We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's not worthy of 4 Stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's not worthy of 4 Stars!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

As a 4 year Diamond member of Hyatt, I feel extremely qualified to rate this Hyatt vs. others. It was very dissapointing. It has the feel of an ordinary Beach hotel with a standard style Hotel room and nothing special. Think about any that have that annoying, loud window style AC unit. Ours didn't cool well and we needed the fan just to survive. It has a tiny balcony that can only fit 2 people. For a Hyatt "Resort" you expect more. You get the feeling of "ordinary" from when you check in. It has an extremly small lobby, not what you expect when looking for a place to hang out or meet your friends as you would in a normal resort.You just can't do that there. The lowest rated Hyatts "Hyatt Place" are better. There is no Starbucks, Bfest has a limited,overpriced menu, no buffet. Service around the resort was horrbile. The Bellman was a kid who had no personality, unwelcoming and clearly hated his job. The wait staff at Breakfest, didn't refill beverages, got my order wrong and had no personality. The Hostess though was plesant, she gets it. The swimming pool area was about the size of a Cruise Ship's pool and their "private" beach is only big enough for 4 lounge chairs...good luck gettting those(not that you would want to). The swimming area is next to a boat dock(really) and about the size of their pool. If you are used to a "Hyatt" style beach resort this is a joke. They shouldn't even be able to say they have a beach. I realize that space on Key West is limited and the location of the hotel is excellent...but you should know what you are getting. Plus' include jetski, scooter rentals on site and a concierge who can help you book excursions. The downside their selections are limited and don't include some of the better ones on the island like "Danger Charters". Overall Hyatt should be completely ashamed of saying this is a resort. I would give it a serious 2 1/2 stars not 4. I choose Hyatt and stay in them because mostly they are a cut above the rest. I will not stay here again. there are better choices for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLKeysMarketer, Guest Communications at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Scott, thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry you were disappointed with your experience, and will share this feedback with our management team. If you would like to discuss anything with us in more detail, please email us at qualitykeywest@hyatt.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    613
    225
    90
    56
See reviews for
437
1,273
39
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived on July 16th for our first visit to Key West and the Hyatt was greater than our expectations! It's a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. The staff were superb, the food was delicious, the room was huge and extremely nice, and the pool was very relaxing. You can book any and all water activities you wish in the gift shop and you are picked up right on the dock. We walked everywhere and found the local shops and restaurants very welcoming. The beach is small and not really a beach but there are so many things to do that we really did not spend much time on the beach. We felt that there were ample chairs at the pool and never had trouble securing a chair. We took our two daughters and son-in-law and they loved the Hyatt as well. We had no complaints. The staff treated us like royalty from the moment we checked in! We would go back in a hot second! Thank you Hyatt, you were amazing!

Room Tip: There were three people in our room #3310 and it was very nice and large with two queen beds. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abooklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLKeysMarketer, Guest Communications at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Linda, thank you so much for leaving your wonderful and enthusiastic review! I'm very happy that you enjoyed your first vacation in Key West during your stay with us, and found everything exceeded your expectations. I'm so glad the staff were an integral part of your experience, and we hope to earn your business again on your next trip to Key West. Many thanks and best wishes! --Karrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed a comfortable room, excellent breakfast (breakfast is a must in the hotel, the best we have had in 7 years of visiting the Keys) and dinner menu. Friendly staff and nice pool area and bar. My family loved the turtles area and with an occasional crab. Rooms a very nicely designed and the entrance to the hotel has a special atmosphere. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitziLinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLKeysMarketer, Guest Communications at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi MitziLinka! Thank you so much for choosing Hyatt Key West during your recent visit to Key West. We're happy you enjoyed the breakfast at SHOR and had a comfortable and pleasing stay! Best wishes in your travels and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again on future visits to Key West! --Karrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, TN
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I booked this hotel with the flight through American Airlines. It said I was getting a room with 2 beds. Upon checking in, they had us in King Room and no rooms with 2 beds available. So, if you book the hotel this way, be sure to call ahead to verify the type of room. Anyways, they gave us a card for free breakfast for 2 every morning, which was so nice. If you eat breakfast there, it's about 50 dollars for 2. The breakfast menu had a good amount to choose from and the food was good. So, I'd recommend a package with breakfast if you know you don't want to go out in the morning.

This hotel is about 5 minute walk to the area you board a lot of the excursion trips, I did one trip with Sebago and one with Fury. I had to walk to where the cruise ship docks for the jet ski tour, and that was no more than a 10 minute walk. The hotel is close to a lot of the popular restaurants in old town, a cvs is close by, and a small beach is right next door. I never got in the water at the small beach at the hotel because you needed water shoes because of the rocks, but there is a small beach next door, with a small pier, and you don't need shoes to enter. We rented scooters at the hotel and you can also rent jet skis there, and a dive company leaves from a dock right there if you are diving.

The room had a small balcony, but it was big enough to enjoy. There was a large shower and plenty of counter around the sink. The internet connection was good in the room. Don't forget to observe all the turtles. The resort fee including tax was 21.50 a day. And it is 20 dollars for 2 people in a taxi to the airport.

Overall, I liked this hotel and recommend it. I picked it because of the great location, and I turned out to be right because it and the hotel next door had the best location if you are walking around old town and are going on some of the boat trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLKeysMarketer, Guest Communications at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful and thorough review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the location, room amenities, and on-site services such as rentals and tour bookings. Our close proximity to local attractions is such a great feature of our hotel, so I'm glad you found this a real benefit as well. If there is anything we could have done to earn a full five stars on your next stay, please let us know! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Keys! --Karrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is at a great location. We traveled from Ft Lauderdale to Key West with our 7 and 9 year old and didn't want to get back in the car after we arrived. Everything was walking distance! I made a slight mistake. I booked the wrong dates and arrived a day earlier! The front desk was very accommodating. The property was beautiful and safe for our kids to explore. The outside movie nights were a hit, Arvin part of the maintenance crew was so pleasant, whenever the kids needed something they would look for him! They couldn't wait to buy him gifts. He new the kids by their names and so did several staff members. We can't wait to return and want to say thank you to Arvin and staff for a wonderful stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Auceda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLKeysMarketer, Guest Communications at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi and thank you for your very nice review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us with your young children. I'm so glad everything worked out with the early arrival, and that our team helped make your stay memorable. I will definitely let Arvin know that he helped make your vacation even more enjoyable! Best wishes in your travels and may we have the pleasure of hosting your stay again on a future trip to Key West! --Karrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and fabulous location Quiet enough and only 1 minute from Duval Street Room Not my first visit to Key West but still felt rates on the high side and mad prices for breakfast...over 50 dollars for 2 people 2 small bowls of fruit,2 coffees and 2 juices Also tried to stay and extra night and the female staff on reception could not of been less helpful.....All other staff very helpful and welcoming ....Would have given 5 stars if not for that .....

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLKeysMarketer, Guest Communications at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi John, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I'm glad you were pleased with your overall stay here and with the staff, though I’m sorry to hear about your experience when trying to book an additional night. We certainly do not wish for a guest to feel unwelcome, and I will be sharing your feedback with our team so we can use it as a learning experience. If you would like to discuss this in more detail, you can contact us at qualitykeywest@hyatt.com. Thank you for staying with us, and let us know if there is anything else we can do. -Karrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband, and our friends visited Key West for Hemmingway Weekend, a first time visit for our friends. We checked into the Hyatt Key West Resort late Friday afternoon and were greeted by extremely welcoming and competent staff. Mary offered us champagne and a refill while she efficiently processed our reservation. The desk staff personally escorts guests on a tour of the amenities. Something I have never witnessed upon checking in any hotel. The entire check in experience was smooth and efficient. We had a twin queen room that was lovely. The rooms are all updated. Ours was mostly white, tile floor with light area rug, large bathroom with walk in open shower. The sink was a raised porcelain bowl on a white counter. Lovely. Spotless. Clean. Air conditioning worked well and quietly. Odie the parrot and the fabulous turtles gave the outdoor lobby areas a truly tropical feel. Our Sunday morning brunch was in the Shor restaurant on site with beautiful view and terrific menu. My husband had the Breakfast Parfait that was so gorgeous that other diners next to us also ordered them. I had the egg white omelet with sun dried tomatoes, avocado and shaved Parmesan cheese. Very pleasant wait staff made it a sunny environment. We will definitely return to this hotel whenever possible as we are lucky to be residents of SW Florida and Key West is a boat ride or beautiful drive away. Thank you to the wonderful , welcoming folks at the Hyatt Key West Resort. Bravo.

Room Tip: My husband and I shared a twin queen suite which is in the part of the building that doesn't rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MayZKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLKeysMarketer, Guest Communications at Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your experience here with us, and am delighted that you enjoyed the check-in experience with Mary and the rest of the staff, as well as the room and local "residents", Odie and the family of turtles! Best wishes in your travels, and we hope to see you again on future trips to our little slice of island paradise. - Karrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#20 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-6620 (Formerly Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a private retreat at our enticing Hyatt Centric Key West Resort. This luxurious haven is the standard against which all others will be viewed. The art of blending modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting has been perfected at our incredible Key West Florida resort hotel set along the waterfront. Old world architectural touches invoke Hemingway's mystique throughout this intimate island setting. Encounter casually elegant Florida touches, perfectly combined with a world-class spa, a 24-hour fitness center, remarkable cuisine, and modern amenities such as Drybar Buttercup blow dryers and eco-friendly bath products! Explore the best of Key West, including nearby fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, renowned sunsets, and historic Old Town. Allow our comfortably millennial-modern Key West Florida resort hotel to treat you to a new level of sophistication, in a breathtaking locale.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Destinology, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort And Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing