We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE REAL DEAL!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Hook Fishing Charters

Captain Hook Fishing Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
US$750.00*
and up
Private Key West Sportfishing Charter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE REAL DEAL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Let me say something about Capt. Paul an his operation. The day before our trip we went by an checked out the boat to see what they had or had not caught. Reading the reports here we figured it would be decent n man it was even better. They had loads of fish being cleaned from Maui, wahoo an such. Nice size to like a 50 lb Maui! Next day we went an got there an was breezy, Capt Paul was straight up an told us look guys we will take you out but it is like 8 foot wave out there once we get into the open water. At the docks it didn't seem bad. It would of made for a sea sick trip for us. Now he could of just took us out an just took the money. BUT HE DID NOT. HE IS THE REAL DEAL FOLKS. When I come back he is the boat I'm booking. Don't even think of anyone else folks. Great fun guy an they get you on the fish from what I saw the previous day. He's the man.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    7
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Don't go anywhere else if you want to catch fish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute 3/4 day deep sea fishing charter. The owner Paul is a character, exactly what you expect from a sea living man. Captain Aaron.can chase down fish like you would not believe and the Mate Stanley has the best set of sea legs we have seen, we were on rough seas and Stanley never fell or sat down! We caught 9 fish ... 2 Wahoo and 7 dolphin fish (mahi mahi). Paul recommended Pepe to cook up some of the catch and it did not disappoint. The breakfast/lunch option is nice so you don't have to pack your own, and if you are a beer drinker, the ice chest is full and at your disposal! A wonderful day for two seasoned fishermen and one newbie fisher girl. We will definitely be back! Love Captain Hook Charter!

Helpful?
2 Thank CbusCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best deal ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

It's hard to impress four teenagers - but a half-day snorkel trip to the reef did the trick! Everyone loved it! And for $25pp - Fantastic value!!
Check the conditions before you go - if at all prone to sea sickness, go on a day when the waves are as low as possible. Beautiful!!

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made the best of rough seas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Two adults, one 10 1/2 year old fishing junkie. And an 8 year old diva on Dramamine. We caught two sail fish, a mahi, three bonitas. Hooked an additional three sail fish, at least two blackfin tuna, and saw countless others. Mate Stan was entertaining, Captain Aaron was focused on putting us on fish (which is what you want your captain to do) . Fish boy was thrilled, dad was thrilled. Seasick diva was happy to see the dock, and mom got all the pictures she wanted. Highly recommended.

Notes: Captain Paul books the trips and is full of personality. He does not go out on the charters anymore. Also, if you have a kid with a tendency to motion sickness, check the sea conditions before launching. Conditions were really rough and our daughter did not have fun.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jteammom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

My family just returned home from a week in Key West. One of our favorite things was going fishing on the captain hook. Captain Paul was so nice he set us up with everything from drinks to food. Thanks to Mrs. Hook for the wonderful lunch boxes. Our day started out by getting live bait so we can catch the big fish. Once we started fishing it wasn't long before our first bite. Mate stan got so excited running from one rod to the next yelling "FISH ON". Captain Aaron was getting excited too "it's a wahoo". We finally reeled it in and it was a 20 pound wahoo. As the day went on we caught a couple more fish and did some deep dropping for cobia and snappers. All in all we had a fantastic day. I would definitely recommend captain hook charters to anyone who wants to have a great time fishing in Key West.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank holly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Hook Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Captain Hook Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing