We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Went for a 3 night girls get away and could not have chosen a better place! The walls are a little thin and we were woken up by neighbors fighting after midnight, we called security and they handled it right away. We were given complimentary breakfast the next day. Property is amazing, the hammocks are great! Food and drinks were 5 star and the beach service was great. They do have 2 suites that have 2 double beds and we were given one of them, room was just fine with a great view! We had a massage on the beach that was really nice. I will never stay anywhere else in Key West!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,658 - 3,664 of 7,513 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

No complaints, even with chilly winter Key West weather.
The amenities are outstanding & we found the pool/beach staff went above & beyond.
Derek was the most pleasant & helpful, attending & anticipating our every desire. Austin, Patrick, Cumo & Bonnie (under the smiling direction of Ms. Carla) were all awesome too!
The beverages were always brought out promptly & the complimentary "drink of the day" was always a treat. The food was outstanding, the fish tacos were our favorites, so fresh & tasty.
A major Thank You to all for making our vacation extra special!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88Lily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that so many of our team members contributed to your enjoyment. We hope that you will consider The Casa Marina resort as your Key West destination hotel.

Our warmest regards, Paul Bartush, Manager, The Casa Marina. paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Beautiful resort, great service. A lot to do on site. The food is so-so. Lots of healthy selections. Pricey for what you get and often cold. Breakfast at $27 per person is too pricey but the food is good.

I'd stay here again, but renting a beach cabana for $120+ tip for a day is a waste of money. A glass of Riesling is going to put you back $10.

Very helpful, friendly staff. Other patrons can be a bit snooty, but if you hang out by the fire pits, you'll usually find some fun people. If you talk to the staff, talk to them with respect and your kindness is rewarded twofold. Talk to the people who are working for next to nothing, tip them a bit and you've made their day.

Our suite was cleaned daily and very well.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a ocean view anything. Jeffrey, one of the concierges is over the top great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aatredes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

many rooms noisy,poor view rooms.hotel had bad smells in stairways.
staff friendly but housekeeping poor.
food good but not great.
our bed had slight sag where people typically sleep.
e-mailed complaint to Hilton Honors.. no response.
would not know it is Waldorf Astoria without the sign.


great location!

Room Tip: in the new section and third floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robertmaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven T, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Dear robertmaurice,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback about our amenities and services . We are dedicated to providing our guests with comfortable, luxurious surroundings and will take your feedback into consideration as we work to enhance our guest experience. We regret our delay in following up and someone from our hotel will be in contact with you shortly. We truly hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We thought a W-A hotel would be top notch, add in a private beach and decision made. We should have stayed elsewhere and paid the towel guy $20 under the table to lay-out for the afternoon. The service is very poor.

The doormen didn’t help with bags and really wanted us to go park the car before unloading and checking in. I refused to drag my bag across the street so we pulled our luggage out of the car ourselves and I waited inside while my husband moved the car. Then we checked in. Seriously.

Our first room was horrible. The second room wasn’t much better. If you do stay, I highly suggest upgrading or you won’t get a good room. Clearly $350 a night only gets you a room. No view or no privacy. The curtain sheers are not good, and don’t close completely so if you’re on the first floor people can see in.

Another issue: The receptionist was pompous when we asked where the spa was.
Us: “Where is the spa?”
The receptionist: “It’s out the right door and to the left. It is by appointment only though.”

We did have appointments but maybe she could have asked if we needed appointments. Something other than what she said.

The poor room selection beats out the bad service. I can take bad service but when you add it all together it’s just not the best place to stay. I wouldn’t want to give them money for an upgraded room; stay elsewhere even if it’s more expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

I am sorry to hear that your experience differed so greatly from that of so many of our other guests. What you describe is truly atypical at The Casa Marina.

The management team will be alerted to these matters and will be looking into this. If you have any additional information that can assist us, please feel free to contact me directly at paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com.

Paul Bartush, Manager, The Casa Marina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I had never been to Key West, but we are definitely going back next year and staying at the Casa Marina again. While our room was basic, we didn't come to hang out in the room, but to enjoy the hotel amenities and the city of Key West. We could see the ocean over the palm trees.The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless.The cleaning staff did a wonderful job. We were checked in by Carlos, who was very efficient and friendly and remembered our names during the week we were there. Our checked luggage missed our flight from Miami, but was sent on a later flight and was delivered to the hotel that afternoon where the bellman brought it right to our room. During the week we were waited on by Daniel at the pool. He was very friendly and attentive and had an outgoing personality that was engaging. He really cared about the guests and always went out of his way to serve. During the day the staff would bring around complimentary food and drinks and "frozen" towels to cool you. The buffet breakfast was excellent and enjoying it at an outside table made a great start for the day. We also had lunch several days by the pool. The food was good and we were able to share servings in order to save room for great dinners at many of the excellent Key West restaurants. Our first day we took a trolley in order to see the town and be able to find our way around. The trolley ticket was good for two days, but we could easily walk into town, which we did often. We were definitely treated like royalty. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be pampered in paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Front Office Manager at Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Casa Marina on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our resort, its service, amenities and wonderful activities. We will certainly recognize the staff members that you've mentioned, and we look forward to seeing you on a return visit!
Thank you,
Sarah Franks
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The location can't be beat but make sure you ask for a room in the updated section of the hotel and brush up on your Spanish because most of the staff speak very little English. Also, watch for the tips to be automatically added to bills even if your party is less than eight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
2  Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#16 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £258 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing