We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was not impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

When booking the room, I was not told that we would be "STREET SIDE" What a mistake. The noise all night long was not a pleasant sound. The rooms were such close quarters. If someone was in the bathroom and someone was at the vanity, you would need to walk away to get in and out of the bathroom. We felt as though we were big giants in a tiny area. When it was time for bed, the sheets had pullies all over them and they felt like sand paper. They did not appear to be crisp and clean, so therefore we did not sleep under the covers. The next afternoon I returned to my room at 3:00 pm only to find that it was still not cleaned....Really??? I found this hotel to be way too expensive for what we thought should have been given

Room Tip: What Restaurant???? Do not get a street side room. When Booking Get Two queen Beds... The room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satierf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Satierf007:

Thank you for your feedback. It truly disappoints us to hear that your stay in one of our new rooms was not to your satisfaction. Please understand that our prices are competitive with other lodging establishments in the Old Town area of Key West. We apologize for the issues that you had during your stay. We only wish you had notified us of them during your stay. We would have corrected them immediately had we known. While you were not impressed with our hotel, we hope that you enjoyed the island overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    555
    124
    22
    23
See reviews for
361
819
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

There is a charge you have to pay on check in which isn't made clear enough when booking and the pool is smaller than the photos suggest. But would this stop me from going back... certainly not! The pool area didn't get that busy so it was never a problem for us, the room was huge and very clean with modern decor. There is a little walk to the better bars and restaurants on Duval Street but nothing major.

Breakfast choice was good too, and although the breakfast are is small it was never too crowded. Really enjoyed the vibe of the place, had good parking facilities would recommend to anyone wanting to go to Key West.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMDubya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear JMDubya:

We appreciate the great review! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and giving your future recommendations to the TripAdvisor community. The convenient location of our hotel makes exploring everything Key West has to offer easy for our guests. We know that the UK isn't a hop, skip, and a jump away but we hope that you return to visit us again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I booked a room for a night over the phone the lady charged me 300 USD and the next day at the check in I was over charged 45 dollars and everyone made it look like I was wrong.... And no-one cared I will get my 45 dollars back one way or another

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xXxtonymontanaxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear xXxtonymontanaxXx:

We appreciate your candid response about your recent stay at our wonderful boutique hotel. We engage in proper business practices at our hotel and we are saddened to hear that you feel that way about our establishment. Please understand that upon making a reservation at our hotel, we fully state the rate of the room being reserved. We also inform the future guest that we charge the first night room and tax as a deposit. In this case, because the stay was for one night, the reservation was paid in full. Therefore, we did not make any additional charges upon check-in. We also provide a confirmation after a reservation has been made. On the confirmation it fully discloses all of the necessary information about the reservation including the price. We appreciate your patronage and apologize for any confusion there may have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

The rooms are very nice - comfortable beds, refrigerator for our snacks, clean, and loved the shower. It is a short walk to Duval and we rented bikes one day to ride out to the docks for a snorkeling trip. The cemetary is nearby (as a side note) and it was really interesting to bike thru it as it is nothing like ours in Michigan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Julie L:

It's great to hear that you made it back to Michigan safely! We are ecstatic that you appreciated our convenient location in Old Town. We hope you had fun cruising around town on the bikes. We truly believe that bikes are one of the best ways to get around the island. The next time you need to get away, please keep us in mind. We hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I made my reservation on-line and I sometimes worry when I do this. However, this was a great place. Staff was wonderful and friendly. They came to our room and helped sort things out and answered all questions. It was well worth the price. It is quiet, clean, and near everything we wanted to do. The rooms were wonderful - especially like the shower! The nice thing was when we were able to park the car four hours before check-in and walk down one block to catch the tour trolley! The pool was comfortable (chilly the day we tried) and just right.

Room Tip: Go for facing the street and not the back yard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear paul h:

It's such a pleasure to hear that you felt your choice with your online reservation was a great one! We are all so happy that you had such a wonderful time staying with us. We, as a staff, enjoy being of any assistance that we can be. Customer service is always our first priority. We hope that the next time you visit Key West, you will plan on staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Silver Palm's hotel and service was fantastic. We had 22 of us during our visit and they treated us all great. They made sure all our rooms were next to each other which added to our positive experience. The location was great, the service was great and the hotel was very clean and decorated beautifully. The beds were also very comfortable. They provided a complimentary breakfast in the morning that we all enjoyed. We are looking forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: No restaurant or kids activities other than a nice pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucille1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Lucille1346:

Thank you for taking the time to write such an awesome review about your stay. We truly enjoyed having your entire group stay with us to ring in the New Year together. It was our pleasure to take care of all of you. Everyone was so nice! We look forward to all of you coming back and visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I am using Tripadvisor alot so I thought I should write a little review myself. Me and my partner just spent 2 days at this location and we really enjoyed it.

The rooms are extremely clean and modern. The decor is very nicely done and we had the balcony view and it really worth it.

We didn't had to deal with the staff alot but the welcome was good. We were able to checkin at noon which surprised me.

The location is good. About 5-10 minutes walk from Duval street but about 20 minute walk from the sunset area. Pharmacy and convenience store close by. Love deserts? The best desert place call ''better then sex'' is just around the corner.

The breakfast included is pretty simple. If you want a real breakfast, this is not the place to eat. There is Dennys really close by.

The only thing that we did not like was that the pool was not heated. Actually, it was VERY cold. I understand that it's refreshing however, it was too cold for our liking.

Overall,we would recommend this place to everyone looking for a place to stay in Key West.

Enjoy !

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view. You are able to see if there are chairs available because they are very limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Kevin L:

We're glad that TripAdvisor steered you in the right direction towards us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your 2 day stay. Please accept our apologies about the pool being chilly. Please understand that we have since looked into the issue as the pool is heated. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Thank you for the future recommendations. We hope that you come back to visit us as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West
Silver Palms Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing