We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new and convienient to everything!”
Review of Silver Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Palms Inn
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed at the Silver Palms Inn and could not have been more pleased. Not only is the hotel brand new, but it is convenient in the fact that everything is within walking distance making it easy to explore famous Key West. The hotel is only a few blocks from the beach too. We truly enjoyed our stay and WILL be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jxs324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPalms1, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

Thank you so much taking the time to write a kind response about your stay with us at The Silver Palms Inn.

We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as your comments are vital for us to continue improving our service to our guests.

Again Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,771 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2011

got this hotel through the Key West Vistors Centre, the lady said this was a "beautiful hotel" and we were not disappointed, having only opened in Oct 2010 this hotel is something special with rooms reaching an exceptional standard, the public areas also reached the same level, this is one of the best hotels we've stayed in anywhere, it's location & free parking is ideal for walking to the bustling Duval St

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPalms1, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2011

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you during your visit to Key West.
We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us. As you may know, so few people take the time to let a business know when they are satisfied with the services they received. Your comments have been shared with the staff, as they pride themselves in the quality of
their work and love to hear from our guests.

Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We made 2 days reservation (one in a standar room and one in the suite )in this hotel we did the check out normaly, nothing to declare everything was ok for us and the hotel , like in every hotels all over the world .And when we did arrived in france we checked on our bank account and the hotel charged us 150 dollars extra because 2 robes were missing into our room(robes that we were not aware to had in the room...). The hotel never contacted us or send email to inform us that we are going to be charged for that, so i decided to contact them and the staff told us that after we left the room and did the check out those two articles were missing and the housekeeping did the check list and didnt find the 2 robes . Barth the manager told us on the phone that we are liars and robbers. We tried to defend ourself
explaining that we were even not aware that this articles were available in our room. And he answered to us "it s like this ,nothing can change" and hung up .They treated us like bad person. We went to police in france to complain and to bank to fill the Visa form for fraud.
we sent several mails one week ago to complain directly to the owner of this hotel , but we still have no answer .... Very very disappointing...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPalms1, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2011

Thank you for contacting us to explain the issues that occurred after your departure. We regret any inconvenience you have experienced, and we assure you that we are anxious to retain you as a satisfied customer.

We pride ourselves on trying to make sure each guest’s experience is above and beyond their expectation.

Again thank you for giving us an opportunity to resolve this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We traveled south to visit this new motel in Key West. We had high hopes, but as soon as we "checked in" ,we decided to review this place from top to bottom. The less- than-friendly desk clerk was not enthusiastic and seemed to "care less' whether we were there or not. He was more concerned with getting us to sign that we were responsible if we "broke" something and that we agreed to a daily "resort fee." When we asked why we would be charged a "resort fee", we were told it was for use of the pool. Well, our Michelin Travel Dctionary defines a "resort" as something more than this motel on stilts with a pool in the middle of the parking lot. The last time we checked, a "resort" has a beach, golf and tennis courses, spa, and many other amenities--not to mention beautiful views. The front view of this "resort" is the busy and noisy Truman Avenue and the back of this "resort" looks to be a prime spot for a trailer park. It a basic motel on stilts that has been made "Key Westy" with a tin roof and blue canvas window canapies. It was also "slim pickins" at breakfast. Toast, bagels, and some cereal about sums it up--and orange juice in some "mouth wash" size plastic cups. There was some fresh fruit---over ripe black bananas and a couple of apples. On the good side, the beds were comfortable and the linens were crisp and new. The soap and shampoo are packaged to look like "boutique" products when actually they are cheap knock-offs made in China. We give this place a "average" when compared to everything else in Key West, and a well "below average" to the seasoned traveler who knows the difference between a resort and a motel on stilts with a staff in Hawaiian shirts.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichelinReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPalms1, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Response:
It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. As a brand new property built from the ground up, we are as we advertise in every publication and website. The Silver Palms Inn is a brand new eco friendly hotel in Old Town Key West. Our beautifully appointed non-smoking guest rooms have a modern island décor, luxurious double pillow top mattresses, high thread count sheets, hypoallergenic pillows and duvets. We offer our guests complimentary covered and uncovered parking which is definitely hard to find in old town Key West, free Wi-Fi and wired internet service, free local and long distance calls and a typical continental breakfast which includes fresh pastries from a local bakery, fresh fruit, cereal, bagels, muffins, two different types of toast, two different types of juices and coffee. The guests are more than welcome to use either the 5 oz or 8 oz cups which are displayed and have as many refills as their heart desires.
In regards to your comment about the resort fee, at the time of booking your reservation over the internet you were notified of the resort fee. The only paperwork our guest sign at check-in is the registration card. There is a difference between a “resort” and a resort fee. A resort fee is a fee most hotels and “resorts” charge for various amenities.
We thank you for your honest review and we understand that we will not be able to meet every traveler’s expectations. However, we do offer so many wonderful services with an amazing staff on hand to assists all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed three nights in January. The room was very pretty with nice colors and furnishings. Bathroom had all the necessities. Walking distance to Duval Street. But this hotel is on Truman Avenue which we didn't know us a very busy street. Our room was on first floor at Truman and Margaret Streets. The laundry across the street was open for deliveries all night and very loud. I suggest earplugs and a dose of Nyquil to get through it. There wasn't much hot water throughout the visit. The front desk was awesome and breakfast very good. Overall it was a good value, nice location, nice rooms...
Go to the Flaming Buoy restaurant two blocks on Packer and Margaret. Lobster mac n cheese is amazing!!! I'd go back here but would request a room NOT on that busy corner.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milosmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed in Mid January and what a trip. All amenities are just as they look on the website. Service was excellent, owners were on site and great people. We made a few friends that were great people. We would definitely go again. Nice job.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilverPalms1, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Palms Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Outstanding! It is wonderful to hear that your stay with us was excellent. We are very grateful that you selected our property as your place of accommodations during your visit to Key West. Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience at the Silver Palms Inn with other travelers that may visit Key West. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Just returned 1/21...Everything was exactly as you see it in the pics, nice and clean. The bed was very comfortable and so were the pillows. The pool was very clean and never crowded. I will go back there anytime. And to the guy who complained about not being able to smoke....It is stated when you view the hotel it is non-smoking in all rooms and the only place you can smoke is at the pool. This is one of the reasons I went there! I had a room with a balcony and someone was smoking on thier balcony below me, It stunk! I called the desk and they promptly took care of the problem. There are those of us who would like to keep our lungs.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#9 of 51 in Key West
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,827 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,418 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Palms Inn

Address: 830 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £192 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Palms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Silver Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Palms Hotel Key West
Silver Palms Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing