We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artist House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Artist House
Ranked #13 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Artist House from 04 April to 07 April 2014. Direct booking over the internet was very easy, replies to any query were answered promptly. Our overall experience was excellent in every way - what more can one say. Excellent position, excellent accommodation, extremely helpful staff, good breakfasts.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian-Pat-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Our web-site is very user-friendly, even from all the way down-under. Thank you for your outstanding review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    139
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
99
616
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Artist House May1-5 th 2014. Rooms are exactly as they appeared online. Pool area was fabulous. I would not change a thing. The staff go out of their way to get you whatever you need. Breakfast and happy hour exceeded my expectations. Going back in July and can't wait!

Room Tip: It was too hot to use the porch - the smaller room upstairs would be a good choice if you want to sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandycarly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Artist House and, even better, for booking a return visit! As you may recall we are in the process of renovating the garden area. We can't wait to show you the 'finished product' in July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marken, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Everything in this B&B was excellent. The frontdesk (reception), our cosy room, etc. The breakfast was unique. Also the whole property was very clean. If we will ever return to Key West we will certainly stay in the Artist House again. It feels like coming home!!

Room Tip: We have only seen our own room, but I suppose that all rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Artist House. All of our rooms are unique in décor but have in common wonderfully comfortable pillow top beds, some even have the original fireplaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I can't say enough great things about our recent stay at the Artist House! The house was perfect and the hospitality was top notch! The breakfast and happy hour is such a nice touch! 
A special thank you to Laura for all the great tips on where to eat and places to check out. Especially the call ahead to Blue Heaven our last morning for breakfast. Without her help, we probably would not have made it there to eat, yet again!
We will be back at our next visit to Key West! Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
You are very welcome! If it's Lobster Eggs Benedict at Blue Heaven that you want - we're going to make that happen! Yum! We appreciate you taking the time to review Artist House and we are all looking forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We found The Artist House on line and it appeared to tick the boxes for us - we wanted somewhere with personality and comfort but not a big chain. On arrival we were not disappointed. Very warm and welcoming, lovely touches such as 'happy hour' with complimentary drinks, atmospherically decorated room, delicious, generous breakfast in beautiful characterful surroundings. A perfect location for exploring Key West. If individualised service matters to you The Artist house will delight.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rhossiligg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We appreciate your thoughtful review. We enjoy assisting our guests in finding appropriate activities, dining, tours, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited Key West for our one year wedding anniversary. The Artist House is such a cute B&B inside and out. The service is exceptional. Laura was very pleasant during each of our encounters with her. She was helpful in advising us in any questions we may have had. The breakfast was delicious and the happy hour was convenient and a definite plus. Our room was adequate in size, very clean and the beds made for a wonderful night's sleep. Though the property was sold out during our stay, we rarely saw or even heard other guests, it is very quiet throughout. We were provided two beach towels which I thought was a definite added bonus. The location could not be closer to all the hot spots and tourist attractions. The hotel offers bike rentals, but being so close we declined and were able to walk everywhere with ease. We arrived early before check-in but were still able to put our things away in the room and were allowed to leave our luggage once we checked out to venture out on our last day and return to pick it up once we were ready to depart. A cab was even called for us to head back to the airport. My recommendation to stay at The Artist House ranks very high. I cannot recall one negative thought I had for our entire stay.

Room Tip: The Tullett room has an extra bed if you are traveling with additonal guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit to Key West and Artist House. It was our pleasure to make you feel comfortable and at-home during your wedding anniversary celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

You can't beat Artist House's rates for its location. It's just one block from Duval Street, yet is quiet and peaceful. The staff here is extremely friendly and go out of their way to make their guests comfortable. We came down on the Key West Express and they kindly let us store our bags until check-in. On the day we left, we could again leave our bags until it was time to get back on the Key West Express.

We stayed in the Sun Room which was perfect for the 2 of us and a 1 night stay. If we were staying more than a couple nights, we probably would have preferred one of the other rooms as the bathroom is very small, just as described on their website. If you are staying in the Sun Room, the stairs going up to it are steep, just as described as well. If you have any mobility problems whatsoever, book another room. We were fine, although I wasn't too keen on the stairs since I"m afraid of heights.

I have to admit, I was a little apprehensive at staying somewhere with a famous ghost story (Robert the Doll), but can happily report that there was nothing creepy about the house during our stay.

We did not partake in the included breakfast or happy hour, but we walked by both and they looked yummy. We felt this was a nice touch and would have participated if we had more time.

We would happily go back the next time we'll be in Key West. We are thinking of bringing our 2 well-behaved kids (both over the age of 9) next time, as the Artist House is one of the few B&Bs that take children over the age of 5.

Excellent stay. Fantastic location. We walked everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nessz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artist_House_KW, Manager at Artist House, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. For those who would like to be 'spooked' Robert the Doll is now in residence at East Martello Museum and you can visit him there. We're just glad he's not making mischief here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House

Property: Artist House
Address: 534 Eaton St, Key West, FL 33040-6881
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artist House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Artist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist House Hotel Key West
Artist House Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing