We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expect a 2.5 star appointed room and you'll be fine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Key West
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Expect a 2.5 star appointed room and you'll be fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel despite the reviews which had me worried about the cleanliness, luxury or lack of it, and location away from duval street. Why? Price! I was travelling during high season and at $320 per night booked 2 months in advance ($420 if booking week before) I found this hotel to be at least $100 per night cheaper than comparable hotels closer to downtown.

Overall the property is probably a 3 star accounting for 2.5 star on the room and 3.5 star on the grounds, amenities, services, pool, etc. given that the rooms are dated I don't recommend staying in the room for much other than sleeping. The first day after driving down from Fort Lauderdale we spent a couple of hours by the pool which was fairly nice. Note that the outdoor bar had an amazing bartender. He was personable and made an amazing mojito. Drinks were pricey but amazing.
That first night we used the shuttle to get to Duval street. You need to get there 10-15 minutes if you want to get on the first shuttle. If not you can take the second shuttle which runs 5 or 10 minutes behind. It drops you off right in the heart of duval street. Coming back it was the same thing. We got there 10 minutes early and still didn't make the first shuttle. It therefore meant we were waiting 20 minutes in total for the second shuttle. After that we just drove. No issues with parking. Lots of parking on duval with metered parking and lots of side streets with free parking. You may have to walk a few minutes but you're able to come and go at will.
The hotel is also a reasonable distance to bike. We rented bikes downtown and rode all the way around the island. A leisure ride with a stop at the beach to swim, stops for pictures, etc. was 3 hours for us.

Overall I would stay here again if the price difference is substantial again but hope they update the rooms.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,565
    1,177
    440
    166
    129
See reviews for
1,066
1,397
71
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The rooms were clean and great customer service. We found the staff very friendly and the front desk helpful and informative....the only reason it wasn't excellent is because the shuttle buses were to packed. But they fixed the situation by adding another shuttle and there was a propeller type noise that we couldn't identify in the walls. but very clean and my food order was wrong to my room but quick.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Nice big room with 2 comfortable double beds, really clean & pretty. Did not feel crowded, just right amount of people. Breakfast buffet at the hotel was ok, but lunch & dinner had really good food at very reasonable prices. Pool was great, jacuzzi too. Free parking.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel does not disappoint. As beautiful as it's pictures, reasonably priced, concierge service, and best of all a shuttle to take you to the downtown area of Key West, where parking can be a nightmare. It is located away from downtown, so it's very quiet. Nice pool and outdoor area, with a bar. The only con is the buffet breakfast. Not worth the price.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank loveitaly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I originally booked this trip because we wanted to go to Dry Tortugas National Park and you have to go to Key West to get there. I didn't realize it would be St. Patrick's Day. The city is a little crazy so we were glad to be on the other end of the island. Shuttle service was very helpful. My only issue was an underperforming air conditioner in the room that they never did get working right.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank SheWhoTravelsTooMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West FL, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Beautiful tropical setting; convenient to both tourist and local sites. Available transportation for downtown & the airport. Pleasant location for relaxing after business or play. Most staff are multi-lingual

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I want to be honest and tell the world how wonderful this hotel is, but I do not want to have someone get my future reservation! Free, fast , nice clean transportation from the airport next door started us on our vacation immediately. Front desk, especially James from France was top notch. Clean, good repair, up to date rooms and decor. Restaurant food very good. "Billy the Greek"in the bar was extra special! He was so attentive and service oriented, he stayed open an extra hour when the bar was full and no one was ready to leave. Free shuttle to town was always on time! We will be back...wish we were still there!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#30 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
Address: 3990 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Key West
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West, where a friendly staff member is waiting to welcome you with our famous token of hospitality - a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie. Our newly renovated full service resort welcomes vacationers and business travelers alike to enjoy the best our island has to offer. Relax in luxury at our first-class Key West, Florida resort. DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West is the ideal destination for your stay in the Florida Keys. Tropical gardens and a beautiful zero entry pool offer the perfect setting to enjoy America's Caribbean. Sip on a refreshing cocktail from our outdoor Tiki Bar. If your visit calls for business or a special event, the Grand Key Resort features venues and conference facilities for up to 300. Stay at our Key West, Florida resort, just one mile from Key West International Airport. Highlights •Shuttle service to and from the Key West International Airport and the downtown Duval area •Beautiful zero entry pool with cabanas and extensive decks for relaxing and sunbathing •Complimentary WiFi •Full-service Palm Haven Restaurant and poolside Tiki Bar •7,000 sq. ft. of indoor meeting space and outdoor event venues ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct and TravelUp so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Grand Key Hotel Key West
Doubletree Grand Key Resort
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing