We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Informative; Nicely Presented”

U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum
Ranked #11 of 168 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 327 Foot museum ship from WWII and Viet Nam. It is a National Historic Landmark. INGHAM served our country from 1936 to 1988 and in 1985 was the most decorated ship in United States Service as noted in a letter from President Ronald Reagan in the exhibit room. Open: Tuesday thru Saturday 10am to 4pm.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Informative; Nicely Presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Impressive museum; definitely worth seeing as it is
well done in its presentation. Nice way to learn a
little about the Coast Guard, their work and the
importance in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walsh13k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    186
    30
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newark, delaware
Level Contributor
245 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A nice piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We toured this ship during a cruise stop in Key West. The docents were very helpful and provide a laminated card to help you do your self-guided tour. The Ingham is small and a good ship to visit to get a quick look at how the sailors lived on board. We have visited battleships like the New Jersey, which are large and almost overwhelming to someone who is not a history nut. Despite the small size, my husband (who is a history nut) really enjoyed the Ingham; there were enough artificats and displays for him but you don't have to read them all if you don't want that level of detail.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank newarkdelawaregin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We just happened upon the cutter after visiting the beach at Ft. Taylor, and it was so much fun. It really gives a close up look at life on a ship, and tells of some of the best things the ship accomplished. The docents working there actually served in the Coast Guard and were knowledgeable, but not on top of us. You're allowed to just roam the boat, and it's so fun. Check it out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for fans of military history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

This boat served during WWII and the Vietnam War, and it is set up as it was then, so that visitors can get a feel for what it would have been like to serve at sea. There is a self-guided tour with lots of information along the way. My husband absolutely loved this tour, it was his favorite thing in Key West. I was just along for the ride but I found it interesting as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank physicsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Coast Guard Cutter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Touring the Coast Guard Cutter was very interesting. We did not even know it was there but, it was worth the time. The staff was very firendly too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kenmartro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Ingham Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing