We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Ranked #51 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awful customer service”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

First day we arrived they had this girl at front desk with blonde short hair with awful customer service and no smile, I asked her if there were any places to eat close to the hotel and her only answer was "no" thats it! we walked around and found several places to eat she was just an awful person. We had to wait for 3 hours for our room to be ready because we arrived a lil early which is understandable. We found the room to be dirty the furniture was eaten by rats and the room smelled like smoke back door did not open although we paid for a patio room you couldn't use the patio door ??! . The first night i was not able to sleep i heard rats eating furniture and when we woke up we found rat poop on the toilet seat!!!! i was horrified they eventually sent a person to check on it he said it was "lizard poop" really?? they eventually gave us a much better room with nicer furniture and no smoke smell so it is about how lucky you are of getting a nice room and we paid for a suite so first room looked like a motel room first night was awful and second night was really nice. If it would of not been for the blonde awful front desk person i would of given 3 stars they need to get rid of her. The only nice thing i have to say about this hotel is that they allow dogs and they have a nice "beach" view and a pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MStauffer0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    244
    172
    104
    127
See reviews for
97
406
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I had ooked this through hotwire and was a little disappointed with the state of the room. The room was smelling and the bed was very old. It was rattling and producing wierd noice all over..There was no water in the taps. May be i got one of those spare rooms or something. but the room was not good at all. had a balcony and a decent sofa and TV. the breakfast was nice and the pool and spa was good.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget and you are driving, you should find a place in the new town or the Keys furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varun2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The resort was better than we expected for a pet friendly property. The rooms were large and clean. The oversize king bed was very comfortable but the pillows are hard. Our balcony overlooked the pool and the water and our golden retriever was able to swim in the ocean steps from our room.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishmyst49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We went here before Halloween. That's the cheapest place we can find at that time. The room smell like a zoo. But I am in a very tight budget. So I do not regret. Beautiful breakfast place by the ocean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lediama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days during Fantasy Fest & the Banana Bay is a good value for the price in Key West.
Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby, grounds are kept clean & did enjoy the Spa coming back late 1 night from Duval Street which is 1.8 miles distant but a very easy ride on the little 50cc Scooter we rented

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J French R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel looks old from outside.The room smelled due to old furniture. also the bathroom was old.The real beauty was the bay front. We did not see this as it was raining when we checked in..but next day morning, it was clear and looked very beautiful..Breakfast is served in the hotel..they do not have too much options but you cant complain either..hotel is far from Duvval street and you will need a car to get there..its quite expensive like anything else in Keywest..

Room Tip: choose a bay facing room on the second floor..above the place where breakfast is served.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashwinakamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We've stayed all over and have read all kinds of reviews about some of the places we've stayed, but I'm glad I didn't book our trip based upon all the negative comments people have posted about this place.

Being from New England, let me inform people that ocean air ruins everything from metal to wood, to painted surfaces. Have you ever been on a cruise and not seen the crew always painting something?

We were greeted with a smile when we checked in well before our check-in time, and given a room with a view of both the pool and the bay. Our room and bathroom were clean, the A/C worked well and the bed was comfortable. What more could you ask for?

The front desk was helpful, and called a cab for us when we asked. They let us store our luggage after checking out so we could use the pool before catching our late flight. The pool and hot tub were cleaned each morning.

Each morning we started our day with our juice, bagels, waffles fresh off the iron, coffee and danish. They were great at restocking items as needed.

Was it the Ritz? No. But it was what I would expect at a seaside hotel/motel, a clean and comfortable hotel with

Room Tip: Room 117 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimlinfusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Property: Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Address: 2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-3835
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing