We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for fans of military history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum

U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum
Ranked #11 of 163 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 327 Foot museum ship from WWII and Viet Nam. It is a National Historic Landmark. INGHAM served our country from 1936 to 1988 and in 1985 was the most decorated ship in United States Service as noted in a letter from President Ronald Reagan in the exhibit room. Open: Tuesday thru Saturday 10am to 4pm.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for fans of military history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

This boat served during WWII and the Vietnam War, and it is set up as it was then, so that visitors can get a feel for what it would have been like to serve at sea. There is a self-guided tour with lots of information along the way. My husband absolutely loved this tour, it was his favorite thing in Key West. I was just along for the ride but I found it interesting as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank physicsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    184
    30
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Coast Guard Cutter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Touring the Coast Guard Cutter was very interesting. We did not even know it was there but, it was worth the time. The staff was very firendly too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kenmartro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, PA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Floating Museum Worth Visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We could go pretty much all over the ship and got a very good idea about how life was for those who sailed and served!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BikeLike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ship tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I am retired Navy so always like to visit a museum ship when I can. The tour had automated narration at certain points to help identify what you were looking at and it was easy to check everything out at your own pace. Very enjoyable!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dee0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“More than meets the eye”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Overall we spent a few hours doing the self guided tour. The story board area was the best, there was much more to this ship than met the eye as a coast guard ship. Which is to say i wasn't expecting how much action she had seen away from our coasts. Convoy duty in the Atlantic during ww2 fending off u-boat attacks. The sinking of a u-boat. Active duty as a command ship in the pacific during the various invasions of the Philippines. Further service during Vietnam. I also liked seeing the various stations around the ship. I would have liked to see the bridge from the inside, but it wasn't open. Lastly, she's an escort class vessel, so not a big ship, interesting for what she is but not an Intrepid or a Massachusetts.

Helpful?
Thank FelixF119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing