. Their sail boat is small and well taken care of. They only take up to 6 people on a sunset cruise - so, no crowds, ever. Go to the front of the sailboat and enjoy the feel of the wind on your face and the smell of the water. Added to the experience are 2 co-captains: a cute Yorkshire Terrier service dog and an equally cute short-haired Persian Cat. I wish we didn't have to leave. Enjoyed Jeff and Trish's hospitality and thebeatiful Florida sunset so much!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank leralera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Owner at Namaste' Eco Excursions, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you, folks, for your kind review! Over the years we have been blessed with many wonderful experiences with our guests, and our time with you only adds to those blessings. Thank you for mentioning our furry crew in your review. It's very important for our TripAdvisor clients to know that we are a small, owner operated excursion. We actually live on our boat, and when it sails it does so not only as your host, but also as our home.

The word "Namaste" is actually attributed to a Far East custom of treating guest with the very best you have to offer. In our case, the very "best" is our home, our lifestyle, our passion, and most of all our furry crew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
“Fantastic Trip!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a FANTASTIC Trip on the Namaste . Jeff and Trish gave us a great tour of some of the best waters in the Keys. One aspect that we truly loved is how they shared their knowledge of the various fish, coral, and other marine life. Trish even gave a personal touch by guiding my 11 year old son on a snorkeling adventure. We definitely plan to visit them when we are back in the area and I would advise anyone to do the same.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KYCAT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Owner at Namaste' Eco Excursions, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Wow! Let me first say that seeing the expression on your son's face as he surfaced from his free dive with Trish was absolutely priceless. In that picture I saw my own face, though a much younger version, when I first touched the bottom on Alligator Reef over 40 years ago (I don't believe I was nearly as brave). Thank so much for sharing part of your vacation with Namaste Sailing and allowing us relive part of our youth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Eco-tour and snorkling with Namaste”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

What a great way to spend the afternoon! Jeff and Trish are amazing hosts. They certainly know their stuff and provide some of the best information about the waters surrounding Key West. I am sure that I can speak for our entire group when I say that their time and the service that the crew of the Namaste provided was worth every penny.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MatyW313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Owner at Namaste' Eco Excursions, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for the kind and thoughtful review. You folks were an absolute joy to be with! I am so happy that you mentioned that we were worth the cost because in all honesty we are. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Namaste' Eco Excursions also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Namaste' Eco Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing