We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Ranked #50 of 51 Hotels in Key West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The location and view of this hotel is nice however it is NOT a resort! The carpeting is disgusting! I was afraid to walk barefoot on it! The room smelled moldy. The furniture is from the sixties! They have old fashioned room keys. I returned the key twice and the replacements didn't work either. Walls need to be painted! We paid $175 a night. Total disappointment! The property is bank owned. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    242
    172
    104
    121
See reviews for
97
400
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This property is located on an inlet. The staff was nice and helpful. The room was fine and included a canopy bed and a balcony. The breakfast buffet was good with assorted pastries, bagels, cereals and waffles. Bananas would have been great but apples were offered too.

For the price you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Banana Bay resort was a good place to stay in Key West. The room was spacious and clean with a 4 poster canopy bed. The pool area was lovely with lots of loungers and while we didn't go in the pool it looked inviting. The continental breakfast was fine with a variety of bagels, cereal, make yourself waffles, some fruit, and coffee and juice. The front desk staff was informative and friendly, especially James! It's too far for these seniors to walk to the interesting historic section so you might need a car for transport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank likestravelling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Our stay in March was fantastic. We had a group of 8 that stayed and the hotel was exactly as described on the site. We were checked in by the nicest person named James ( who should do stand up comedy) and he told us all about the area and suggested places to see. The pool area was nice and a wonderful view of the water off the back deck area. The view on the deck eating breakfast was priceless! Thank you James for making our stay a memorable one. From the Prater's

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bessie4516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel was perfect for the price. I was nervous as I saw it from the street and some of the reviews, but you pull in around the back and its very pretty with bay views. Pool is very nice and cleaned everyday that I was there. Loung chairs overlooking the water very nice. Continental breakfast is very good: coffee, juices, bagels, pastry, muffins, make your own waffle, cereal oranges, applies. Our room was nice, #108 2 queen beds...Could use new carpeting for sure, but beds firm and great water pressure. mini fridge and little patio with table and chairs. I would stay here again if I didn't care to be super close to dowtown. It's about a 15 minute (but pretty drive). Closer to downtown means more $$$ The bus to trolly stops across the street to take you downtown to catch the tour, then you will have to take the bus back to the hotel...but pretty easy to do. Office personel super nice and helpful too.

Room Tip: room 108 = 2 queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSkidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 weeks on business @ this hotel and it was ok as far as facilities but fairly close to town which was a plus. It sits on a great strip of land were u can walk to the back of the grounds and see the water but its not a beach so no bathing but u can lounge around on plenty of chairs available and a nice gazebo. It has a BBQ, nice size pool and a few machines for exercising. The rooms have a balcony but not the cleanest i have stayed in with the basic microwave and fridge although some have a "kitchen" sink that is useful if staying for a while. They offer a continental breakfast that opens to late for those of us who have to make an early start but not bad when you can take advantage. Pets are allowed and this is an "adult only Hotel" not for the those who will easily blush when pool side. There is only one washer and dryer so you may have to wait a while to use it. But the best part of my stay was seeing 3 Manatees in the wild on the side of the hotel where there is a dock where you can charter a boat to have a dolphin encounter! Not bad if you are prepared for what you are getting.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
308 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Banana Bay was a nice stay @ Key West. On the water with beach and palm trees. Nice size pool and deck overlooking the bay. Rooms where nice but the bamboo bed was a little squeaky. Breakfast was include and right tasty.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ran120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#40 of 51 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.6 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#34 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort - Key West

Property: Banana Bay Resort - Key West
Address: 2319 North Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-3835
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banana Bay Resort - Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-Story Hotel situated directly on the Gulf of Mexico in a tropical garden setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banana Bay Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Hotel Key West
Banana Bay Key West
Banana Bay Resort - Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing