We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Inn”
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Happy Inn”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I made my reservation on-line and I sometimes worry when I do this. However, this was a great place. Staff was wonderful and friendly. They came to our room and helped sort things out and answered all questions. It was well worth the price. It is quiet, clean, and near everything we wanted to do. The rooms were wonderful - especially like the shower! The nice thing was when we were able to park the car four hours before check-in and walk down one block to catch the tour trolley! The pool was comfortable (chilly the day we tried) and just right.

Room Tip: Go for facing the street and not the back yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear paul h:

It's such a pleasure to hear that you felt your choice with your online reservation was a great one! We are all so happy that you had such a wonderful time staying with us. We, as a staff, enjoy being of any assistance that we can be. Customer service is always our first priority. We hope that the next time you visit Key West, you will plan on staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    573
    127
    22
    23
See reviews for
388
858
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Silver Palm's hotel and service was fantastic. We had 22 of us during our visit and they treated us all great. They made sure all our rooms were next to each other which added to our positive experience. The location was great, the service was great and the hotel was very clean and decorated beautifully. The beds were also very comfortable. They provided a complimentary breakfast in the morning that we all enjoyed. We are looking forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: No restaurant or kids activities other than a nice pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucille1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Lucille1346:

Thank you for taking the time to write such an awesome review about your stay. We truly enjoyed having your entire group stay with us to ring in the New Year together. It was our pleasure to take care of all of you. Everyone was so nice! We look forward to all of you coming back and visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I am using Tripadvisor alot so I thought I should write a little review myself. Me and my partner just spent 2 days at this location and we really enjoyed it.

The rooms are extremely clean and modern. The decor is very nicely done and we had the balcony view and it really worth it.

We didn't had to deal with the staff alot but the welcome was good. We were able to checkin at noon which surprised me.

The location is good. About 5-10 minutes walk from Duval street but about 20 minute walk from the sunset area. Pharmacy and convenience store close by. Love deserts? The best desert place call ''better then sex'' is just around the corner.

The breakfast included is pretty simple. If you want a real breakfast, this is not the place to eat. There is Dennys really close by.

The only thing that we did not like was that the pool was not heated. Actually, it was VERY cold. I understand that it's refreshing however, it was too cold for our liking.

Overall,we would recommend this place to everyone looking for a place to stay in Key West.

Enjoy !

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. You are able to see if there are chairs available because they are very limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Kevin L:

We're glad that TripAdvisor steered you in the right direction towards us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your 2 day stay. Please accept our apologies about the pool being chilly. Please understand that we have since looked into the issue as the pool is heated. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Thank you for the future recommendations. We hope that you come back to visit us as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
310 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Niced and QUIET! off the main drag and loved it! Room was big and comfortable. Nice pool small but clean. Staff was really nice & friendly, propertys in good shape. Local enough to Duval street a stroll to dinner and cocktails.

Room Tip: off the street side. Garden view was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear S W:

We're so happy that you were able to stroll around Key West from our convenient location! Thank you for choosing the Silver Palms Inn for your accommodations for your stay on the island. We loved your review just as much as you loved your stay! We hope that you come back and visit us again soon. We're sure you'll love your next stay just as much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were very nice and clean. Ask for a room not on the street. They provide ear plugs if you are. That was a first for me. Pool area was small but nice. Bike rental on site was a plus.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Kay B:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. The staff has been told of your kind words. They always appreciate guests noticing their helpfulness. The reason why we provide earplugs for our guests is we know that some guests may be light sleepers. It is our little touch of added comfort to show our guests that we are thinking about them. We hope the next time you visit Key West, you'll choose to stay with us again. Maybe you can try one of our nice, clean rooms overlooking the pool instead! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Closter, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I stayed during New Years Eve week and for the price we paid we were let down by the mediocrity of the hotel. We could have done worse with other hotels, but we could have done better too, you know what I mean? Fitness room is a closet, the pool is tiny, and a lot of real estate dedicated to parking. Oh well. It's not in the heart of where all the action is (Duvall St) but walkable to pretty much every corner of the island. A plus is that it's in walking distance of Sandy's Cafe (Key West restaurants, albeit very good, are also very expensive) which quickly became my favorite eatery since the hotel's continental breakfast was a joke and their complimentary coffee undrinkable. What really annoyed me is their ticky tacky $15+tax daily service fee they charged me upon check-in because I booked it through a 3rd party site even though I paid in full. WTF, who still does this?!?! Our room was very clean and the bathroom was fully appointed so that helps. However, next time I visit Key West, I'll look for a place that is either closer to the beach or has more local charm (B&B).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dupree93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear dupree93:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Many of our guests appreciate our plentiful parking as it is hard to come across in Key West. We apologize that it was not to your liking. Even though you will not be staying with us for your future visit, we hope that you return to our tropical island soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Price for stay around New Year's Eve was $546/night, so I had high expectations. But it was not as luxurious as it should have been for that price. Nonetheless the location near Duval St was excellent and the room was clean and comfortable. Wifi was slow, included breakfast was ordinary. Bikes on site are $12/day. Pool is nice but right by the parking lot.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Mark K:

We appreciate the nice review! We are happy that you chose the Silver Palms Inn for your New Year's celebration. Please know that our rates are competitive with other lodging establishments located in the Old Town area given that time of year. We hope that you come visit the island one day again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West
Silver Palms Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing