We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we are doing the best we can”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Ranked #51 of 51 Hotels in Key West
long island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“we are doing the best we can”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

That should be the sign at check in. We stayed there 2 nights and were mildly happy with our choice. All the employees were nice, there are some things that have to be fixed like wallpaper, slow sink drains, broken light bulbs. On the plus side the price was fair , location ok , water view of harbor with chairs was nice ,and free breakfast, free parking .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank americanLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    244
    172
    104
    127
See reviews for
97
406
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Right after we booked a room in the Banana Bay resort, we noted the "adult theme." Not to worry, though; there was no evidence of topless or bottomless display. We arrived well before check in time but were able to park our car on the property before checking in. This allowed us to walk the 3-km to the Duval-Greene intersection, the sort of centre of activity in Key West without having to worry about parking. Similarly, we were allowed to leave the car after checking out. The staff was very friendly. Our room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the view of the inner courtyard from the balcony pleasant. The room was well equipped. I could not ask for anything more. Two potential downsides: wifi is limited to the garden room and breakfast is OK if you like bagels. It was a bit on the noisy side on account of loud "young adults" that hogged the hot tub but we didn't come all the way to Key West to sit in a hot tub. The "beach" is not what I would call a beach; it's more like a rocky shore. The Key West trolley stops a block further East in front of the Fairfield Inn and Suites and is one way to get from the resort to downtown Key West but the trolley only runs in one direction so, if you want to get from the resort to downtown, you have to take the trolley along the south side of the Key. The way back is, of course, much shorter.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandererMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Despite negative reviews, a group of us tried it and LOVED IT. Rooms large, clean, refrig, microwave, canopied beds and balcony. Nice pool. Loved relaxing in comfortable loungers by waterfront - quiet and peaceful. Staff couldn't have been nicer. 5 couples arrived before rooms ready and they were wonderful about getting us settled before 3:00 to accommodate plans. 1.8 miles from town - great cab service.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the 200 section and it was quiet and we were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The resort need some TLC. When we wlked in the room the bed caughts your eye-netted canopy, but then you look around. Everything is broken or rotting. It is a kitchenette but the cupboards had nothing in them and were rotting. Many lightbulbs were burnt out but they never came to change them. This is an adult only resort however the pool and hottub had many teenagers in it. When we asked about it they said that local kids often come there even though they are suppose to. Would not stay there again. We paid over $200/night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighlandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Miramar, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel, the photos on line looked great, we were given a room "garden view" which looked out onto the main road and the messy overgrown trees and gardens, the whole place is in desperate need of a face lift. We walked through the resort and the whole place was run down, I believe that maybe 10 years ago the place may have looked like the postcard's in reception. The room had a musty smell, glad that it was just one night, got bed bug bites to take home with me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Don't believe every negative thing you read. We were very hesitant about staying after reading the negative comments but decided to stay anyway. The staff was extremely helpful and the room was great. It's what I called romantic with the canopy bed and wicker furniture. There were NO bed bugs or mold, just a slight musty smell but you are right on the water. Linens were crisp and white, room was clean, breakfast was good and the pool and hot tub area were lovely. Pool was warm. Beach was cute with many sitting areas although you can't swim there. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pat g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I recently stayed at the banana bay resort with my fiancé to celebrate our engagement and my getting a new job. I was trying to find a reasonably priced place to stay as I was booking this sort of last minute and most places in town were either booked or out of my price range. The resort looks like and appears to have been a decent place years ago and the ownership has neglected the place as it is pretty run down. The place was clean on the outside but on the inside the rooms had old carpeting and the bed seemed old as well. The room we stayed in, room 112 had a slight roach problem. This was a problem. I asked for a different room and was told they were booked as it was st patricks day weekend and spring break. Asides from the roach problem the continental breakfast was served in the tv room and that room was not very clean either. Luckily I packed my own bug spray and repellent. This place would be great if the ownership put the money into it and give it a makeover.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winwin008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Property: Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Address: 2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-3835
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing