We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed for 4 nights” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stayed for 4 nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We checked in and being a Diamond HHonors member I asked if they had a bigger room available. They were booked up and since we checked in late they weren't able to accomodate an upgrade so we had a small room with 2 double beds. There were 3 of us so this was a little small for us. The next morning, which was Sunday, I checked at the front desk and they were able to move us to a suite which had a king bed with a pull out couch but the room was much nicer. The balcony over looked the road so there wasn't much of a view but the size of the room was a big improvement. I slept on the pull out couch since I was the single person in our group of 3, it was definately as comfortable as a pull out couch can be. They tried to make it better with a memory foam topper but it still was not the best but I made due. The others in my group said the king bed was very comfortable. I would say too, do not get a room near the elevator since it dings every time it stops at a floor. If there is one suggestion I would make to the hotel it would be to disarm that dinger on the elevator!

The service by hotel staff was amazing, we really enjoyed the full service this hotel had to offer and the towel service for the pools and beach! The restaurants had excellent food I recommend the Chicken with Naan on the lunch menu it was amazing!

We had an excellent vacation and I would stay at the Casa Marina again but definately book a suite!

Room Tip: Book a suite for more room but away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Front Office Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Izzy H,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Casa Marina on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed our beautiful setting and friendly service. We continually strive to improve our facilities to enhance the experience of you and other guests for future stays, and we have shared your feedback regarding the property with our management team.
Thank you,
Sarah Franks
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,350
    1,677
    965
    504
    345
See reviews for
1,806
3,184
94
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Let me explain first of all why I rated Very Good and not Excellent. Our room was at the back of the property with a view of the street - and that's ok because we didn't intend to be in the room AND we could have paid a little more and be moved, they're that helpful at check in. The problem: the first couple of days we left our room early and returned after 4 p.m. to a room that hadn't been attended to by housekeeping. We really didn't want to try to get showered and ready to go out for the evening with the housekeeper in the room. The next morning we wanted to sleep in and here came the housekeeper. She left us to sleep and didn't return until about 5 p.m. The people in the room next to us were confused as well, we learned. But, we came for the beach...and were NOT disappointed. We were treated like Royalty by the staff. They have a list of items that are delivered to you as you soak up the sun from the free drink of the day to a frozen towel at 4 p.m. They even come around and clean your sunglasses. Two fire pits on the beach are surrounded by comfy cushioned chairs for relaxing in the evening and we made some new friends here, while enjoying complimentary s'mores. We also enjoyed the service and great food at the hotel restaurant and beach bar. We took in the activities in town, but agreed that one really needn't leave Casa Marina resort at all to enjoy Key West. We will go back.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the fourth floor rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Sarah at the front desk was amazing along with the rest of the staff. Stay here you will be happy with everything it has to offer. Pool is beautiful, food is delicious although a little pricey (as to be expected with a Waldorf Astoria) but he breakfast was also delicious and worth the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikedanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife, son, and I escaped the DC winter to Key West for an extra long weekend, staying at the Casa Marina for the umpteenth time, and for good reason. It has beautiful grounds, oceanfront views, with a friendly and attentive staff. Front desk staff was helpful with our early arrival (checked our bags and expedited our early check in) and provided a room upgrade. We never tire of the views--the hotel, the walkway to the ocean dock(s), the pool and the beach. Daniel, Andrew, Mel, and Constantine were very friendly and made our stay a little more special, but everyone was very nice. We're already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: If you can spend more, do so and get an ocean view. Otherwise, spend more time by the pool or beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul B, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at The Casa Marina Resort. It is especially pleasing to hear that although you arrived earlier than a room was available, our staff assisted you with making the most of your time during the wait.

We hope to see you again soon!

Paul Bartush
Manager
The Casa Marina Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Wow, 200 characters minimum for the review to get posted. Ok, here goes. The location is great and the staff very courteous and helpful. The in-room WiFi access, which is included in the $20+/day mandatory "resort fee" is terrible, barely existent and very slow when it is available. The conference facilities at The Reach were adequate for the meeting we had there. I hope this reached 200 words - there is no word count indicator until you hit "post to Tripadvisor."

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiatook
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Want to thank the staff, espcially Jeff, who went above and beyond, when it came to finding my cell phone that I had lost the night before while at dinner over on Sunset Key. Within the hour, he had found it and made arrangements for us to pick it up that afternoon.

Want to give a shout out to Derek, Andrew and Uncle Mark, from the "Sun Goddesses from Oklahoma". You all are the best! Want to thank you for making our stay at the Casa Marina and our time down on the beach first class. Thank you for setting up our chairs, laying out our towels, sharing your watermelon, etc. and local info on everything from attractions to restaurants, and even cleaning our sunglasses. We've returned to the cold Oklahoma winter, but our hearts will continue to have warm thoughts about our memories and service at the beach! Thanks. See you next year! D.M.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed for long holiday weekend in January, so hotel was pretty full. The staff, especially out at the pool area, was terrific. Mark who runs the water sports center is very nice and goes out of his way everyday on the beach for guests. Good location, just far enough away from Duval. We stayed in original historic main building, so rooms & bathrooms were a little small, but also a lot of character in that building. Summary: on Key West, this is the best hotel with its own beach on island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_Hokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear NYC_Hokie,

Thank you so much for your outstanding review. We love our grand historic property but we know it's guests like you that really make it special.

We hope to see you soon for your next holiday.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Grand Key Resort - Key West
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotelopia, Hilton Hotels Direct and TravelUp so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing