We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

In all of my hotel years have i come across as wonderful a property, staff, and room as this Hyatt. Chelsea at the front desk was wonderful and greeted us whenever she came across us on the property. Young lady that checked us in (high pitched voice) was a sweetheart. Justin (concierge) with the recommendation of Latitude was stellar. We had a room with a view of the harbor, the scooter rentals were great, Duval is a couple of blocks away easy walk. We are already planning a return trip! Shor Restaurant was just ok....pool food was awesome.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Mark, thank you so much for your feedback. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding our staff and resort. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Chelsea and Justin. Please let us know if we can assist with your return trip to Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,442 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Front desk is your first contact in the Hotel. Well, the front desk lady at Hyatt Key West is efficient, polite, courteous, and friendly. As my family sat down at the lobby, we were first greeted with Champagne and water (for my kid) immediately. And within two minutes, we had our keys and on our way to the room. The partial ocean view is okay. Room is a little smaller than I expected. Modernized bathroom with rainforest shower. Pool area also is relatively small. Breakfast area is at the water front, nice and comfy. The best selling point is the location. Major tourist attractions and excellent restaurants are within short walking distance. Since one can rarely find a parking in the "old town" portion of Key West, this is a nice selling point.

The front desk asked me specific time for the evening turn down service but the house keeper didn't show up. So why asked?

Room Tip: Ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank memedutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

It is great hearing from you. Thank you very much for your comments regarding our Front Desk staff and location. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive your turndown service. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team. We hope to welcome you back to the Hyatt Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic resort, at check in they offer a glass of champagne or flavored water . What a great touch . The rooms are out of this world , the pool is great . The setting for this hotel is absolutely fantastic ! Sunsets are glorious !! The staff can't do enough for you , indulge yourself in luxury!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank retiredfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy that your stay at the Hyatt Key West was fantastic and that you enjoyed our location, wonderful sunsets and our staff. Please consider us again the next time you head to Key West!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great, friendly fun, relaxing.Very nice people. The pool is small but refreshing. There is a lot more to do then just swim, l love the spar. The Cubana is a little pricey would like to have been able to use it. Have been going there for 8 years and will be there again soon.

Room Tip: Higher up is great there is a lot less noise and the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallienanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi Sallie, I am so glad that you choose the Hyatt Key West during your return trip to Key West. Thank you for your kind feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Loved everything about this place! Champagne on arrival, great room, nice toiletries and robes, comfy bed, lovely view of the water, wonderful pool and hot tub. Location can't be beat!! It isn't cheap but we were happy to get our stay with points :) will absolutely be back! Thanks!

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank MaddyNie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi Maddy, we are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for the feedback about the location, view and amenities. Please keep us in mind the next time you visit Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My beautiful bride and I needed a quick getaway weekend in the warm sunshine, after too much New England snow, so we escaped to Florida for a weekend in the sun. We picked the Hyatt because it had everything we wanted in a single place: bar, restaurant, pool and beach. While the pool and beach are small, they worked perfectly, as our plan was to forgo Key West’s other sights and just sit poolside and relax and read. We found our way to the Blue Mojito Bar and enjoyed their Mojito specialty drinks and very friendly bartenders each night of our stay. Our room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We had a partial water view (which was really a view of the next pier, and a small balcony). We ended up not spending much time on the balcony and rather sat in the bar enjoying their fine drinks and a good cigar. We did go to the restaurant (Shor American Grill) at the hotel and the food was plentiful and delicious – as its name implies, the seafood was very, very good. The breakfasts outside, on the water, were exceptionally good. I had the Duval Crawl Waffle which was exceptional. The pictures on their website capture the hotel very well (if not in a good light). The cleaning service was slow; they didn’t get to our room until later in the day, which was fine, because we were at the pool in the sunshine. The hotel is very quiet. Even on Saturday night, with live music at the Blue Mojito, we closed the room door and couldn’t hear a thing outside. The pool chairs are very comfortable, and the beach towels were plentiful, even during Spring Break. My wife enjoyed the Spa massage and that helped to make the weekend getaway even more relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giant_Stride_SCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarrieFLKeys, Guest Communications at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Good day, and thank you so much for leaving such a nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us! I will definitely share the nice feedback about the staff and your experience at SHOR and Blue Mojito. Best wishes in your future travels, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked this because it was a Hyatt and we have generally had good experiences at their hotels. Given the position and fact that it was peak Key west season I expected to pay top price and for this I expected a top class hotel. This hotel was anything but top class. The only thing our room had going for it was that it was large. everything else was tired. The towels were thread bare and the view effectively non existent. Really galling was the "Resort Fee", something more and more hotels are introducing to move their daily rate up. I asked the receptionist what this was for. The first response was that it covered Internet, water in the room, pool towels, gym and free parking. I said that at the room rate of close on $700 I expected these things to be included in the price. I was then told it was a "Key West City Resort fee". When I asked if it was in addition to the City Tax there was no answer forthcoming. The reason is that it is an increasingly used method to extort additional money from Guests. At the room prices being charged at this hotel all these services should be included. On top of this the pool, pool bar and other guest areas are also nowhere near the standard the price demands. This hotel is not on our repeat list!

Room Tip: Do not choose a partial sea view and the other rooms are far to expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,416 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.3 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-6620 (Formerly Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £221 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a private retreat at our enticing Hyatt Centric Key West Resort. This luxurious haven is the standard against which all others will be viewed. The art of blending modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting has been perfected at our incredible Key West Florida resort hotel set along the waterfront. Old world architectural touches invoke Hemingway's mystique throughout this intimate island setting. Encounter casually elegant Florida touches, perfectly combined with a world-class spa, a 24-hour fitness center, remarkable cuisine, and modern amenities such as Drybar Buttercup blow dryers and eco-friendly bath products! Explore the best of Key West, including nearby fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, renowned sunsets, and historic Old Town. Allow our comfortably millennial-modern Key West Florida resort hotel to treat you to a new level of sophistication, in a breathtaking locale.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort And Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing