We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly wonderful”
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly wonderful”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Didn't know what to expect, but relied on the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and would agree with every one of them. Free breakfast, free parking, free WIFI. Great location very close to Duval street. Very accommodating staff. Nice pool area. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    582
    128
    23
    23
See reviews for
400
876
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Very clean and well appointed "motel like" property in the best location on Key West. They do not have a restaurant (as such) but there are plenty of eating places within walking distance - parking is free, a rare find on Key West.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Good decent hotel which has an ok location: you can walk to Hemmingway's house, the light house and the southernmost point. If you want to go to Mallory sq, you will have to drive.

The hotel is in the "upper motel category" but charges as a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We spent a week there last August - centrally located (just a 5' walk from Duval street), makes it very easy to walk out for dinner (no need to grab taxis..). If you rent a bicycle (at least two rentals 2 minutes away across the street), you're the king of the island :) and easily reach Fort Zachary beach (the best in KW) or any other nice location on the island. Breakfast at the hotel is fine, fresh compimentary lemonade available throughout the day (blessed when it's so hot!!), nice pool with plenty of room. We had a spaciuos room facing the pool - clean, quiet and with a nice balcony. Friendly and very helpful staff. I'd surely go back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAPUFFOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

-For our yearly family/friends reunion, we decided to go to Key West. As I was looking for rooms, KP was extremely accomodating and thorough and even kept following up with me when I was slacking. He gave us a great group rate for Labor Day weekend and was so helpful, I stopped looking for competetive pricing.
Once we arrived, we were very impressed. There was plenty of parking, the hotel was in great condition, and the pool was a good size, very clean, with a good amount of chairs. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early because the rooms were already cleaned
-The actual rooms were very roomy and very clean. Everything is new and A/C worked great. There was a refrigerator and microwave and a safe. The beds were super comfy and there were plenty of pillows. We always bring our own and ended up not even getting them out of the car.
- We were there to get a little crazy and had a great time by the pool. Nobody bothered us. There were other guests and everyone seemed to be enjoying the day.
- The location is close to Duval (4blocks), however it's more on the South side of the island. This means it's quite a hike to the side of the island with all the bars and sunset celebration. It's walkable....I did it 2 nights in a row....it's just a bit of a hike. But it is close to the Southernmost Point and that side of the island.
- The only thing I could comment on in a negative way is the roosters. Of course this has nothing to do with the hotel and is part of the Key West charm, but they were cock-a-doodling away in the early morning. The hotel actually does provide ear plugs I assume for this reason, I was just to drunk to bother putting them in.
- All in all it was a great experience. If you are in the market for a nice room at a reasonable price, I highly recommend it. I've stayed in quite a few places in Key West and would definitely stay here from now on......

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamichica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a very modern hotel, with very clean, updated, functional rooms. At a walking distance from all the fun, but quiet enough if you want to rest. Very convenient indoor parking and continental breakfast to get you going in the mornings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viatahermosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Eco friendly place that shuts off your air conditioning when you leave the room. So if you like to come back to a nice and hot room, this is your place. Service is fair at best. First and last stay....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommiet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tejnut, Public Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 22 December 2011
We are happy that you chose the Silver Palms Inn to stay for your visit to this wonderful and beautiful island. As a very proud and eco-friendly property, we are trying to do our part in reducing our environmental footprint. When you remove your key from the docking station the air conditioner does not shut-off but it returns to a setback temperature. When the key is inserted into the docking station the air conditioning can be controlled down to a very cool 60 degrees. We hope that you will give our Eco-Friendly Hotel another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,753 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West
Silver Palms Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing