We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Saint George
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thin walls”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

You hear every noise from the rooms next to you. If you are a sound sleeper the hotel is outstanding. The grounds are beautiful and the food is delicious. Hotel is close to Hemmingway's house and Duvall Street. A lot of great restaurants are within walking distance.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank rjnewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,413
    1,710
    997
    521
    361
See reviews for
1,854
3,265
95
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,411)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We spent a lovely 4 days at the Casa Marina Resort in Key West. Our room was spacious with a great ocean view! The appointments were lovely and the staff very helpful, always gracious. Located at the southern end of Key West, away from the bustle and noise of Duval Street yet close enough to enjoy all that Key West has to offer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MLb154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Beautiful hotel with a great pool and beach atmosphear.. Staff is very attentive and we would definately go back. The only issue was a double room vs. a king room for my wife and I... Not sure if we really were taken care of when it came down to a switch or even an upgrade offer.....never got the chance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a beautiful property. The rooms are very stylish and the view is amazing. The beach so gorgeous. They offer sunset cruises from their dock and it was our favorite activity. I thought the food was excellent and location convenient to everything we wanted to do. I will be returning again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Traveled to Key West and stayed at the Casa Marina with my mother who is in a wheelchair. Besides it being a beautiful hotel, the staff was very helpful and our stay was quite enjoyable. Yes, you can stay in Key West on a tighter budget elsewhere, but I wanted the ease of the location, the modern facility and accessibility for my mother. I made the right investment for our situation. The food was very expensive at the hotel, but it WAS delicious. Sadly the weather did not cooperate so we missed out on the opportunity to lay out pool side. If you have a larger budget for travel, I would highly recommend a stay at Casa Marina!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had had fabulous stay at the resort. Constantine treated us especially well catering to us poolside each day. What an extremely friendly and hard working young man. Constantine and Bob were literally running at times taking care of guests both on the beach and at the pool; and always with a smile. Front desk staff was polite and helpful. Our room was clean and quite comfortable. Wish we would have gotten the lanai though. Bike rental is conveniently located on site. Great location near Duval. It was perfect for our girls long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaFMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Front Office Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
AngelaFMiller,
We appreciate you taking the time to review the Casa Marina on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your girls getaway with us! We will pass along the positive feedback about Constantine and Bob, and will recognize them for providing outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return stay.
Thank you,
Sarah Franks, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Let me preface this by saying, we had taken a red eye to Miami from Los Angeles, and then proceeded to drive the long but beautiful (and what I would also highly recommend) highway for several hours. We arrived before the posted check in time and the front desk advised us that we would be allowed to check in once the rooms were clean. After a couple of hours of trying not to pass out on the comfy couches in the lobby, we had our room key in hand.

Upon boarding the small elevator we moved for about 10 seconds when abruptly it stopped. I made my best attempts at manipulating the buttons on the panel and upon realizing we wouldn't go anywhere else, called for help.

The entire ordeal lasted about 45 minutes on top of the long day and the Key West Fire Department was kind enough to rescue us via a panel on the elevator ceiling and short hop up around the cables and back to solid ground outside the elevator shaft.

The hotel was nice enough to surprise us with a "sorry!" note, a box of chocolates, and a bottle of champagne in our room that evening to make up for the rough start.

The long story aside, I still gave them 4 stars because the rooms were cozy, the staff all polite and attentive. The pool, warm and peaceful (adults only as I did not check out the all ages side), and the Caribbean sunlight. While I mention the pool, I must say I love the idea of having an open tab all day at the bar/pool service that is automatically closed with tip. This saves you the annoyance and worry taking care of that detail and lets you really relax.

Also the property is beautifully decorated and landscaped. It is a short walk to many interesting things, beautiful beaches, quite corners, and the entertainment side of town. I enjoyed how it was just far enough away from the busy Duval street to be serene, but also easily accessible.

The reasons I did not rate it 5 stars are as follows: After being trapped in an elevator I would have expected the on-duty manager to take my phone call (which they ignored while I was in the elevator trapped with my significant other). Being trapped itself I do not hold them accountable as all machines will fail from time to time. And even more so, the only person to greet us with the fire department after the rescue was a member of hotel security. I would say that Jim, who talked to me on the phone did an excellent job reassuring us and talking to me while we awaited help in the small box, but now knowing he is not the manager I am disappointed that they did not step up and take responsibility and show face.

The other reason is the beach. Although they tout a private beach, it is rocky and full of algae and other things. And once again, even though this is natures doing, I feel it's not really fair to advertise that as a perk when it's not. If you want to lay out in the sand however, then it's perfect.

In summary, I would still go back to Casa Marina, and in fact, it was a fun memorable trip. I would recommend it for any couple or someone looking for a relaxed stay.

TL;DR Management is absent, everyone is nice, still one of the best options on the island for a resort trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PositiveRate23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Property: Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040-4768
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing