We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything we expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Everything we expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We would recommend this hotel to friends and family. We were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. The staff was very pleasant and attentive. Our room was comfortable, clean and recently updated. The hotel is located several blocks from Duval and is even closer to several very good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Bill3077,

Thank you for your review and for recommending our hotel. Congratulations on your 35th wedding anniversary! We are glad that our hotel lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and great location. Please don't hesitate to give us a call on your next trip to Key West. We hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    562
    126
    22
    23
See reviews for
371
832
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Silver Palms Hotel last week. It is in a great location. We had a superior king corner room on the third floor. It was spacious and clean. We were able to walk to the Old Town Trolley stop nearby and take a tour of Key West before starting out on our own. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We walked everywhere and came back late at night and felt very safe. I can't comment on the breakfast because we walked to Blue Heaven for that. I would definitely recommend the Silver Palms Inn. It is a bit pricey, but if you want to stay in Old Town Key West, you are going to pay top dollar.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 4CLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear 4CLM,

Thank you for your great review! We are so glad that you stayed with us at the Silver Palms Inn and enjoyed our spacious rooms and perfect location. We love that our guests can take advantage of our superior location and enjoy beautiful Old Town Key West. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The staff was excellent and was very accommodating with my wedding group! We all had a great time and were very pleased with the hotel!
The only bad thing I will say is I wish they had a better breakfast selection for those that have Celiac's Disese or a gluten allergy.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karatiede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Karatiede,

Thank you for choosing the Silver Palms Inn for your accommodations in Key West! We are so glad that your wedding group enjoyed our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our breakfast. We take our guest feedback very seriously and we will do our best to incorporate your suggestions and make provisions to accommodate all our guest needs. We wish you all the best with everything and hope that you will come back and stay with us on your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Hotel is well located. Close to Duval, but far enough to be a quiet place. Wifi, was good, when it failed in 3rd floor, staff quickly came and added a router in the room. Breakfast is basic, but good enough. Rooms are large and very clean.

Room Tip: Stay in 3rd floor. Groun floor can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear SLsmurf

We really appreciate you taking the time to write us this review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Silver Palms Inn! Our location is great for our guests to be able to walk to all of the island's main attractions. We apologize for the issue you had with the wifi connection but we are so glad that our team was able to efficiently resolve that issue for you. Our staff is always here to help!
We hope that you will come stay with us again on your next trip to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

I would definitely recommend the Silver Palms Inn mostly because of it's location. It was our first time visiting Key West for a wedding and I was a little surprised that we weren't staying closer to the beach. However, we found out that the beach is not Key West's best attraction. My fiancé and I are younger couple and we spent most of our time on and around Duval st, which is only about 4 blocks away from the Silver Palms. If we visit Key West again, we might try to stay closer to Mallory Square, but I would expect the acommadtions to be even more expensive than the Silver Palms. Another positive is the free continental breakfast... exactly what you need after a night out on Duval st.

Only negatives... It was a pricier stay, but that's what you find in general for Key West accommodations. Also, you need to insert your room key into a wall outlet to activate electricity (including AC) in the room. I would recommend asking for a second or third room key if you'd like the room to be cool upon your return.

However overall, I would definitely recommend the Silver Palms Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Mike B:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding that brought you here to beautiful Key West! Our location is great for our guests to be able to walk to all of the island's main attractions. We appreciate your recommendations and we hope that one day you'll come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had stayed at this hotel before and loved it. On our most recent visit, our air conditioner stopped working in the middle of the night. Our room became severely hot. When I brought this up to the employee (sorry I didn't get her name) her only offering was that we should have called maintenance, since they have staff 24 hours a day. With 3 people trying to sleep in the room, who would think at 4am to get up and wait for a maintenance call? Our room rate was almost double what it had been a few months before, and I thought maybe a small discount would be in order. I still like the hotel, I was not happy with how our situation was handled.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmontoya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear emmontoya1:

We appreciate your feedback about your return visit to our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that your second stay with us did not live up to the first one. This is something that we do not take lightly as our great first impression is what led you to stay with us again. We apologize for the inconvenience. While we understand that waiting for maintenance at 4am while people may be sleeping to come fix the issue may be aggravating, we still insist on offering the service to our guests. Had we had another room available, we would have gladly moved you. Unfortunately, we were sold out at the time. As for the rate, please understand that we were in peak season for your recent visit. The rates all over the island are high during this time of year compared to when you visited off season a few months back. Once again, we apologize that you felt that the situation was not handled to your liking. Therefore, I do ask that the next time you plan on visiting Key West, please contact the hotel directly. We'd like for you to give us another try to give us the chance to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Where do I begin... First I guess if you go to Key West make sure that you go and have reservations some place. I HIGHLY recommend Silver Palms Inn!!! That was my mistake. This place was clean, staff was friendly, swimming pool area was nice and clean. The Stay was without a doubt a great place to stay.
I want to mention a young lady named Zuzana that was amazing! She was able to help us get the last room on the whole Island. That night when we arrived without reservation at any hotel we found out that all the hotels in key west were sold out! Not one place had a room available. When we walked into Silver palm they were also sold out. Our next option was to sleep in the car, that was one thing I was not looking forward to doing. When we went into the hotel to make the reservations for the next night, we asked if anything becomes available tonight to please call us. That is exactly what happened, apparently someone did not arrive that night and a room was available. I want to Thank Zuzana again and again how much I appreciate her helping us!! She truly gave wonderful customer service, knowledgeable and a great personality!! Keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos0322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, General Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Carlos0322:

It was Zuzana's pleasure to be able to accommodate you! No one should have to sleep in their car! Zuzana is truly an asset to our company and we are so happy to have her as part of our team. She has been told of your kind words and it put a big smile on her face. We appreciate your future recommendations. Please do not hesitate to contact us the next time you come to Key West. We'll be sure to have a room for you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Property: Silver Palms Inn
Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West
Silver Palms Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing