We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Adventure!”

Key West Seaplane Adventures
Ranked #13 of 294 Outdoor Activities in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the only air-service, we are by far the most exciting and convenient way to reach the Dry Tortugas, one of North America's most inaccessible National Parks. The Park lies in the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico, 70 miles due west of Key West, FL. Low altitude sightseeing flight, great snorkeling, pristine beaches, tour Fort Jefferson & bird watching. Morning, Afternoon & full day tours.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This is a very expensive outing (especially for a family of four) so I want to be clear what it is and isn't. They talk about the great snorkeling, but I've seen better, and cheaper, elsewhere. They talk about the great fort, but for a couple of bucks you can go tour Fort Zachary Taylor which my teen aged kids thought was a bit more interesting. But what makes the trip 100% worth it is the sea plane ride. The scenery while airborne was great and landing and takeoff was unbelievably cool.

If it's in your budget I would highly recommend doing it once.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    34
    3
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terra Firma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“It's a "why wouldn't you" issue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went on the afternoon flight, 2 pm, today and had SUCH A GREAT time!!! Afternoon and mornings, IMO, are the best times as the ferry folks aren't there yet and you have the place not as crowded. The only tough thing was fitting everything in. There was hardly time for us to snorkel and tour the fort. Still, I wouldn't do it any other way. We had a blast...saw a 6' sand-shark by the pilings, cow fish, and a bunch of 7-8 pounds snappers. We had a great time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank cheezburgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Best Trip Ever!!! We took the early flight out and it was perfect! The view from the plane is awesome... shipwrecks, marine life, islands, and all of the gorgeous Blue Water!! The office staff was very helpful and our pilot was great! He kept us informed over the head phones of the things we were seeing, and the music in between was spot on! Taking the early flight, you get the park to yourself for about 2 hours before the ferry arrives. That was a very nice bonus!
Well worth the money and will definitely do again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zkh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“What a great view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We didn't have much time to Spend in Key West but wanted to make sure we made it to the Dry Tortugas. Taking a half day trip with Key West Seaplane Adventures allowed us to see the island without eating up too much time. The flight over and back was breathtaking. We saw sharks, sea turtles, ship wrecks and best of all the beautiful "quick sands". The view from the plane was amazing and our pictures look almost too pretty to be real. Our pilot was great, the music and commentary on the way over and back was fine, and we had a great time. It was also neat to say we've gone on a sea plane (who knew landing on water would be so smooth). I would absolutely recommend taking Key West Seaplane Adventures to see the Dry Tortugas.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 3stew_and_van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copper Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Checkmark on My Bucket List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

WOW! I have been going to the Keys for 35 years and have always wanted to go to the Dry Tortugas but never wanted to invest an entire day - 5+ hours on the ferry there and back. Key West Seaplane is the way to go - they fly low so you can see all the marine life, shipwrecks, etc. THEN to top it all off, they get you there 2 and a half hours before the ferry (if you are willing to get up to take the first flight of the day) - we had the whole park to ourselves (only about 30 people) for most of our stay. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The flight was smooth - only 10 of us on the plane. The snorkeling is stellar. Fort Jefferson is a marvel. AMAZING! SPECTACULAR! I would recommend this to anyone - it is well worth the extra price to take the seaplane.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NoBadDays-BandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Key West Seaplane Adventures also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Seaplane Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing