We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
INDIANA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

Just returned from a trip to Key West Flordia. Loved it! Stayed at the Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa. 1st of all the location is great - close to downtown and Duval Street, resturants, and shopping. I am really picky about where I stay. My husband booked this trip and hotel as a birthday surprise. And to be honest I was really nervous that he picked a hotel that I wouldnt care for. I was wrong the Hyatt was great - staff was wonderful and very helpful. Food / Bar / Pool and hot tub great. Room was fantastic. We had room #2208 overlooking the turtle pond. Concierge service on the property is very helpful and I recommend using them. They booked dinners, a fishing trip , snorkling trip for us (snorkling is not great - too cold and found out the sea is rougher in the winter months and we couldnt see anything - if you snorkle there do so in the summer when waters are calmer). I highly recommend spending the money to go deep sea fishing it was fantastic!!! Sailing there is also nice. My husband and I did use the spa - it is very nice, and ask for Gary he was wonderful.
I am not the easiest to please when it comes to hotel/resort stays but this place has my vote.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromtheusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    606
    218
    89
    54
See reviews for
430
1,245
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

This hotel met or exceeded every expectation, and we expected a lot given the room rate. Had a surprise when we checked in when informed that there was a maintenance issue in our booked ocean front room and we would need to stay the first night (of 4) in a partial ocean view room. The manager more than made it up to us, but having experienced both room types, I think the premium for ocean front is worth it. While a Hyatt 'chain' hotel, it is actually quite small ( I think about 120 rooms) and never felt crowded despite being fully booked. Very relaxing!

Some highlights: champagne on arrival; outdoor pool bar is beautifully designed with great views; beautful and large bathroom with glass shower; proximity to both the northern end of Duval and the Bight; activity rentals on site.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miketheworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

My wife and I spent 3 days at the Hyatt and it was fantastic. The check in was easy and the staff did eveything to make our stay perfect, thank you Ms Agbaba. First what the Hyatt KW is; a large upscale chain hotel that felt like a boutique hotel. The rooms were modern beach, very clean and the bathrooms were as pictured-fantastic. Room service was always less than 30 min and the food from "Shor" was great. It has one of the best pool bars in Florida. The hotel is less than 5 min walking to Duval St and the "Wharf" is next door. There are bike/motor scooter rentals next to the hotel. The best aspect of this hotel is that you are close to everything yet it is an oasis from the madness that can Key West.
Now for what the Hyatt is not: there is no beach to speak off but rather a "sandlot" and water. To be fair most of the hotels are this way as Key West is not a sandy-beach destination. The hotel has a few spectacular view rooms, many average/partial view rooms and a few bad ones i.e. next to elevators or over the bar. If the view is important then pay for the ocean front rooms. The west side of the hotel( bld #3) is next to the public sandlot beach that has been mentioned before. The hotel is on the main channel to the harbor and can be busy/noisy. It has two sunning areas, pool and sundeck both are very nice but limited bar service. The spa has two great masseuse(s) Erin and Lucy. Although the rooms were nice there was a great deal of outside noise due to the fact they faced a parking lot. Finally the rooms do have floor unit AC which worked well but always have a background hum.
Bottom line we would go back again and stay here. My advice is to relax, slow down and walk around until you find a place that you want to dine in.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cactus410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

The hotel was very nice. The decor was very modern. I was really happy with the bathroom, I know that sounds wierd but it had a huge shower with no door, and really cool bowl sinks. We had a ocean view room and the view was amazing. (check out my pictures) The staff was fine I guess....now that I think about it I didnt really see them too much. The location was perfect. We walked everywhere. We rented scooters to go across town to a beach but other than that we walked to the rest of the trip and I am not really in shape! :) The pool was fine but it was small. The only bad thing I can say bad about this place is that the food is soooooo expensive. It was good but pricey at both the rest. and the bar.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravelluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt in November 2008. The location, property, rooms, food were all amazing! Definitely worth the price for the rooms. The food was over-priced but then we found that most restaurants in Old Town were pricey. We had no issues with staff. Not overly friendly but courteous. The decor is superb. We had a king suite overlooking the gulf...it was perfect! Beautifully decorated and the bathroom was awesome too! Nice touches like rainfall shower head. The pool area was nice but the temp of the water was on the cool side. If you want a chair by the pool get there early as people do the "towel drop" to reserve their chairs. I would definitely go back and recommend it to friends. In fact we're planning our trip for 2009!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polo55polo55
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

We were not given the room we booked and paid for. Staff was dishonest, telling us they were giving us a room upgrade when in fact we were being given a room below the level we were paying for. No follow up by staff. Hotel is way over priced for what you get. Very small pool with not enough lounge chairs. Very little sun as pool area is surrounded by hotel buildings. "Private beach" is a joke...almost nonexistent.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank polo55polo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

Location is this hotel's best feature.   Other positive points are very nice rooms, bedding and bathroom.  Overall the staff is quite friendly.   I would stay here again. However, be prepared for overpriced and somewhat slow service in the dining room. The fitness center is small with 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, one bike and free weights, but the machines are top of the line. Housekeeping was attentive but often came late in the day (4pm).

I would recommend avoiding the advice of the concierge in regard to jetski rentals. He referred us to Old Town Tours which is contiguous to the Hyatt property. Please see my separate review on the tour company but overall very unpleasant.

If looking for a quick bite, the shop Damn Good Food to Go is on the same block and has tasty food at a decent price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — housekeeping slow to clean room
  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank boardthedogandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.4 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#18 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040-6620 (Formerly Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a private retreat at our enticing Hyatt Centric Key West Resort. This luxurious haven is the standard against which all others will be viewed. The art of blending modern luxury and impeccable service with a premier setting has been perfected at our incredible Key West Florida resort hotel set along the waterfront. Old world architectural touches invoke Hemingway's mystique throughout this intimate island setting. Encounter casually elegant Florida touches, perfectly combined with a world-class spa, a 24-hour fitness center, remarkable cuisine, and modern amenities such as Drybar Buttercup blow dryers and eco-friendly bath products! Explore the best of Key West, including nearby fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, renowned sunsets, and historic Old Town. Allow our comfortably millennial-modern Key West Florida resort hotel to treat you to a new level of sophistication, in a breathtaking locale.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort And Spa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing