We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but the deal breaker was all the smoking at the bar, pool and in front of hotel by guests and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I chose this hotel based on the beautiful pool (I am a swimmer) and that the website stated this was a 100% non smoking PROPERTY. Not true. Plenty of smoking going on at the pool, outdoor bar and outdoor restaurant. My swim was cut short by the foul smell of a cigar being smoked by a gentlemen sitting a few feet away from the pool, a woman smoking a cigarette equally close directly opposite him and a staff person who was painting the white lines around the pool. I had read the review about this problem prior to booking and called to inquire. I was told there are only two designated smoking areas and they were far away from other guests. I also mentioned this upon checking in and was told the same and to please let the front desk know if and they would take care of it. After four days of putting up with smelling tobacco smoke I did go to the front desk and was told a very different story. The manager said smoking was allowed in any and all of the outdoor areas including the bar, pool and restaurant. No smoking in the rooms but any where outdoors is fine. If that is true I think you have an obligation to state that on your website. To me, stating you are a 100% Smoke Free PROPERTY means no smoking on the property. Had you stated No Smoking in the rooms but every where else outside is allowed I would not have booked here at $300/day. The manager said all he could do was pass along my concern to Hilton Corporate office. Didn't even offer an apology and was dismissive. After paying full tilt for a king suite and two breakfasts a day, everyday, while he offered absolutely zero to make up for my discomfort. If you can smell the smoke, you are inhaling the smoke. Hilton, I expected better. I should have listened to the reviewer and not your staff. Maybe you just tell people what they want to hear and then the story changes once you have our money? That's how I feel. Three more days to go. Lots of good things about this place but this is NOT a 100% Non smoking PROPERTY.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arlenecohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeCareInKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us while you were staying at the hotel and then posting them on Trip Advisor. We have changed the wording on our website so that it is clearer that while guest rooms and interior public spaces are smoke-free at the Key West DoubleTree, there are several designated smoking areas outside of the building including at the tiki bar and pool. In reviewing your folio, I can see that you did receive a full night’s refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,779 - 1,785 of 3,761 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Typical hotel property. Next to Airport. Clean and accommodating. Nice pool, hot tub and Tiki Bar. If you want a room with a balcony, be sure to specify it or you will get a door that opens to nothing! Far from the night life of. Duval Street, however the Hotel Shuttle runs every hour and has a pick up and drop off next to Sloppy Joes at on end of Duval and the Butterfly Conservatory at the other end of Duval. Parking in town is space and expensive. The shuttle is a good idea as long as you don't want to stay out past 11:20 (last pick up). All in all, nice place to stay! I would go back. Staff very pleasant as well.

Room Tip: Fourth floor with pool view nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We went to celebrate my husbands 50th. The staff were very friendly and more than helpful in helping us plan our week. This was our first visit to Key West but definitely not our last!! The resort has great food, so if you choose to stay in for a day to enjoy the pool and music, you wont miss out! The warm cookie that was given to us on arrival was icing on the cake.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor facing the pool area, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CKnolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Convenient to Airport, hourly shuttle to downtown. Can't say enough about Bob the shuttle driver he was very helpful. Only had breakfast on the day of departure so can't really comment too much on the meal service. They had a buffet as well as a full menu for breakfast and the wait staff didn't push the buffet, as many places tend to do. Nice pool facilities. Staff friendly and courteous. All in all I felt it worth the price. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Richarde G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great staff! The staff were always very helpful and polite. The shuttle bus is a great addition. It was the best way to get around and not have to worry about parking. This was my second stay and it was great.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derailfishing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Great people, breakfast was very good. Was great to have relaxing drink at bar served by "Billy the Greek". The staff is knowledgable. Only change would be to get room without patio, unless of pool area our view was of parking lot and was never used.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ravdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Staff were excellent and were always helpful when we needed anything. A lovely outdoor pool and bar area which we frequented every night of our stay. Waiters at the breakfast were very attentive to our needs. Especially liked the shuttle bus which always was on schedule.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#34 of 51 in Key West
2,375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
2.6 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
2.8 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £162 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing