We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hemmingway Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hemmingway Weekend”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband, and our friends visited Key West for Hemmingway Weekend, a first time visit for our friends. We checked into the Hyatt Key West Resort late Friday afternoon and were greeted by extremely welcoming and competent staff. Mary offered us champagne and a refill while she efficiently processed our reservation. The desk staff personally escorts guests on a tour of the amenities. Something I have never witnessed upon checking in any hotel. The entire check in experience was smooth and efficient. We had a twin queen room that was lovely. The rooms are all updated. Ours was mostly white, tile floor with light area rug, large bathroom with walk in open shower. The sink was a raised porcelain bowl on a white counter. Lovely. Spotless. Clean. Air conditioning worked well and quietly. Odie the parrot and the fabulous turtles gave the outdoor lobby areas a truly tropical feel. Our Sunday morning brunch was in the Shor restaurant on site with beautiful view and terrific menu. My husband had the Breakfast Parfait that was so gorgeous that other diners next to us also ordered them. I had the egg white omelet with sun dried tomatoes, avocado and shaved Parmesan cheese. Very pleasant wait staff made it a sunny environment. We will definitely return to this hotel whenever possible as we are lucky to be residents of SW Florida and Key West is a boat ride or beautiful drive away. Thank you to the wonderful , welcoming folks at the Hyatt Key West Resort. Bravo.

Room Tip: My husband and I shared a twin queen suite which is in the part of the building that doesn't rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayZKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLKeysMarketer, Guest Communications at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience here with us, and am delighted that you enjoyed the check-in experience with Mary and the rest of the staff, as well as the room and local "residents", Odie and the family of turtles! Best wishes in your travels, and we hope to see you again on future trips to our little slice of island paradise. - Karrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    611
    225
    90
    55
See reviews for
436
1,267
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, wi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Highly Recommend. Very nice a Standard room seemed like one giant room. Love Loved it. Don't forget to say hi to Odie the parrot near the entrance. There are pool toys for the kids. Excellent service all around including Max and Dan who helped us with our luggage. There's an area where you can swim in the ocean including the floating dock to swim out to.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisingKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are always excited to hear from our guests and are thrilled to know you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding Max and Dan. I will be sure to share your review with them. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Hyatt Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were milling around the Fornt Street area of Key West and noted a sign for half priced happy hour. We walked into the Hyatt and found the Blue Mojito Bar. The bar area is a little cramped and shoe-horned between the pool, building and beach. We decided on having a drink and a light dinner. The service was a little slow - but this is a resort area so I really was not looking for McD style service. We enjoyed the food and drink and will be back if we are able to get back to the Key West Area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEWAIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good day and thank you for the review. We are so excited to hear that you found our Blue Mojito Bar while walking around Front Street. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. Please stop by and see us again the next time you are in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Traveled with two teens (boys) to KW for spring break and stayed at the Hyatt. Great room, loved the pool and loved breakfast. Nice to be downtown and close to everything. Probably only minus was it was hard to figure out where the concierge desk was -- we went first to the time share guy by the pool. The folks at the pool desk were the best ever, told us where to eat, made reservations for us and gave great info. Would def stay at Hyatt again.

Room Tip: Rent bikes and ride to city beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Theresa, thank you for great review and recommendation. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us especially the rooms, pool, breakfast and location. My apologies for the inconvenience in finding the concierge desk. We are glad to hear that they were very helpful to you while staying with us. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hyatt Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Hyatt has a fabulous location and they are a stupendous resort. Enjoyed every minute. The beach is really small, but consider it intimate, it's all you need for a swim. You're viewing the harbor and that's worth it. Hello to the turtles, and the Mojito bar seafood sliders are great. Swim until midnight in the pool. Rooms are modern, comfortable and our harbor view and balcony was great. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: get at least a partial water view. For some people this might be loud. We liked the activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dingodoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and are thrilled to hear of your great stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our location, beach, view, turtles and the seafood sliders at Blue Mojito Bar. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. Please consider us again the next time you are heading down to paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just delighted to discover the Hyatt Key West. From the moment we drove up until we checked out we were treated exceptionally by the staff. Check in was a breeze as we enjoyed our complementary champagne. We were then escorted to our room and shown the amenities. Upon opening the shades we were faced with the most magnificent view from our 2 huge sliding glass doors leading out to 2 separate balconies. We did choose a Deluxe Gulf King room and if it is in your budget I would certainly recommend it. Staff throughout the resort were wonderful. Location to Duval was perfect for walking yet far enough from the craziness and noise that sometimes permeates Key West.
Shor was a great choice for dinner with fresh fish and great service and Blue Mojito Bar and Grill was perfect for our poolside afternoon cocktails.
When planning your next Key West vacation don't hesitate to stay here.......

Room Tip: Gulf view to enjoy the beautiful sights, Request high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenAr0undTheW0rld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good day and thank you for your comments. We are so glad you found our hotel in Key West. Thank you for your feedback regarding our service, rooms, view, location and restaurant/bar. I will definitely share your review with our team. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I wouldst definitely stay here again is a very nice property you can tell it well-maintained great location people are very friendly also. the restaurant on the property is also very good even though most evenings I did go somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim M, Marketing Coordinator at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Glenn, thank you for the recommendation. I'm so glad to hear that you had a great stay with us earlier in the year and that you enjoyed our location, restaurant and staff. I hope to welcome you back soon to the Hyatt Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#19 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-6620 (Formerly Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a private retreat at our enticing Hyatt Centric Key West Resort. This luxurious haven is the standard against which all others will be viewed. The art of blending modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting has been perfected at our incredible Key West Florida resort hotel set along the waterfront. Old world architectural touches invoke Hemingway's mystique throughout this intimate island setting. Encounter casually elegant Florida touches, perfectly combined with a world-class spa, a 24-hour fitness center, remarkable cuisine, and modern amenities such as Drybar Buttercup blow dryers and eco-friendly bath products! Explore the best of Key West, including nearby fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, renowned sunsets, and historic Old Town. Allow our comfortably millennial-modern Key West Florida resort hotel to treat you to a new level of sophistication, in a breathtaking locale.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Destinology, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort And Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing