We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel Excellent Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We were very pleased witheverything about our stay at the Silver Palms. It is within walking distance of many of the sights, the trolley and some great restaurants. The staff was great and let us park there before we were able to check in (we got to Key West in the lae morning). they offered us bottled water and gave us directions to places we wanted to go to. the rooms were very comfortable with a small private balcony (ours overlooked the pool). The bed was ver comfortable and the decore fresh and modern and energy effficient (have to leave the keycard in the slot to have the air conditioner run). Everything was very clean, continental breakfast was great and we could sit out by the pool to eat. Free parking too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Suzanne L,

Thank you for the review. We enjoy reading wonderful reviews left by our guest. It's wonderful that you enjoyed everything the Silver Palms Inn has to offer. Please be sure to keep us in mind the next time you return to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    555
    124
    22
    23
See reviews for
362
820
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakeman, OH
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute when we decided to take a couple of days out of our vacation and go and see key west. I was a bit nervous but was very happy when we got to the hotel and saw the room. There are many really good features about this hotel. There is plenty of free parking on the hotel grounds. Which was very nice since the area around the hotel is crowded with little parking. Pretty much everything is within walking distance of the hotel. Duval street was about a 5 min walk, 15-20 min walk to mallory square and 10 min walk to the southern most point. It was close enough but also far enough away from the noise, crowds and roosters (yes for some reason many hotels on Duval street have roosters that crow at 6 am) of Duval street. The hotel was energy efficient which I thought was very nice. The rooms are very modern and even the rooms are energy efficient with many energy saving things in place. The rooms have there own private balconies. Very nice pool and free continental breakfast as well. I would defiantly stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gus1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

These are the things I liked about this hotel: free parking, great location to walk to all the tourist sites, very clean, modern design in the rooms, friendly front desk staff (loaned us an umbrella, restaurant recommendations, let us park the car there for hours after our checkout, continental breakfast, pool and the balconies. Also, this was about the best price we could find within walking distance of Duvall Street when we booked. I called a few days after I made the reservation since I forgot to check if there was a AAA discount -- there was and they promptly emailed me a new confirmation with the AAA rate so I was impressed with their customer service. The only downside is the counter space in the bathroom is limited but this wasn't really a problem.

Room Tip: May want a balcony that faces the pool, but I actually enjoyed our balcony facing the side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had an awesome time staying at the Silver Palms Inn!

First and foremost, the staff is excellent! They are very attentive and beyond helpful. They made reservations for us, gave pinpoint directions and provided us with anything we needed at the drop of a hat. They are very polite and courteous and made you feel that no request was beyond their reach.

The room was comfy and clean. We slept Great! The bed and pillows are just as comfortable as the ones we use at home. The water pressure in the shower is awesome. We loved the "Green" aspect concerning the lights and air conditioning. Though, it did take some getting used to putting your key card in to operate them. Brilliant idea! Let's save the planet! :)

The pool and surrounding areas were very clean and there was adequate seating for all to catch some rays. The one slight negative was that the pool is on the small side and not very deep. (5ft.). Perfect for cooling off.

The breakfast was continental style. Fruit, bagels, croissants, muffins, danishes, and the like. Perfect way to start your day on your way out the door to explore the island. If you are expecting more than that you will be disappointed.

Finally, the Hotel is located a couple blocks from the noise of Duval street. All of the attractions are less than a 20 min walk away. If walking isn't your bag, the guys at the front desk will be happy to rent you a bicycle. We found the location of the Hotel perfect.

One final thing....The wild Roosters that inhabit the Island may wake you on occasion. It's part of the island's charm. This did not bother me. However, my girlfriend did use the earplugs the hotel provides. They've thought of everything! Enjoy your stay! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We only spent 1 night, but we found the Silver Palms to have excelent rooms, large sparkling and almost new. A nice pool and continental breakfast were lovely and the staff was first rate.
The best is the location, just a block or so off Duval, an easy 15 minute stroll to Mallory Square, lots of restaurants within minutes.
The hotel can get you any type of amenitiy you wish includiung bikes, mopeds or tour deals.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: all the rooms face the pool, and are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul154998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beausejour, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel went above and beyond any of our expectations. Our daughter and son-in-law decided to get married in Key West. We were referred to Silver Palms Inn by their wedding planners. GREAT CHOICE. The staff were so helpful. They answered all of our wedding guests questions. They also allowed us to use the pool area as our meeting place both before the wedding and even in the evenings when everyone got back from whatever they had planned for the day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is going to Key West. It's within walking distance to Duval and the bar scene. The rooms were great with comfy beds. The breakfast was better than some hotels in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vilnius
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I can add to others reviews that this hotel is new and clean. Breakfast included in price is an advantage until you try it: very low quality fruits, coffee and croissants, plastic cups - thats all, not so promissing, happy me I tryed this breakfast only once. I am from Europe so my comment can differ from U.S.citizents.
The worsiest things are that the towels and bed linen are 100 years old in grey collor. I was thinking that somebody was sleeping in my bed before, brrr...really difficult to understand how hotel can save on this very important things...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lescol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West
Silver Palms Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing