We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy hot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peppers of Key West

Peppers of Key West
Ranked #1 of 111 Shopping in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spicy hot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

If you love hot sauce and don't mind paying for it this place is a must stop. If you are lucky enough to get the girlfrom NJ she will treat you great and knows her sauces.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Levi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    33
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had just driven two hours (and I get motion sickness) and checked in our room, then we had some drinks at the Wharf. I may have had too much and decided we needed to take a walk. We happened on this place at JUST the moment when I really needed to sit down.

I bought some water from the pop machine and the woman behind the bar was more than happy to let us sit and encouraged us to try some flavors of hot sauce and BBQ sauces while we relaxed. Whe was SO friendly and knowledgeable about their products! (I don't remember her name but she had long Jamaican-style braids in her hair.) We bought three kinds of hot sauce and I would have bought more if we didn't have to fly with it all in our luggage home.

The sauces are awesome and the staff will gladly help you find YOUR flavor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Sauce source”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Ironically we are not hot sauce aficionados but this is a nice store with very good selections that can satisfy even those who need far less heat, like us. Tasting bar provides many sampling opportunities. We found a great dipping sauce for chips, mild with balanced zip, from Rothschild Farms.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarineClaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
330 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Tongue tingling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband put hot sauce on top of hot sauce - always trying to find something that will actually start his tongue on fire. So we went to Peppers. We went to the location on Truman. The tasting bar was his dream come true. I, on the other hand, bought a Key Lime pie next door (yum!) and enjoyed that while he was trying to make his eyes water. The person helping out (barkeep? saucy lady?) was very helpful explaining the different sauces, recommending some when my husband asked, and wasn't stingy serving different sauces. We weren't the only people there, but she helped everyone with ease. Needless to say, my husband bought several bottles which had to be shipped since they were all over 3 oz. We were told if any bottles were broken, just call and they'd send replacements. The bottles arrived a few days after we got home and nothing was broken. My husband was happy and I'm happy too since I know where I can shop online for future gifts for him--ones that will actually make him cry when he opens them!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham NH
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This business is great they have so many hot sauces to try it is very hard to pick just one If you want to feel the heat then this is the place to try. Plus they are nice to are 4 legged friends.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank adapad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peppers of Key West also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Peppers of Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing