We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All about the service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All about the service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

What sets this hotel apart from just being an average beach hotel is the service. First off we were upgraded from our basic room to a 2 room suite thanks to my husband's Diamond status. We checked in around noon and the room was ready within an hour. They of course held our bags for us, while we went to the pool.

The shuttle that runs to Old Town Key West is definitely one of the highlights in the service area. Our shuttle drivers on the 8 AM runs always asked what boat we were touring on (we took a boat trip every morning) and dropped us off right at the correct marina, making sure we knew where to check in. All other times during the day they used the main 2 stops. One night on the way to dinner at about 8 PM, the shuttle driver was concerned we were going to miss the Key West sunset. So he pulled over on the side of the road right next to the ocean and let us all climb out and he took everyone’s picture.

I had prebooked 2 of our boat tours, and we decided the night before our free day we would rather take another boat trip than spend the day at the beach. The Concierge had a great depth of knowledge about all the tour companies in the area and helped us pick one to go on that would take us to a completely different snorkeling area.

We never made it to the private beach area the DT provides. After our time on the ocean we were just happy to sit by the pool. There was poolside service with drinks and food. On Saturday and Sunday there was also a steel drum player. The pool has a sand volleyball court off to the side also. This was a relaxing way to end our days and we often had a hard time tearing ourselves away in time to go eat dinner.

Across the parking lot from the hotel is the Seaside Grocery and Deli. We went there as soon as we realized we had 2 mini fridges to fill and bought snacks and beer. It is not super cheap but reasonable for its convenience.

This hotel might not be ideal for the vacationer that wants to party until the wee hours on Duval Street. It is not in the middle of the action. For our needs, early risers to catch a boat and always headed home by the last shuttle run at 11:20 PM, it was perfect. The price is much nicer that the 2 WA on Key West and the upgrades and service made it very enjoyable.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiec99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,560
    1,172
    438
    163
    129
See reviews for
1,060
1,393
70
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I made our third trip to Key West. Each time we have stayed at the Key West Double Tree. Our seven night stay was just as good as the other trips. The room was clean and housekeeping was some of the best we have ever had. All staff are friendly. The buffet breakfast was great each morning and the service was super. If it wasn't windy, we would sit outside to eat. Room service and food is excellent. The pool is great. The shuttle downtown was prompt and an extra van would be sent if all customers could not be accommodated on one bus. We love the Double Tree and Key West and will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel5903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeDe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Always a pleasure as are all Hilton Brands. Not the best location in Key West but very affordable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for a few days over spring break. This was our 12th trip to Key West and the first time we stayed at this hotel. We knew that it wasn't in the best location for touring the island, but it is quick and easy to get to as you come on the island and they offer a shuttle service to various points on the island. First, the service was unbelievable - my husband is a Hilton Honors Diamond Member and they made sure we felt appreciated from the minute we arrived until our departure. The rooms were average, nice and clean and breakfast in the morning was filling. I liked the idea of the shuttle, especially for hanging out a few hours on Duval St., but it was extremely crowded and stressful trying to get on. It might have been a good idea for them to have a sign up for times on the shuttle rather than waiting in a long line and have half the family make it on and not the other half. The pool area was nice and they had a fun tiki bar with friendly bartenders.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tblauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I booked three nights of King balcony room using my HHonor points. There weren’t any two queens available when I was booking it so I went ahead and booked the king room. I was hoping that I could get a two queen room when we get there since I was traveling with my wife and 10 year old daughter. Before I got there, I read reviews that the hotel wasn’t willing to upgrade rooms for HHonor gold members which I am, so I was little unsure what we’d get. As soon as we arrived, we were handed the key to a suite with two queens, and with a balcony facing the pool, and free breakfast vouchers, and then the standard doubletree treats, bottled water and cookies. I returned our rental car as soon as we got to the hotel and used their very reliable and efficient shuttle to go to the beach and Duval street. On the last day of our trip, our lunch took a little longer than we planned so we weren’t able to get back to the shuttle stop on time, but the driver was super nice and let us on to the shuttle when we flagged him down right on Duval street. The pool was never crowded, we were always able to find chairs around the pool at different time of the day that we went. This is an older hotel, some of the furnishings are showing its age, but the room was kept very clean, internet connection was reliable and fast, and on top of all, everyone we ran into, concierge, front desk, shuttle drivers and restaurant wait staff were all super friendly and really made our stay enjoyable.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Huskies92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Doubletree Key West is a very nice hotel away from the activity of Duval. Stayed here a few times before. The staff is great & the room we had a balcony overlooking the pool. We had an awesome time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here three times over the past five months and simply love this place. The staff is great, the rooms are clean & comfy, and the location is awesome. Shuttle service is also great!

Room Tip: Corner rooms, like 302 are quiet and have a balcony with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing