We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel--worth every dollar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Key West
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at the Inn at Key West on a recent trip to Key West. The hotel was quite impressive from its West Indies/Bahamian decor to the incredible pool area, complete with palm trees and water cascading over rocks. The pool even had a bar and the chairs were nestled amongst the trees on sand. The hotel had a quaint outside garden restaurant. We only had breakfast there, but there were quite a few offerings from individual selections to continental and full breakfast buffets. The room was very clean, beautifully decorated and the bed enveloped you in comfort. One of the best nights of sleep. Only downside, was that the hotel was away from downtown Key West and did not offer a shuttle. Cab rides cost about $3-$4 per person to get to the action. But then again, it was away from the noise and craziness of downtown Key West. We only stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: Get a 20% disc off best rate thru travel websites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Go_Bucks25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed four nights in May and had a grand time. Drove to Old Town each evening and found good food. The hotel pool is beautiful, but I imagine the sand around the pool is hard work to manage. Our room was very comfortable, but the air conditioning was rather noisy. When leaving the hotel to go downtown, turning left is difficult, so we tended to turn right and go the longer way!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The Inn at Key West is a beautiful hotel. The pool area is gorgeous and peaceful with a very-attentive wait staff. The service was outstanding. We were traveling with friends and reserved two rooms back in March. We had only one glitch upon check in...the rooms we were assigned were not the ones we requested (we requested second floor king balcony rooms) but were given first floor rooms. We checked out the first floor rooms before complaining and they were extremely smelly (musty) and moist, as if they had had a plumbing leak or a flood; there was even an industrial sized fan in the hallway. We went back to the front desk and told them that the rooms were unacceptable due to the smell (they offered to "refresh" the room but there was no way that would have helped!). The employee at the service desk was very apologetic but stated the hotel was full. We asked if there were other properties, and he was pretty quick to find us rooms. We ended up with one second floor poolside balcony room and one executive waterview suite, which were both very nice and very clean. Some people may find the chickens and roosters that wander around the neighborhood (NOT in the hotel, just the parking lot) annoying but it didn't bother us. The view of the gulf of Mexico is beautiful, but there is a two-lane road between the hotel and the water. It is about 3 miles from the Duval Street area but we had a rental car and found cheap parking lots around the Duval area. There is an IHOP, Publix, McDonald's, and Wendy's all within walking distance (5-10 minute walk). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The pool area is fantastic, really cute, great sized pool and great Tiki Bar. The hotel is really a motel. I'd say 3 stars. But you're not in it that often. The pool area is great as mentioned but the room are very average and small. Yes there were cockroaches in the bathroom but tiny ones thank god! Still it wasn't pleasant. In fairness the staff were constantly spraying so they were doing their best.
It was 5mins in a cab into the centre.

Room Tip: ask for one facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Pool was fantastic and lots of help in facility! great food and staff was extermely helpful with all questions. rooms were very well appointed and comfortable. Loved the place!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jzarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

In the hospitality business, there are those so-called moments of truth that help to set the tone for your stay at a hotel. One occurs when you first drive up and get to see the property with your own eyes, not the retouched and pretty brochure photo version. The next occurs when you walk in to the lobby and get a sense of the hotel itself. The third is when you are greeted at the front desk (or not) and your room is ready upon your arrival (or not) ...

Up to that point, things were good. And the front desk clerk did try to be helpful, although we now wish that we had just shown up later and gotten another room. Our room was at the back of the property, kind of a motel style with cars driving by, and we had the misfortune of being immediately next to the area where housekeeping staff and people using the laundry room take their breaks. This area stayed loud nearly all hours, day and night. Not to mention smoke coming into the room when the door was opened, and cigarette butts strewn everywhere. Very tacky.

I suspect that the reason the air conditioning unit in the room is so loud (it sounds like a generator is running day and night) is to try to drown out the cackling and howling of the people on permanent break in the smoking area and noise in the parking lot. Unfortunately, it is just more noise that makes the notion of a quiet getaway an illusion. And of course, we were told at the front desk that they were sold out so we could not switch rooms.

On our first full day in the room, we came back to the room in the mid-afternoon to rest up for an evening event, and housekeeping had not even touched the room. Eventually, around 4:30 pm or so someone came by to clean things up.

With all the chairs at the pool taken up, and no towels available, it was slim pickings trying to enjoy the setting. To the credit of the hotel, it is a beautiful pool and overall the hotel has a nice, well-kept appearance. It is far away from anything and everything on Key West, with the exception of the IHOP which is next door.

Speaking of doors, when we came back on Sunday evening the lock on our door (which looks like it has been forced open and is nearly off its hinges) was not working, apparently the result of a dead battery in the device. It took nearly an hour to get that sorted out, on a night that we needed to get to bed for an early trip back home. It wasn't anything that they hotel did wrong, it was just the icing on the cake.

When we checked out, it was clear that the front desk clerk really could care less about our impressions of the property, or even whether we had a nice stay. It was the most perfunctory check out I can remember in a while, usually reserved for a Motel 6. The Inn has a lot of potential, but overall I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 135 whatever you do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SteveUrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Though not near the action of Duvall street it is convenient when you drive onto Key West. Left the motorcycles parked and took either a taxi or or the Conch Shuttle down to Mallory Sq. Clean rooms, great pool and Timothy was incredible taking care of nearly 100 people in and around the pool without missing a beat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hogride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
0.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#33 of 51 in Key West
2,368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Key West

Address: 3420 N. Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4224
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £211 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your next vacation or group to the Florida Keys, The Inn at Key West is a boutique hotel offering the largest freshwater resort pool in the Keys. Only 3 miles from Duval Street, our quiet inn offers everything you need for an ideal getaway, yet near all the action of Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Key West Hotel Key West
Hotel Key West
Inn Key West
The Inn At Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing