We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay over holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a great time at this clean and accomodating resort. Everyone was nice and friendly and the restaurant was superb, especially the buffett breakfast. Plenty of chairs by the pool and outside bar was very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Oscar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,794 - 1,800 of 3,810 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I scheduled a week in Key West over the holidays, using my Hilton points for a stay at the Double Tree. While the trip turned "sour" when my wife had a bicycle accident (off the property) which resulted in plastic surgery and a three day hospital stay, we could not be more pleased with the assistance we got from the hotel. The concierge was very helpful in finding a New Years Eve dinner (which we didn't get to use) and the bike rentals with delivery to the hotel and pickup at the hotel which was a great help. After the accident, they made the shuttle available to get me to the hospital and to bring my wife home. Since we had a late flight on our departure, they again stepped up and let us stay in the room well past the usual check-out so that my wife could be comfortable waiting for the flight.
The hotel itself was very nice, excellent work-out room, beautiful pool area with food service right to your lounger. Rooms are not overly large but the large fridge with a freezer was widely used. While we didn't use the service, they had movies scheduled each afternoon and evening to give families and especially kids something to do.
Staff were all pleasant, helpful, and responsive to our situation. We sent the manager a note thanking him for their assistance.
While my wife may not be anxious to return to the area because of her accident, if we do, we will stay at the DoubleTree.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had high expectations of our stay at this hotel. However our experience was not what we hoped. There were too many niggles for us to be happy and despite mentioning our concerns at the front desk nobody was genuinely interested - I suspect this may have been as they were constantly busy as it was over the New Year period.
So to put you in the picture, we arrived on 30th Dec, that evening I asked about the bus shuttle and the pick up and drop off points and was given a map clearly showing the 2 pick up points in town, great. Unfortunately, we were not told that the very next day the bus would only drop off and pick up at one totally different unmapped location in town. (This was due to the New Year's Eve road closures). We walked into town that morning, otherwise we would have been made aware of this when being dropped off - We spent 2 hours walking up and down Duval St, calling at shops enroute and then trying again to find the bus. We kept thinking all the time that we kept missing the damn thing! In the end we got a taxi, costing $25. So I get to the reception with steam coming out of my ears. I was expecting an apology! but as usual it was busy and I was handed a card showing that days arrangements and a shown a sign on the counter - we were very annoyed at not being advised of this when I had specifically enquired.
Other reasons for our disappointments...having to leave an 18% tip against the price of the SELF SERVICE breakfast buffet just for receiving coffee and an orange juice from a waiter.
Going for a swim at 8pm and getting out to find no towels, despite twice asking staff, before waiting over 10 mins for them to finally arrive.
As a final attempt to get some form of sympathy - these points were made again on check out - I got an apology and was asked "Give Doubletree another chance as they would do better next time". Sorry, but there won't be a next time as this was a once in a lifetime experience for me and my family, that failed to be memorable or fully enjoyable, with the exception of Key West itself which is a wonderful place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Gingerballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We're always looking to exceed guests' expectations and are truly disappointed to hear that we missed the mark. Your detailed feedback regarding the missing towels, shuttle service drop-off and pick-up points, and dining policies will help us better serve future guests. We really hope you'll consider giving us another chance to serve you and demonstrate our true commitment to hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I loved staying at this resort. Everyone was so friendly from check-in to check out. Service was great without being pretentious. The property is beautiful. The pool is gorgeous and even though we went Dec 31 to Jan 3 it wasn't that crowded. The room was lovely. Their bus service to various parts of the town made traveling around very easy. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamachick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed with Hilton proprieties over 190 days in several cities this past year...This Key West Location met me/us with very inconstant service. The front desk, shuttle service, breakfast buffet service all good. Bar service was hit and miss..lunch time server a young lady on the first day very very rude to everyone, day two we had a nice old gentleman that was very nice to everyone...however the night time service at the bar not so good..the bartender was understaffed..most people just left including us...service very slow and a tad rude..in short the outside service not so good...what is disappointing is that is where you spend your time while in Key West! The housekeeping was very good and friendly..Hmmm maybe they should work outside at the bar? The rooms are a tad dated but clean. Base on the rating and price for this location I excepted better and more consistent service. The two employees that did an outstanding job were Rhonda (front desk) and Adrina (inside restaurant).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fritzjodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Key West is a delightful area. But realize that when it comes to accommodations, one feels that the establishments have an attitude that they are living on borrowed time. This property is reasonable, and relative to other alternatives it is probably among the best. But it will not knock you socks off. It is a tired property, as if waiting for the next major storm to allow an insurance fix up. The staff are reasonable but not overly welcoming, as if they are being hard pressed all the time by their guests. The food is good, not great and the buffet option faces you with outages of various foods with slower than expected service. If you expect to have a roll-away in your room, think again as queen sized accommodations do not allow them in the room and there are few of them to begin with. The pool area is nice and the staff helpful, definitely a highlight given that Key West is not know for its beaches. You can use the top of the hour shuttle to get you into town, which you definitely want to do, but realize that space is limited so people will jostle to get on board. They will send a second shuttle as needed but you may wait and there are only two drop off locations in town. But it is better than the $30 average charged for parking downtown in private lots. There is a deli/store nearby which is quite well stocked. But don't expect to read a newspaper, even on Sundays. But maybe you want to forget about the news anyway. The room are not really well insulated, relative to sounds from the hallway, above or below, or coming from the pool. The balconies are tiny, so if you can get a lower rate by having a room facing away from the pool, I suggest you do that. The airport is adjacent to the property but is not all that active but when a jet takes off it is quite close to you. Just reminds you that civilization continues but that might be something you went to Key West to forget about for a while. I think that staying here depends on what you are looking for. If the pool and a buffet breakfast is what you long for it is OK. But I question why you would go all the way the way to Key West to get that? If you drive from the mainland realize that from Florida City you're looking at 3.5 hours or so. Not a bad drive mind you across 29 islands and 45 bridges, so long as you do not hit work or school traffic. Would I go back? No. Not to this property, given the cost and expectations. If you do drive and can find a B&B with parking I suggest it will be a more Key West type experience as the downtown is really nice, kind of a Newport, Rhode Island, except bigger and busier in every regard. It is intended as a largely adult playground with plenty of music and bars open until 4 am. You will like the people and if you go down to the pier area at sunset there is a Catman that puts on a free show with his cats prior to sunset. But really he is the show with his antics as, well, you know, there is only so far you can go when it comes to herding cats!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Bobson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeCareInKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

It is our goal to please all of the people all of the time, and unfortunately we are not always able to do so. We are very sorry that the accommodations and Key West did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Dec and had a very bad experience at the restaurant. I took a bite out of the bagel and it was full of mold. I showed it to the waiter and asked him if i can speak to the manager. Waiting for about 30 minutes with that bagel and the waiter came and mentioned that the manager was too busy to stop by or talk about .

i am ssuming mold in food is health code violation and what upset me more that , the managers inability to resolve the issue or apologize for it

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Res T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeCareInKeyWest, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Thank you for your patronage. Please accept our apologies for the bagel. While people travel from all over the world to enjoy our tropical climate, there is a down side to our perpetual warmth and sunshine – and that is that food tends to spoil quickly. There is no excuse for the waiter that told you the manager was too busy to stop by or talk about it. We will address this with our staff to ensure it never happens again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
268 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.5 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £185 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing