We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in 1970”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Ranked #51 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Property was on a nice piece of land. Great view out to the gulf side, nice view from our room over the marina. The bad part was this was a nice hotel in 1970 probably, but nothing has been done since. Tennis court still has debris on it from Wilma in 1992. The building on the point of land would be lovely for an evening drink or celebration has been boarded up since Wilma in 1992. There is no restaurant, closed for the past 3 years.

New owners are starting to tag trees when we were there, but this place needs work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OtisRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

while the resort has beautiful landscapes, decent sized pool, and frisky kitties wandering the grounds, i regret to tell you those are the nicest aspects of this place.

the bathroom shower head spritzes water out at a trickling force, while you have a conveniently placed plunger in case you back up the toilet.

our room looked as if it hadn't been dusted in 6 months, and the wallpaper was so disgusted by the musty aroma in our room, it was peeling off the walls and crumbling.....


waaaaaay overpriced too. housekeeper got nasty and tried rushing us out. not worth staying at unless you enjoy dozens of free roaming cats in the parking lot.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Grapepot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

To begin with a positive--the front desk staff was first class and so were the others working at Banana Bay. Very nice people and very hard working. Other than that, this place was really run down. Our room had so many little things wrong with it that shouldn't have been--paint chips everywhere, grimy, old furniture and linens, and weirdest of all--the toilet seat didn't fit the toilet. What the? I've had better breakfasts at the Super 8 and I've never paid $250 for a night at the Super 8. The pool is nice but it's freezing and unheated, but at least there's a hot tub. The place has potential and could be great. I hope they read some of these and do some updating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My husband and I always dreamed of visiting Key West in the wintertime for some tropical R&R - a break from cold winter weather. I came prepared since I had read the reviews that this resort is a bit older. We booked late and were told the only room they had left was one of their older rooms, we took a chance and made our reservation. The office staff was fabulous - especially James. Our room had a bit of an "closed up" odor - however, no worries since the room was a bargain we invested in Lysol spray, a room freshener and left the bathroom exhaust fan running to circulate the air, which took care of the musty smell. The bed was a bit hard, but after partying all day and night in Key West we rested very well. Again, with the room being a bargain I was prepared to visit KMart and invest in a $30 foam topper/egg crate - but we did not need to. The pool area and beach area is awesome at this resort, very well manicured and clean. The hot tub is also very nice - good temperature and clean. The resort has a marina, the water is clear enough to see fish and manatee. The location is good, easy to get to Duval Street - paid parking is pretty cheap. I would recommend this hotel to those looking for a bargain, a great pool and great beach area (hard to find in Key West). I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are probably better - book early if you travel during peak season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Booked 2 nights here as part of our trip around Florida for our honeymoon. So disappointed with this room. It was totally dated, way out of the main town and felt very run down. The hotel was full so we decided not to bother complaining (perhaps we should have) but the TV and safe didn't work, and the room smelt fusty and damp. It looked like it had not been updated since the 70s. The water is right next to the hotel - there was an old broken deck chair in there and rubbish. Breakfast was self service served in plastic bowels with plastic knife and forks. On the positive - the room was spotlessly clean.

I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The room is big and spacious with waterview and pool view. The hotel did have a pool, and free breakfast--we didnt partake in either. The tiki bar was not open when we were there.
The roosters did wake us up ! Housekeeping apparently has until 5 pm to clean your room. So after a day out we came back to find our room still not made up! We were showering when they returned..we told them now they would have to wait.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Key West. Friendly staff at front desk. Located on main road, but rooms are spread over the domain which stretches out to the beach. We had a room located close to the pool. The room was exceptionally large, had a seperate livingroom with kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Bed was small and hard though. There was no airco in the bedroom, just a ceiling fan so on hot nights that was a downside. There was airco in the living room but noisy so hard to keep it on at night. The hotel wasn't busy during our stay, else we would've had worse experiences during breakfast. There are only a few tables outside, if they're full you'd have to eat inside the breakfast area, which is dark and not so pleasant to sit. Breakfast is really basic - wafles from a tapmachine, some dry bagels, cereal, eg. which is ok, but i expected more! We paid around 180$ for a night and this is way more than this hotel is worth, even considering it's on the keys. The location isn't great, if you want to visit key west itself, you'll have to drive for about 15 min. This isn't that bad, but finding (affordable) parking is another thing. Same for diner, had to drive to the nearest restaurant which didn't have parking either, so ended up parking on a tow-away zone in front of a 7/11. Fortunately didn't get towed. The hotel is overal OK, but i'd recommend setting a pricewatch on it a few months before your visit, so that you can book at a low rate, 'cause else you won't get your money's worth!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sterrenvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#43 of 51 in Key West
1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
935 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Address: 2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-3835
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £139 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing