We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better the first time”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better the first time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had stayed at this hotel before and loved it. On our most recent visit, our air conditioner stopped working in the middle of the night. Our room became severely hot. When I brought this up to the employee (sorry I didn't get her name) her only offering was that we should have called maintenance, since they have staff 24 hours a day. With 3 people trying to sleep in the room, who would think at 4am to get up and wait for a maintenance call? Our room rate was almost double what it had been a few months before, and I thought maybe a small discount would be in order. I still like the hotel, I was not happy with how our situation was handled.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmontoya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear emmontoya1:

We appreciate your feedback about your return visit to our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that your second stay with us did not live up to the first one. This is something that we do not take lightly as our great first impression is what led you to stay with us again. We apologize for the inconvenience. While we understand that waiting for maintenance at 4am while people may be sleeping to come fix the issue may be aggravating, we still insist on offering the service to our guests. Had we had another room available, we would have gladly moved you. Unfortunately, we were sold out at the time. As for the rate, please understand that we were in peak season for your recent visit. The rates all over the island are high during this time of year compared to when you visited off season a few months back. Once again, we apologize that you felt that the situation was not handled to your liking. Therefore, I do ask that the next time you plan on visiting Key West, please contact the hotel directly. We'd like for you to give us another try to give us the chance to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    562
    126
    22
    23
See reviews for
371
832
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Where do I begin... First I guess if you go to Key West make sure that you go and have reservations some place. I HIGHLY recommend Silver Palms Inn!!! That was my mistake. This place was clean, staff was friendly, swimming pool area was nice and clean. The Stay was without a doubt a great place to stay.
I want to mention a young lady named Zuzana that was amazing! She was able to help us get the last room on the whole Island. That night when we arrived without reservation at any hotel we found out that all the hotels in key west were sold out! Not one place had a room available. When we walked into Silver palm they were also sold out. Our next option was to sleep in the car, that was one thing I was not looking forward to doing. When we went into the hotel to make the reservations for the next night, we asked if anything becomes available tonight to please call us. That is exactly what happened, apparently someone did not arrive that night and a room was available. I want to Thank Zuzana again and again how much I appreciate her helping us!! She truly gave wonderful customer service, knowledgeable and a great personality!! Keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Carlos0322:

It was Zuzana's pleasure to be able to accommodate you! No one should have to sleep in their car! Zuzana is truly an asset to our company and we are so happy to have her as part of our team. She has been told of your kind words and it put a big smile on her face. We appreciate your future recommendations. Please do not hesitate to contact us the next time you come to Key West. We'll be sure to have a room for you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I went with my family to the Keys and we stayed at the Silver Palms Inn and we loved it. The rooms were very spacious and clean and the bathrooms were a good size. Most importantly, the staff was wonderful. They went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Next time I go to the Keys, I will definitely stay at Silver Palms Inn, again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akhan0254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear akhan0254:

Thank you for choosing the Silver Palms Inn for your accommodations for your family vacation to Key West! We're glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms. It's great to hear how much you appreciated our staff's efforts to ensure you had a wonderful experience not only at our hotel but on the island as well. When you're ready to get away from Ohio for a few days, don't hesitate to give us a call. We hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at Silver Palms for a few days in March 2014 and had a great experience! The rooms were very clean and the location was excellent. The staff was very helpful. They went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. The next time I am in Key West I will definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sal1102:

Thank you for the great review about your stay in March! Your thoughtful words about the staff are much appreciated. It is their pleasure to make sure you always have a great stay. Please make sure to give us a call the next time you plan on coming down. We offer great rates for our returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

my wife and i took mini vacation to key west. this is the third time that we have gone down there.
weather was wonderful and we were happy to revisit the silver palm Inn . The staff was wonderful as usual, service was excellent, rooms spacious and clean. they have added fruits to the breakfast and removed some of the sugary sweets. parking is ample, the location is excellent.
we will definitely come back to silver Pam Inn on our next visit to Key West.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skbozai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear skbozai:

We're so happy you enjoyed your mini-vacation to Key West! We appreciate you coming back to stay with us again. We are delighted that you enjoyed the change in the breakfast. We had feedback from guests suggesting more fruit so we wanted to honor that request. Make sure you come back to visit us again...SOON!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
217 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have been to Key West 5 times and the group we were traveling with always stays at this hotel. We enjoyed the location and thought the rooms where a good size, with good size bathrooms and comfortable beds. This hotel has a green concept. Basically, you use your room key in the key slot next to the door to turn on the air conditioning and lights. Kudos to them for energy saving. I've noticed from reviews that people were disappointed by the pool size. If you're looking for a lap pool this isn't the place. But I find that the size of the pool is comparable to most outside pools in places I've ever stayed. It is close proximity to Duval Street. Two blocks away is a CVS, moped rentals and restaurants. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellygirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear kellygirl163:

Thank you for the kudos about us doing our part for the environment by helping save energy. We'd also like to say kudos to you for writing such a pleasant review! We truly appreciate your group's loyalty to us by staying at the Silver Palms Inn whenever you visit Key West. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have been to Key West many times and this was our first stay at the Silver Palms. The hotel is fresh and nicely decorated and the staff were friendly. The rooms are set up comfortably and the beds were super too. You are only two blocks from Duval St. and close to everything. Our room overlooked the pool which was clean and well maintained, with plenty of chairs for sunbathing. Some other reviews thought the pool was too small, but there were never more than five to six swimmers at one time and this was spring break. The room was clean except for one issue, see below. We would probably stay here again but it might not be our first choice. The reasons being:
Housekeeping issues. The beds have scarfs on the end to keep the spreads from getting dirty when putting your feet up on the bed. The first night when removing the scarf a significant amount of dirt was left on the bed. Since I didn't have my feet on the bed it had to be there when we checked in. Also, on the back of the scarf there appeared spots of what looked like blood. I had to report this to the front desk twice the next day before they removed the soiled scarf and brought a clean one.
Upon check in you are provided with the usual shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and two small soaps. We stayed for five days and never got new soap, which was pretty much gummy and stuck to the sink by day three. Makes you wonder how the maid was able to clean the sink.
Also, provided were two beach towels for pool use. After using them and hanging them in the shower to dry, the maid took them and never replaced them with clean ones. This meant going to the desk everyday to get one.
Finally, there was little noise from the street but the adjoining rooms were another matter. The walls are pretty thin and you can hear other guests conversations, This is not a problem most of the time as you can turn on the TV, however at 3:30a.m. when they come back from the bars where they drank too much and decide they need to fight and yell at each other it becomes an unpleasant experience. I do not blame this on the hotel but talked to another couple at the pool that had a similar experience and got no sleep the night before.
The Silver Palms was a nice hotel to stay at, however if it works on its housekeeping issues it could be close to an excellent hotel to stay at. And even with the issues I mentioned I would still recommend the Silver Palms.

Room Tip: Pick a superior room on the third floor for best view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear JannW3:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We sincerely apologize for any issues that you may have encountered with housekeeping during your stay. Please know that we have shared your comments with the housekeeping staff to prevent a similar future occurrence. With that being said, we appreciate your future recommendations. We also hope that the next time you are in Key West that you might give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West
Silver Palms Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing