We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel. Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
the South
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel. Would stay here again”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This was our first stay at this Hyatt. We chose it for the location, right off of Duval and right near the harbor-you can walk anywhere from this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, including Vito, our bellhop. The lock on our room quit working and it took over an hour to repair it. No problem for us because we were hanging out at the pool, but the hotel sent up a plate of chocolates as a "Sorry for the inconvenience." Unexpected and very nice.

This was a pretty family friendly place-lots of kids in the pool. Pool was great. Plenty of lounge chairs. There's also a nice deck with lounge chairs you can lay on. Alejandro walked around and brought us food and drinks when we asked. If you don't want to pay $5 for a bottle of water, bring your own (the rooms have fridges)! The staff also brought around cold towels and popsicles. We tried breakfast at Shor. Limited menu and overpriced. Would skip Shor next time. The Blue Mjoito bar by the pool is a fun place with good drinks.

Lots to do at or near the hotel. We rented scooters in the parking lot from HydroThunder. We went sailing with Floridays, which launches at the Hyatt pier. They also have jet ski tours and a scuba/snorkeling trips at the Hyatt pier.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roaminggnome00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattKeyWest12, General Manager at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to receive accolades about our staff. We will be sure to recognize Vito and Alejandro for the great service they provided. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    627
    233
    91
    55
See reviews for
449
1,310
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is one of the most lovely handicap accessible resorts on Key West. Many of the rooms overlook the gulf of Mexico and there is a handicap accessible suite that overlooks the gulf of mexico with one of the most beautiful rooms on the island. The location is great, as you can walk along the historic warfs, and stop into great seafood restaurants. The staff is accommodating and perfect, and the restaurant and pool are completely handicap accessible.

Room Tip: request deluxe gulf front room or suite. Call hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaskifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is the 2nd year my husband and I have stayed at the Hyatt Key West. It is a great place! All staff are super nice and the location is wonderful! Will definately be returning on our next trip to KW!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jds00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Resort for three nights in July (actually we just got home this afternoon - we stayed there last night). Full disclosure - we stayed at no cost on my Hyatt points, but the hotel was great, the restaurant and bar were outstanding, and we really enjoyed the pool all three days. We ate lunch twice at Hyatt's Shor American Seafood Grill, had the burger one day and the club sandwich the next. Hyatt Hotels seem to have cheeseburgers down to a science, as I've never had a bad burger at a Hyatt anywhere in the world. The fries were hot and as good as I've ever had them. Dinner last night (after the sunset sail on Hyatt's sailboat) was excellent as well. I had a flatiron steak and my SO had the lobster tail. Both were great. I can't say enough about the friendly, professional service we received in every part of this hotel. If we were coming back to Key West, we would stay here again without fail. We won't be coming back as we found Key West to be unbelievably touristy, and not the "original" destination we were expecting. (trip report later). A special shout out to Vito, who was on duty as the parking valet and bellman when we checked in. I had a problem with the parking system, and he fixed it and made it right.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collie1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

You can't beat the Hyatt Key West. We had an amazing stay. From the moment we arrived, it was perfect. We were greeted with a glass of complimentary champagne while we checked in.

The bellman takes our luggage and that of our best friends and takes us to our rooms, WOW!! It was a birthday celebration weekend, so I booked a Deluxe Gulf Front Room for us and our friends. We were on the 4th floor, the view was amazing.

Let's start with the room, we had tiled floors with rugs, so it made it quite warm and inviting. We had 3 sliding doors with 2 balconies which were furnished with nice wicker furniture and small tables. From the bed we had an unobstructed view of the gulf and the boats anchored in the bay. The room also had 2 chairs and a chaise lounge type sofa. We had a flat screen TV, a mini bar with refrigerator. The headboard to the bed ran along the wall and was a shelf with slide outs that hid and housed the ihome for the ipod and telephone. The bathroom was fabulous too, a nice rain shower that was huge and tiled in an ocean blue glass tile. We never want to leave.

I had ordered an in room amenity and it was in the rooms when we arrived with a lovely card and instructions that the cold items were in the refrigerator. The service was impeccable our entire stay.

We dined at the restaurant on property for breakfast once and again the service was great, dined on the patio next to the water and the food was delicious.

We did use the concierge services to make a dinner reservation for us one night and they couldn't have been more helpful. She reserved a great table and then proceeded to give us recommendations on the specialties of the restaurant and which ones to try. This is someone who is familiar with the area and the restaurants and I love that.

Self-Parking is available and is included in the daily resort fee, however the lot is small and we had trouble finding parking. But not to worry, the valet opened up the valet parking for us, parked the car and didn't charge us the valet charges, he got a nice tip!

We loved the hotel so much that we extended an extra night, cancelled one night in Miami and savored what we could for our last night. Truly we cannot wait to go back, I wouldn't look for anything else in Key West, the Hyatt is the best

Room Tip: Deluxe Gulf Front Room is awesome, worth the money for a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beetrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Super clean and friendly staff...great location in Old Town. Partial Ocean view was beautiful but sad that the balcony only seated 2. There were 4 of us. The pool does need some music for ambience as it is somewhat smallish. Beach area small too but I never had a problem finding somewhere to relax and look into the ocean. Take a snorkel set as there are many fish hiding in the beach access. We saw lots hiding around the rocks and even a small, nosey barracuda hanging out. I will go back to this place for sure even if it is just for the blue mojito!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jt5506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We went on a family trip to Key West and this hotel was an amazing contribution to the time we had here!
The location is fantastic! The back views from the pool and the AMAZING SHOR restaurant were excellent for viewing the sunset. We didn't even go to Mallory square because we had such a great, unobscured view of the sunset from the outside.
Our room had two double beds and did not face the beach, which was fine because we didn't come to Key West to sit in the room.
The hotel is in close walking distance to most things worth doing in Key West. A few blocks from Duval Street and from the Key West Lime Store.
But, you don't need to go off property for food, SHOR had the best food we had in Key West and ate there for Breakfast every day and dinner once. AMAZING.
The people in the gift shop were the ones who helped us book our tours, they were very helpful and found us a boat charter to fit our needs!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,558 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-6620 (Formerly Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a private retreat at our enticing Hyatt Centric Key West Resort. This luxurious haven is the standard against which all others will be viewed. The art of blending modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting has been perfected at our incredible Key West Florida resort hotel set along the waterfront. Old world architectural touches invoke Hemingway's mystique throughout this intimate island setting. Encounter casually elegant Florida touches, perfectly combined with a world-class spa, a 24-hour fitness center, remarkable cuisine, and modern amenities such as Drybar Buttercup blow dryers and eco-friendly bath products! Explore the best of Key West, including nearby fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, renowned sunsets, and historic Old Town. Allow our comfortably millennial-modern Key West Florida resort hotel to treat you to a new level of sophistication, in a breathtaking locale.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort And Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing